Corporate governance

UN 2030 Agenda

Sustainable Development Goals

At a United Nations summit held in September 2015, the international community of states adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, Thus making it clear that the current global challenges can be effectively addressed in a joint effort only. The agenda aims to make sure that economic progress goes hand in hand with social justice and ecological responsibility. Industry is also called upon to do its part. MTU meets this responsibility.


 

graphic

 

 

Our contribution toward achieving the Sustainable Development Goals

At the core of the 2030 Agenda are 17 goals for sustainable development, or SDGs for short. These goals embrace the three dimensions of sustainability—economy, environment and society—in equal measure. We support the implementation of the SDGs and have identified eight goals to which we can contribute and which are therefore relevant for MTU: 

Quality education
Gender equality
Decent work and economic growth
Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Responsible consumption and production
Climate action
Peace, justice and strong institutions
Partnerships for the goals

We can promote the SDGs in a concrete way with a broad range of projects and activities. How we can influence progress toward the SDGs and what our contribution was in 2020:

  

SDG 4: Quality education

Quality education

Offering good educational opportunities: MTU is committed to high-quality education and training, both at its various locations and within the framework of partnerships in the area of education. We support centers of competence in the aviation sector jointly set up with universities and research institutions, because our industry is in particular need of highly qualified and well trained employees. We offer all employees at our company locations a wide range of training and continued training programs to ensure a high level of education in the regions. By providing dual-track training for young people, we lay an important foundation for their future professional success. More information about our commitment to education under → Employee development and → Corporate social responsibility

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:


SDG 5: Gender equality

Gender equality

Promoting diversity and inclusion: MTU advocates diversity and equality of opportunity. Diversity is part of our human resources strategy. An important focus here is on the promotion of women, which is also anchored in the company’s corporate objectives. What we consider particularly important is to promote female talent to get more women into management positions. In addition, we offer a variety of work taster and job entry opportunities for girls and women to encourage them to pursue technical professions. More information about our commitment to diversity under → Diversity and inclusion

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:

 


SDG 8: Decent work and economic growth

Decent work and economic growth

Maintaining fair working conditions: Decent working conditions are a top priority at MTU. We do not tolerate forced or child labor and maintain high occupational health and safety standards in compliance with the applicable national regulations, which we consider to constitute the minimum requirements. Moreover, we offer our employees additional services at our locations under our company health management scheme. The principles of our social responsibility have been laid down in our Code of Conduct. In addition, a Supplier Code of Conduct has been developed that governs cooperation with our supplier base. More information under → Occupational safety and health protection → Human rights → Supplier management

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:


SDG 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure

Industry, innovation and infrastructure

Advancing sustainable aviation: MTU makes major contributions to industry, innovation and infrastructure beyond national boundaries. Aviation connects continents and nations. Through the continuous development of ever better technologies, we help conserve resources and substantially improve the eco-efficiency of aircraft engines. We want to achieve the goal of virtually emissions-free flight by way of completely new propulsion concepts. We operate a global network of facilities, in particular with our joint venture partners, to be close to and optimally serve our customers worldwide. Thus, we improve the infrastructure in the respective countries and support sustainable industrialization. More information about our commitment to climate action and environmental protection under → Product stewardship and → Value creation

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:

  


SDG 12: Responsible consumption and production

Responsible consumption and production

Comprehensive climate action and environmental protection: MTU stands for sustainable production and aims to maximize the eco-efficiency of its products. In the manufacture of our products, sustainability is our basic principle. In our maintenance shops, we rather repair parts than replace them with new ones. This saves on materials and conserves resources. With our environmental management system, we pursue an integrative approach, assessing the effects of our production processes and products already in our corporate decision-making. In product development, eco-efficiency is our primary aim. More on environmental protection and climate action in the chapters → Product stewardship and → Value creation

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:


SDG 13: Climate action

Climate action

Wide variety of climate action activities: MTU’s product development efforts are aimed at reducing the climate impact of aircraft engines and ultimately achieving emissions-free flight. Its most significant contribution toward climate action is through sustainable engine technologies. Our work on new propulsion concepts such as the hydrogen-powered fuel cell and our commitment to the use of alternative fuels contribute to this. Climate action is another top priority at all of our locations: we have put efficient heat recovery systems in place, use renewable energy sources and are looking into more sustainable in-house transportation options. In addition, we support regional climate action initiatives. More on this in the chapters → Product stewardship and → Value creation

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:

   


SDG 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions

Peace, justice and strong institutions

Good corporate governance: Through a well-founded compliance system in conjunction with a zero-tolerance approach, MTU actively fights corruption and bribery. Compliance with statutory provisions and internal regulations is an essential part of our corporate responsibility. In particular, we foster responsible international trade. With our Code of Conduct for Suppliers we make sure that our suppliers also abide by our high business ethics standards. More information about our approach under → Compliance

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:


SDG 17: Partnerships for the goals

Partnerships for the goals

Successful collaborations: MTU is convinced that the challenges the international community of states is currently facing can be addressed in partnerships only. This is why we rely on close cooperation with our joint venture and business partners. When it comes to the development of young talent, we also collaborate with providers of education and research establishments. At our locations, we have entered into education partnerships to further develop the expertise and skills of our local workforce. Participation in various research collaborations and technology networks are of tremendous importance for us to achieve our ambitious targets for sustainable air transport. More information about our climate action activities under → Climate impact of aircraft engines and on our educational collaborations under → Corporate social responsibility

This is how we contributed to the SDG in 2020:

 


More information about:
Sustainable Development Goals


Services and tools


Graphic SDG "17 goals to transform our world"
Source: UN Communication Material

Our goals 2025+
Back to Top
Stakeholder dialogue
Feedback
X

Unternehmensführung

UN-Agenda 2030

Sustainable Development Goals

Auf einem Gipfel der Vereinten Nationen hat die internationale Staatengemeinschaft im September 2015 die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung verabschiedet. Sie hat damit deutlich gemacht, dass sich globale Herausforderungen nur gemeinsam lösen lassen. Ziel der Agenda ist es, wirtschaftlichen Fortschritt mit sozialer Gerechtigkeit und ökologischer Verantwortung in Einklang zu bringen. Die Industrie ist aufgefordert, ihren Beitrag zu leisten. Dieser Verantwortung kommt die MTU nach.


 

graphic

 

 

Unser Beitrag zu den Sustainable Development Goals

Das Kernstück der Agenda 2030 sind 17 Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs). Diese Ziele berücksichtigen die drei Dimensionen der Nachhaltigkeit – Wirtschaft, Umwelt und Soziales – gleichermaßen. Wir unterstützen die Umsetzung der SDGs und haben für uns acht Ziele identifiziert, zu denen wir einen Beitrag leisten können und die deshalb für die MTU relevant sind:

Hochwertige Bildung
Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter
Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
Nachhaltige/r Konsum/Produktion
Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und Institutionen
Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Wir können mit einer Bandbreite an Projekten und Aktivitäten die SDGs konkret fördern. Wie wir Einfluss auf die Erreichung der SDGs nehmen können und worin unser Beitrag 2020 bestand:

 

SDG 4: Hochwertige Bildung

Hochwertige Bildung

Gute Bildung ermöglichen: Die MTU engagiert sich für hochwertige Bildung an ihren Standorten und im Rahmen ihrer Partnerschaften im Bildungsbereich. Wir tragen zur Stärkung von Kompetenzzentren im Luftfahrtbereich bei, denn unsere Branche erfordert in besonderem Maße gut qualifizierte und geschulte Mitarbeiter:innen. An unseren Standorten bieten wir zusammen mit Bildungspartnern weitreichende Angebote für Ausbildungen, die allen offen stehen, und sichern so den Bildungsstandard in den Regionen. Mit einer Ausbildung nach dem dualen Prinzip schaffen wir für junge Menschen eine wichtige Grundlage für ihren beruflichen Erfolg. Mehr zu unserem Engagement für Bildung unter → Mitarbeiterentwicklung und → Gesellschaftliches Engagement

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:


SDG 5: Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter

Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter

Vielfalt & Inklusion fördern: Die MTU setzt sich für Vielfalt & Chancengleichheit ein. Diversity ist Teil der Personalstrategie. Dabei liegt ein wichtiger Schwerpunkt auf der Frauenförderung, die auch in den Unternehmenszielen verankert ist. Insbesondere achten wir auf die Förderung von talentierten Frauen für die Führungslaufbahn im Unternehmen und bieten zahlreiche geförderte Schnupper- und Einstiegsangebote für Mädchen und Frauen in technische Berufe. Mehr zu unserem Diversity-Engagement unter → Vielfalt und Inklusion

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:

 


SDG 8: Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

Faire Arbeitsbedingungen schaffen: Menschenwürdiges Arbeiten ist für die MTU elementar. Wir dulden keine Zwangs- oder Kinderarbeit und gewährleisten Arbeits- und Gesundheitsschutz am Arbeitsplatz unter Beachtung der nationalen Bestimmungen als Mindeststandard. An unseren Standorten bieten wir unseren Mitarbeiter:innen darüber hinaus zusätzliche Leistungen im Rahmen unseres Gesundheitsmanagements. Unsere soziale Verantwortung haben wir in unseren Verhaltensgrundsätzen formuliert und geben wir über den Code of Conduct auch an unsere Zulieferer weiter. Mehr Informationen unter → Arbeitsssicherheit & Gesundheitsschutz → Menschenrechte → Lieferantenmanagement

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:


SDG 9: Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur

Nachhaltige Luftfahrt vorantreiben: Die MTU leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur über Grenzen hinweg. Die Luftfahrt verbindet Länder und Kontinente auf der ganzen Welt miteinander. Durch die kontinuierliche Entwicklung ständig verbesserter Technologien tragen wir zum Ressourcenschutz und einer steigenden Ökoeffizienz im Triebwerksbau bei. Mit gänzlich neuen Antriebskonzepten wollen wir das Ziel eines nahezu emissionsfreien Fliegens verwirklichen. Weltweit betreiben wir, insbesondere mit unseren Joint-Venture-Partnern, Niederlassungen für eine kundennahe Versorgung und tragen so zur Infrastruktur im Land und zu einer nachhaltigen Industrialisierung bei. Mehr zu unserem Engagement für den Klima- und Umweltschutz  unter → Produktverantwortung und → Wertschöpfung

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:

  


SDG 12: Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion

Nachhaltige/r Konsum/Produktion

Ganzheitlicher Klima- und Umweltschutz: Die MTU steht für eine nachhaltige Produktion und verfolgt mit ihren Produkten das Ziel größtmöglicher Ökoeffizienz. Bei der Fertigung unserer Produkte bestimmt Nachhaltigkeit unser Handeln. In unseren Maintenance-Shops steht die Reparatur gegenüber dem Ersatz von Teilen im Vordergrund. Dies schont Ressourcen. Mit unserem Umweltmanagement verfolgen wir einen integrierenden Ansatz und bewerten bereits bei unternehmerischen Entscheidungen die Auswirkungen der Produktionsprozesse und Produkte. Bei der Triebwerksentwicklung ist Ökoeffizienz unser übergeordnetes Ziel. Mehr zum Umwelt- und Klimaschutz in den Kapiteln → Produktverantwortung und → Wertschöpfung

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:


SDG 13: Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

Vielfältige Klimaschutzaktivitäten: Die MTU richtet ihre Produktentwicklung auf eine Reduzierung der Klimawirkung von Flugzeugantrieben bis hin zum emissionsfreien Fliegen aus. Über eine nachhaltigere Luftfahrt kann sie den größten Beitrag zum Klimaschutz leisten. Dazu trägt unsere Arbeit an neuen Antriebskonzepten wie das der wasserstoffbetriebenen Brennstoffzelle und unser Engagement für den Einsatz von alternativen Kraftstoffe bei. An unseren Standorten spielt Klimaschutz ebenfalls eine wichtige Rolle, zum Beispiel durch effiziente Prozesse in der Abwärmenutzung, die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien, durch stärker nachhaltige Mobilität im internen Transport oder der Beteiligung an regionalen Initiativen zum Klimaschutz. Mehr dazu in den Kapiteln → Produktverantwortung und → Wertschöpfung

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:

  


SDG 16: Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und Institutionen

Gute Unternehmensführung: Durch ein fundiertes Compliance-System in Verbindung mit einem Null-Toleranz-Ansatz setzt sich die MTU aktiv gegen Korruption und Bestechung ein. Die Einhaltung gesetzlicher Regelungen und interner Vorschriften ist für uns essentiell, insbesondere achten wir auf eine verantwortungsvolle Außenwirtschaft. Diese Verpflichtung geben wir mit unserem Code of Conduct auch an unsere Lieferanten weiter. Mehr zu unserem Ansatz unter → Compliance

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:


SDG 17: Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Erfolgreiche Kooperationen: Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass die Herausforderungen der Weltgemeinschaft nur in Partnerschaften lösbar sind. Dazu arbeitet die MTU im engen Verbund mit Joint-Venture-Partnern, Geschäftspartnern und insbesondere bei ihrer Nachwuchsförderung mit Bildungs- und Forschungseinrichtungen zusammen. An unseren Standorten helfen uns Bildungspartnerschaften, die Fähigkeiten unserer lokalen Belegschaft auszubauen. Um unsere ehrgeizigen Ziele für einen nachhaltigen Luftfahrtverkehr zu erreichen, sind unsere Mitgliedschaften in Forschungskooperationen und Technologienetzwerken von herausragender Bedeutung. Mehr zu unseren Klimaschutz-Aktivitäten unter → Klimawirkungen von Flugzeugantrieben und zu unseren Bildungskooperationen unter→ Gesellschaftliches Engagement

So konnten wir 2020 zum SDG beitragen:

 


Mehr zu:
Sustainable Development Goals


Services & Tools


SDGs-Grafik"17 goals to transform our world"
Quelle: UN Communication Material

Nachhaltigkeitsprogramm 2025+
Back to Top
Stakeholder-Dialog
Feedback
X