2020 Sustainability Report

In the shadow of the coronavirus pandemic

Our 2020 business year

In the boom years leading up to 2019, airlines worldwide posted record sales—but now the global coronavirus pandemic has changed all that. Over the course of 2020, the number of flights shrank by 50 percent. Production of new engines took a steep downturn, as did demand for maintenance services. Fortunately, MTU performed better than its competitors in many areas, showing its economic stability, and, despite the difficult year, was able to press ahead with important plans, such as for innovative propulsion concepts for emissions-free flight, and new projects including our internal ecoRoadmap.


graphic

Airbus delivered a total of 431 aircraft from its A320neo family in 2020. Some of them, like the first A320neo aircraft for SWISS, shown here at a delivery ceremony in Hamburg in February, are powered by our geared turbofan engine.

The coronavirus pandemic presented us all with unexpected challenges and caught us all off guard, resticting the way people and companies all over the world usually live and work. The aviation industry, and by extension MTU, has been hit especially hard, with things previously taken for granted now thrown into disarray. National entry restrictions, the mandatory wearing of masks, mobile working, new forms of collaboration, changes to logistics and production structures, legal requirements for occupational health and safety—the challenges we had to respond to were many and varied, and they still confront us. At the same time, we want to continue shaping our future, especially under these circumstances, and initiate new projects so that we will be fully capable of action as soon as the crisis is over: “Emerging stronger together from the crisis”—for partners and customers, and above all for MTU’s success—is the motto under which we have set our current corporate objectives.

A year full of challenges

graphic

“Our swift and decisive action paid off. We coped well with the challenges associated with the coronavirus pandemic and the economic crisis that came with it, and also achieved respectable results in 2020. Now we’re all pulling together to prepare for the return; we’ll continue to use mobile working arrangements, as these will allow us to maintain our newfound flexibility.”  Reiner Winkler, Chief Executive Officer

graphic

“We believe in the aviation industry and are convinced that the need, desire and freedom to travel will eventually return. When they do, MTU will be there as a reliable partner to customers worldwide, providing its products and services in the same capacity as before—but we’ll be even more innovative, connected, digital and sustainable” Michael Schreyögg, Chief Program Officer

graphic

“Aviation is at an important threshold, and so is MTU. Despite the current crisis, our sights are still firmly set on our major goal of emissions-free flight. We are pursuing innovative and bold concepts, and in doing so we are also gaining society’s acceptance of our business activities.” Lars Wagner, Chief Operating Officer

graphic

“Right now, investing in the future is more important than ever. Given the long development times in aviation, we remain undeterred in our efforts to advance and fund our work on the technologies needed for the next generation of aircraft. This is a balancing act in light of the economic crisis in our industry.” Peter Kameritsch, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Information Officer

Our approach to the coronavirus crisis

We responded quickly, calmly and decisively to the demands of the pandemic: we showed the necessary flexibility, accelerated our digitalization processes and tackled the challenges with exemplary commitment from the entire workforce and our managers.

MTU temporarily suspended most of its activities at several European sites in April 2020. Besides being our response to the beginnings of an interruption in the supply of materials, this coordinated shutdown of our operations was a way for us to protect the workforce and help contain the spread of the pandemic. We did this in close cooperation with our customers and partners. We made sure that we were there for all stakeholders during this time and ensured our availability to handle important concerns. Wherever operations had to continue, appropriate precautions were taken to protect employees. The shutdown affected our production sites in Munich and in Rzeszów, Poland, as well as our maintenance operations in Hannover and Ludwigsfelde near Berlin. This enabled us to weather the first phase of the crisis calmly and collectedly and with great cohesion.

Following the suspension of operations, we resumed with short-time working arrangements at our German sites. The organizational and technical measures we have adopted to prevent coronavirus infections mean we continue to ensure high standards of protection for our employees’ health on-site. To overcome the crisis resulting from the coronavirus pandemic, MTU took various financial measures in the reporting year to safeguard the company’s liquidity. These included limiting dividend payments to shareholders for the 2019 business year to the legal minimum of 0.04 euros per share.

Our coronavirus protective measures for employees and workplaces at MTU are presented comprehensively under Occupational health and safety.

 

MTU’s business performance in 2020

On balance, our key financial figures for the latest business year paint a respectable picture: Revenue totaled EUR 4.0 billion during the crisis, compared with EUR 4.6 billion in the previous year, and operating profit (EBIT adjusted) amounted to EUR 416 million (2019: EUR 757 million). Net income came to EUR 294 million (2019: EUR 538 million). The company’s order backlog at the end of the year ran to EUR 18.6 billion (2019: EUR 19.8 billion). Since we recorded only postponements and hardly any cancellations, this is still a high level that in purely numerical terms will secure our capacity utilization for more than four years. Most of the orders are for the V2500 program and the geared turbofan engines of the PW1000G family, in particular the PW1100G-JM. The geared turbofan engine is also an important propulsion concept in our sustainable product development. Read more in the chapter Product stewardship under Climate impact and health effects of aircraft engines

Key financial data (in EUR m) > GRI 201-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Revenue

3,977

4,628

4,567

Earnings before interest and tax (EBIT, adjusted)

416

757

671

Income taxes

48

178

154

Earnings after tax (adjusted)

294

538

479

Capital expenditure on property, plant and equipment and intangible assets

327

479

273

We take a long-term approach to our company’s success and our goal is to steadily increase shareholder value. Our commercial success generates added value for our stakeholders and contributes to society’s prosperity and the economic development of the communities where our business activities are located. We offer attractive jobs in a high-tech industry and professional training as part of Germany’s dual-track system. At the end of 2020, the MTU Group employed 10,313 people at fully consolidated locations around the world, with 324 young apprentices training. We are a major employer in the region at all major international locations. Our plan is to establish a new repair site in Serbia, where we will provide specialist aviation training based on the German dual-track system. We pay our employees attractive salaries. As a local investor and patron, we promote education and the academic landscape, for example by maintaining close ties to universities and colleges, especially in the regions where our sites are located. We invest in our locations and are continuing to expand our plants in Munich and Hannover. Through our innovative capabilities, we create upstream value chains and jobs in the supply chain. We work with almost 6,000 suppliers, mainly in Europe, and have defined mandatory sustainability standards for our cooperation with them.

We act as a responsible global corporate taxpayer and comply with applicable tax laws and regulations, enabling us to make a significant contribution to society at our sites in Germany and elsewhere. A binding Code of Conduct supports systematic compliance with legal and regulatory requirements throughout the Group. We promote ethical and transparent business practices and, in particular, do not use tax avoidance measures, such as the establishment of companies solely for this purpose. We have adopted a Group tax policy that establishes our principles, tax strategy and tax risk management in the company and defines our responsibilities. We report regularly in accordance with applicable regulations and requirements (e.g. IFRS, CBCR), thereby transparently disclosing our tax position.

Value added 2020 (in EUR m)

graphic

GRI 201-1: Gross value added = revenue and other income

The value added statement shows that the wealth created by MTU amounts to a gross value added of EUR 4,064 billion for 2020. After deducting the cost of materials, depreciation, amortization and other expenses, net value added came to EUR 952 million. The lion’s share of that (80.7%) went to our employees in the form of wages, salaries and other benefits, while the Group retained 6.5%. The proportion allocated to pay taxes levied by public authorities accounted for 9.9%. In the 2020 reporting year, we distributed a dividend limited to the minimum amount required by law to our shareholders (0.2%); this was one of the financial measures that MTU undertook to safeguard the company’s liquidity in order to overcome the crisis. To give our employees an opportunity to provide MTU with additional liquidity and at the same time participate in MTU’s success, we continued our annual employee stock option program in 2020.

Sustainability 2020@MTU

Watch the video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6huZeFfjd4


Services and tools


Photo: www.airbus.com

The enterprise MTU
Back to Top
About this report
Feedback
X

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020

Im Zeichen der Corona-Pandemie

Unser Geschäftsjahr 2020

In den Boomjahren bis 2019 verbuchten Fluggesellschaften weltweit Rekordumsätze – die globale Coronavirus-Pandemie hat dies alles auf den Kopf gestellt. Im Jahresverlauf 2020 schrumpfte die Zahl der Flüge auf die Hälfte zusammen. Ebenso wie die Produktion von neuen Triebwerken ging auch die Nachfrage nach Instandhaltungsservices deutlich zurück. Die MTU hat in vielen Bereichen besser als der Wettbewerb abgeschlossen und sich wirtschaftlich stabil gezeigt und auch in einem schwierigen Jahr wichtige Vorhaben wie innovative Antriebskonzepte für emissionsfreies Fliegen oder neue Projekte wie die interne ecoRoadmap vorangetrieben.


graphic

Airbus hat 2020 insgesamt 431 Flugzeuge der A320neo-Familie ausgeliefert, ein Teil davon mit unserem Getriebefan-Antrieb wie hier im Februar die erste A320neo-Maschine an Swiss Air im Rahmen einer Zeremonie in Hamburg.

Die Coronavirus-Pandemie hat uns alle vor ungeahnte Herausforderungen gestellt und uns unerwartet getroffen. Auf der ganzen Welt schränkt die Pandemie Menschen wie Unternehmen darin ein, in ihrer gewohnten Art zu leben und zu wirtschaften. Besonders getroffen hat es die Luftfahrtbranche und damit auch die MTU in ihren bisherigen Gewissheiten erschüttert. Einreisebeschränkungen, Maskenpflicht, mobiles Arbeiten, neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit, veränderte Logistik- und Produktionsstrukturen, gesetzliche Vorgaben zum Arbeitsschutz - die Herausforderungen waren vielfältig, auf die wir reagieren mussten und mit denen wir noch immer konfrontiert sind. Zugleich wollen wir gerade unter diesen Umständen unsere Zukunft weiter gestalten, neue Projekte anstoßen, um nach überstandener Krise sofort voll handlungsfähig zu sein: „Gemeinsam gestärkt aus der Krise“ – für Partner und Kunden, und vor allem für den Erfolg der MTU, lautet unser Motto, unter das wir die aktuellen Unternehmensziele gestellt haben.

Ein Jahr voller Herausforderungen

graphic

„Unser rasches und entschlossenes Handeln hat sich ausgezahlt. Wir haben die Herausforderungen im Zusammenhang mit der Coronavirus-Pandemie und der damit verbundenen wirtschaftlichen Krise gut gemeistert und auch im Geschäftsjahr 2020 respektable Ergebnisse erzielt. Jetzt bereiten wir uns mit vereinten Kräften auf den Neustart vor und setzen dabei auch weiterhin auf mobiles Arbeiten, um die gewonnene Flexibilität zu erhalten." Reiner Winkler, Vorstandsvorsitzender

graphic graphic

„Wir glauben an die Luftfahrtindustrie und sind davon überzeugt, dass die Notwendigkeit, der Wunsch und die Freiheit zu reisen wieder kommen werden. Wenn es soweit ist, steht die MTU mit ihren Produkten und Dienstleistungen für ihre weltweiten Kunden als zuverlässiger Partner weiterhin bereit - noch innovativer, vernetzter und digitaler und auch nachhaltiger.“ Michael Schreyögg, Vorstand Programme

graphic

„Die Luftfahrt steht an einer wichtigen Schwelle und mit ihr die MTU. Trotz der aktuellen Krise halten wir an unserem großen Ziel, dem emissionsfeien Fliegen, fest. Wir verfolgen innovative und mutige Konzepte und schaffen so auch die gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz unserer Geschäftstätigkeit." Lars Wagner, Vorstand Technik

graphic

„Gerade jetzt sind Zukunftsinvestitionen wichtiger denn je. Aufgrund der langen Entwicklungszeiten in der Luftfahrt treiben wir die Arbeiten für die nötigen Technologien der nächsten Flugzeuggeneration unverändert voran und finanzieren sie. Das ist vor dem Hintergrund der wirtschaftlichen Krise unserer Branche ein Balanceakt.“ Peter Kameritsch, Vorstand Finanzen und IT

Unser Vorgehen in der Corona-Krise

Wir haben schnell, ruhig und entschlossen auf die Anforderungen der Pandemie reagiert, die notwendige Flexibilität gezeigt, Digitalisierungsprozesse beschleunigt und sind mit großem Engagement der gesamten Belegschaft und unserer Führungskräfte die Herausforderungen angegangen. 

Im April 2020 hat die MTU einen Großteil der Aktivitäten an mehreren Standorten in Europa vorübergehend ausgesetzt. Mit diesem koordinierten Herunterfahren des Betriebs haben wir nicht nur einer beginnenden Unterbrechung in der Materialversorgung Rechnung getragen, sondern gleichzeitig einen Beitrag geleistet, die Belegschaft zu schützen und die Ausbreitung der Pandemie einzudämmen. Dies erfolgte in enger Abstimmung mit unseren Kunden und Partnern. Wir waren auch während dieser Zeit für alle Stakeholder da und haben für wichtige Anliegen eine Erreichbarkeit gewährleistet. Überall dort, wo der Betrieb aufrechterhalten werden musste, wurden entsprechende Vorkehrungen zum Schutz der Mitarbeiter:innen getroffen. Die Unterbrechung betraf unsere Produktionsstandorte in München und im polnischen Rzeszów sowie die Instandhaltungsbetriebe in Hannover und Ludwigsfelde bei Berlin. Damit haben wir die erste Phase der Krise ruhig, mit großem Zusammenhalt und konsequent durchgestanden.

Im Anschluss an die Betriebsunterbrechung folgte der Wiederanlauf mit Kurzarbeit an unseren deutschen Standorten. Mit organisatorischen und technischen Maßnahmen zur Vermeidung von Infektionen mit dem Coronavirus können wir für die anwesenden Mitarbeiter:innen weiterhin hohe Standards des Gesundheitsschutzes gewährleisten. Zur Bewältigung der Krise aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie hat die MTU im Berichtsjahr verschiedene finanzielle Maßnahmen ergriffen, um die Liquidität des Unternehmens zu sichern. Dazu zählte auch eine Begrenzung der Ausschüttung an die Aktionär:innen für das Geschäftsjahr 2019 auf die gesetzliche Mindestdividende von 0,04 Euro je Aktie.

Unsere Corona-Schutzmaßnahmen für Mitarbeiter:innen & Arbeitsplätze bei der MTU sind umfassend unter Arbeitssicherheit & Gesundheitsschutz dargestellt.

Geschäftsergebnis der MTU für 2020

Im Hinblick auf unsere finanziellen Kennzahlen können wir für das zurückliegende Geschäftsjahr eine Bilanz mit respektablen Ergebnissen ziehen: Der Umsatz erreichte in der Krise 4,0 Mrd. Euro nach 4,6 Mrd. Euro im Vorjahr, das operative Ergebnis (EBIT bereinigt) lag bei 416 Mio. Euro (2019: 757 Mio. Euro). Der Gewinn nach Steuern betrug 294 Mio. Euro (2019: 538 Mio. Euro). Der Auftragsbestand lag Ende des Jahres bei 18,6 Mrd. Euro (2019: 19,8 Mrd. Euro). Da wir lediglich Verschiebungen, aber kaum Stornierungen verzeichnet haben, ist das ein noch immer hohes Niveau, das unsere Auslastung rein rechnerisch für mehr als vier Jahre sichert. Die meisten Aufträge entfallen auf das V2500-Programm und die Getriebefan-Triebwerke der PW1000G-Familie, insbesondere auf das PW1100G-JM. Das Getriebefan-Triebwerk ist zudem ein wichtiges Antriebskonzept in unserer nachhaltigen Produktentwicklung. Mehr dazu im Kapitel Produktverantwortung unter Klimawirkungen & Gesundheitsauswirkungen von Flugzeugantrieben

Finanzdaten (in Mio. Euro) > GRI 201-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Umsatz

3.977

4.628

4.567

Operatives Ergebnis (EBIT, bereinigt)

416

757

671

Ertragsteuern

48

178

154

Gewinn nach Steuern (bereinigt)

294

538

479

Investitionen in Sachanlagen und immaterielle Vermögenswerte

327

479

273

Unser Unternehmenserfolg ist langfristig ausgerichtet mit dem Ziel einer dauerhaften Wertsteigerung. Unser wirtschaftlicher Erfolg bietet Mehrwert für unsere Stakeholder und trägt zum gesellschaftlichen Wohlstand und zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung an unseren Standorten bei. Wir bieten attraktive Arbeitsplätze in einer Hightech-Branche und Berufsausbildungen nach dem dualen System. Zum Jahresende 2020 arbeiteten weltweit an den vollkonsolidierten Standorten 10.313 Mitarbeiter:innen für den MTU-Konzern und machten 324 junge Menschen eine Ausbildung. An allen größeren internationalen Standorten sind wir ein wichtiger Arbeitgeber in der Region. In Serbien wollen wir einen neuen Reparaturstandort aufbauen und nach dem deutschen dualen System Fachkräfte für die Luftfahrt ausbilden. Unseren Mitarbeiter:innen zahlen wir attraktive Gehälter. Als lokaler Investor und Förderer tragen wir zur Bildung und Wissenschaftslandschaft bei, zum Beispiel unterhalten wir enge Kooperationen mit Universitäten und Hochschulen, insbesondere im Umfeld unserer Standorte. Wir investieren in unsere Standorte und setzen den Ausbau unserer Werke in München oder Hannover fort. Durch unsere Innovationskraft schaffen wir vorgelagerte Wertschöpfungsketten und Arbeitsplätze in der Lieferkette. Wir arbeiten mit knapp 6.000 Lieferanten zusammen, schwerpunktmäßig in Europa. Verpflichtende Nachhaltigkeitsstandards für die Zusammenarbeit sind definiert.

Wir handeln als verantwortungsbewusster globaler Unternehmenssteuerzahler und halten die geltenden Steuergesetze und -vorschriften ein und können dadurch an unseren Standorten im In- und Ausland einen relevanten gesellschaftlichen Beitrag leisten. Verbindliche Verhaltensgrundsätze unterstützen die konsequente Einhaltung gesetzlicher und regulatorischer Vorgaben im gesamten Konzernverbund. Wir fördern ethische und transparente Geschäftspraktiken und setzen insbesondere keine Maßnahmen zur Steuervermeidung ein, wie die Gründung von Gesellschaften nur zu diesem Zweck. Über eine Konzernsteuerrichtlinie sind unsere Prinzipien, unsere Steuerstrategie und unser Steuerrisikomanagement im Unternehmen verankert und Verantwortlichkeiten festgelegt. Wir berichten regelmäßig in Übereinstimmung mit den geltenden Vorschriften und Anforderungen (z. B. IFRS, CBCR) und legen damit unsere Steuerposition transparent offen.

Wertschöpfung 2020 (in Mio. Euro)

graphic

GRI 201-1: Bruttowertschöpfung= Umsatzerlöse und sonstige Erträge

Die Wertschöpfungsrechnung zeigt die von der MTU erbrachte Unternehmensleistung mit einer Bruttowertschöpfung von 4.064,0 Mio. Euro für 2020. Nach Abzug von Materialaufwand, Abschreibungen und sonstigen Aufwendungen betrug die Nettowertschöpfung 952 Mio. Euro. Mit 80,7% ging der weitaus größte Anteil davon an unsere Mitarbeiter:innen in Form von Löhnen, Gehältern und betrieblichen Leistungen. 6,5% verblieben im Konzern, die Steuerzahlungen an die öffentliche Hand machten 9,9% aus. Im Berichtsjahr 2020 haben wir eine Dividende begrenzt auf die gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Mindesthöhe an unsere Aktionär:innen ausgeschüttet (0,2%); eine der finanziellen Maßnahmen der MTU, um zur Bewältigung der Krise die Liquidität des Unternehmens zu sichern. Um unseren Beschäftigten eine Möglichkeit zu geben, der MTU zusätzliche Liquidität zur Verfügung zu stellen und gleichzeitig am Erfolg der MTU teilzuhaben, haben wir unser jährliches Mitarbeiteraktienprogramm 2020 fortgeführt.

Nachhaltigkeit 2020@MTU

Den Film finden Sie unter https://youtu.be/CvKgDkQjgyA


Services & Tools


Foto: www.airbus.com

Das Unternehmen MTU
Back to Top
Über diesen Bericht
Feedback
X