| | |

Sustainable governance

Sustainable governance

Compliance

We act with integrity in our working and business relationships. The key basis for this is a Group-wide Code of Conduct that provides all of us with binding guidelines for our behavior in the company, toward our business partners, our customers, and in society. For us, compliance means adherence to these rules and other internal regulations as well as to the law. Our established compliance system still has room for improvement, and so we continuously work to refine it.


graphicgraphic

MTU’s long-term commercial success is founded on responsible actions carried out in full compliance with all applicable laws. Our Code of Conduct and internal guidelines contain clear requirements for employees and serve as a point of orientation.

 

For the success of our company and for our collaboration with our stakeholders, compliance is essential. MTU conducts its business as a fair employer, business partner and customer, and advocates transparent competition where all parties are on an equal footing. Integrity and responsible conduct are core values of our corporate culture and are embedded in the MTU Code of Conduct, which is binding for all employees, managers and members of the Executive Board. These Group-wide compliance rules include topics that are important to us, including key compliance issues such as corruption or antitrust law.

 

Key topics of the Code of Conduct

graphic

→ More about the MTU Code of Conduct

In addition, each employee must be familiar with and observe the legal requirements relating to their role, the terms of their employment contract and company regulations. Managers have a particular responsibility to uphold these requirements and regulations and to act as role models. We also expect our business partners to fully comply with all applicable laws. A separate Code of Conduct applies for suppliers. → Code of Code of Conduct for Suppliers

The MTU Principles (“We shape the future of aviation”) are an integral part of our corporate culture; they help MTU act in a consistent and reliable manner. As a signatory to the UN Global Compact (UNGC), we are committed to preventing corruption within our company. In the interests of maintaining sustainable corporate leadership, we take our lead from the German Corporate Governance Code and international compliance standards, such as the Good Practice Guidance on Internal Controls, Ethics, and Compliance issued by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Our commitment to fighting corruption extends beyond the company as well; besides our status as a UNGC signatory, we are also a member of the AeroSpace and Defence Industries Association of Europe and the TRACE International anti-corruption initiative.

 

graphicgraphic
Michael SchreyöggChief Program OfficerMTU Aero Engines AG
“MTU is a value-based company and has established a comprehensive compliance organization. This can be effective only if we observe the rules in our day-to-day interactions with customers and partners. We stand for top-quality products and these form the basis for sustainable business relationships. Only this way will be able to ensure our lasting success.”

 

Anti-corruption

One focus of our compliance activities is the prevention of corruption. MTU condemns corruption of any kind as well as all other forms of white-collar crime. Our long-term success is founded on compliance with legal requirements and our own internal guidelines. In addition to the Group-wide Code of Conduct, MTU guidelines clearly lay out the appropriate way to handle hospitality and gifts. Further internal regulations concerning the prevention of corruption address customer events, donations, sponsoring and the approval process for sales consultants.

 

Our contribution to the SDGs

“Peace, justice, and strong institutions” is one of the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for its 2030 Agenda. It calls for a significant decrease in all forms of corruption and bribery. The SDGs are also aimed at companies; with a comprehensive compliance system, we are actively taking steps to combat corruption and bribery, minimize the risk thereof and support fair competition. In this way, we are able to contribute to sustainable development that benefits society as a whole.

Peace, justice, and strong institutions

→ Learn more about our contribution to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

 

Embedding compliance in the organization

MTU has a compliance system for the entire company; it reorganized this system in 2018. As the final decision-making authority, the CEO is responsible for the company’s business ethics and anti-corruption policy. The core functions responsible for ensuring ethical and correct conduct are the existing Compliance Board and a Compliance Officer, named in fall of 2018. New members have been appointed to the board, and together with the Compliance Officer, they will better address potential compliance risks. Both the Compliance Board, which is drawn from the top level of management level, and the Compliance Officer hold Group-wide responsibility. The Compliance Officer’s duties include conducting preventive measures, investigating incidents of white-collar crime, and collaborating closely with the Compliance Board in further developing the compliance system. The Compliance Board holds regular and ad hoc meetings, the latter at the request of the Compliance Officer. The Compliance Officer provides quarterly updates to the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board’s Audit Committee, which for its part informs the plenary meetings of the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board’s Audit Committee oversees the Executive Board’s compliance activities.

MTU’s compliance organization

graphic

We have reorganized our compliance system and introduced the Compliance Officer function, which will replace the ombudsman as the point of contact for complaints and information from 2019.

 

Responsible international trade

Another key compliance topic is observance of international trade law, also known as trade compliance. MTU created a separate organizational unit to address it and instituted requirements for thorough audits. The regulations apply to all the company’s divisions, affiliates and employees worldwide. Customs and export control laws govern which products, services and technical data MTU is permitted to sell, share or provide and to where, to whom and for what purpose. Compliance with the applicable international trade regulations is a binding requirement of the MTU Code of Conduct. To this end, the company has created a central international trade department and harmonized process standards throughout the company. These processes include the review of all documents, software and parts prior to shipping to make sure they are in line with export control regulations or existing authorization requirements. The international trade department has been granted cross-divisional authority to issue certain directions, which extends to the right to stop deliveries. The department head reports directly to the Chief Operating Officer in their capacity as the person in charge of MTU exports.

 

Data protection and IT security

In the current climate, for example due to the new European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), data protection is becoming increasingly important. In our business activities, we take care to provide comprehensive data protection and have established an appropriate management system. We expect all employees to comply with data protection regulations, a claim that is underpinned by our Code of Conduct. MTU has appointed data protection officers or coordinators in all of its Group companies, who are instructed in all relevant regulations. The aim is to achieve uniform data protection and data security standards for the handling of personal data throughout the Group that meet the requirements both of the GDPR and of the national legislation applicable at each location. Reports on data protection are submitted to the Executive Board every month.

MTU has an IT security management system in place and implements appropriate protective measures on a technical and organizational level to ensure its IT systems are stable and secure.

 

Objectives of the compliance management system

We want to prevent compliance violations and ensure that business decisions are made with integrity. MTU does not tolerate any kind of conduct that violates laws or regulations. Any detected violations will be subject to disciplinary action. In such cases, MTU applies a principle of zero tolerance. In the reporting year, we did not identify or confirm any suspected instances of corruption. And as in previous years, no violations of the Code of Conduct were reported by employees or external stakeholders. No significant fines were levied against the company for breaches of applicable laws, and MTU faced no legal action due to anti-competitive, antitrust or monopoly practices. In addition, no reportable incidents of data protection breaches occurred within the MTU Group in 2018.


Global reporting system

We have set up a global whistleblower system that allows employees and external stakeholders to confidentially report instances of unlawful conduct to an ombudsman. If the report is found to be credible, the ombudsman initiates the investigative steps necessary. The ways we have established for reporting non-compliance are communicated to employees through internal media channels and explained to external stakeholders in writing or on our website. The identity of the whistleblower and the information they impart are treated as strictly confidential—even if the suspicion turns out to be unfounded. We wish to make it clear that whistleblowers acting in good faith shall not be penalized or disadvantaged by the company in any way. In addition, employees can confide in their superiors, the legal department or HR. MTU did not receive any relevant reports in 2018.

400 
employees
graphic

In the reporting year, we trained more than 400 employees on compliance matters using e-learning tools alone. Employees in Germany and Poland additionally received face-to-face training.

Training employees on compliance

To ensure a functional compliance culture, MTU puts a high priority on preventing possible forms of misconduct and raising awareness of compliance issues among employees. When new employees are taken on, they are informed about the Code of Conduct and sign a declaration to uphold it. We also present and discuss the Code of Conduct at the introductory event for new employees at all our locations. Furthermore, we hold regular training sessions on the Code of Conduct for selected business units as part of our compliance activities. Raising awareness of compliance issues is done first and foremost by organizing mandatory anti-corruption and compliance training courses for managers at all hierarchical levels and for employees who hold certain positions, such as in sales. In the reporting year, we trained more than 400 employees using e-learning tools alone. Employees at our Hannover, Ludwigsfelde and Rzeszów sites additionally received face-to-face training. The training sessions focused primarily on anti-corruption, international trade and the Code of Conduct. In addition, we continuously inform employees about and raise their awareness of compliance issues, such as data protection, in a way suitable for each target group.

Maintaining compliance

We have put various control mechanisms in place to ensure compliance throughout the company and to minimize risk. The Compliance Officer inspects sales support consulting contracts for possible corruption risks before they are placed or renewed. Potential consultants are also subject to an assessment by an independent provider of due diligence services. The corporate audit department conducts regular compliance audits in which it checks business processes and procedures for conformity to legal requirements and adherence to internal guidelines.

Outlook

We aim to continuously improve our compliance system and had it reviewed by external independent experts. We are successively implementing the recommended actions that resulted from this review and aligned the compliance system with them in the reporting year. As of 2019, the Compliance Officer will replace the ombudsman as the point of contact for complaints and information and has taken over continued development of the whistleblower system. Also in 2019, we will introduce a web-based reporting system and a standardized reporting system for all Group locations. We will continue to expand and standardize processes and procedures in the area of international trade law as well.

 


More information about:
MTU in the UN Global Compact
AeroSpace and Defence Industries Association of Europe
TRACE


Stakeholder dialog
Back to Top
Human rights
This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
More info

| | |

Nachhaltige Unternehmensführung

Nachhaltige Unternehmensführung

Compliance

Wir handeln verantwortlich in unseren Arbeits- und Geschäftsbeziehungen. Wichtige Grundlage dafür sind konzernweite Verhaltensgrundsätze, die für alle verbindlich den Umgang im Unternehmen, mit Geschäftspartnern, Kunden und der Gesellschaft regeln. Compliance bedeutet für uns die Einhaltung dieser Grundsätze und weiterer interner Regeln sowie von Gesetzen. Unser etabliertes Compliance-System soll noch besser werden: Wir entwickeln es daher laufend weiter.


graphicgraphic

Rechtmäßiges und verantwortungsvolles Handeln ist für die MTU wichtige Grundlage eines langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Erfolgs. Verhaltensgrundsätze und interne Richtlinien enthalten klare Vorgaben für Mitarbeiter und schaffen so Orientierung.

 

Compliance ist für unseren Geschäftserfolg und die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Stakeholdern essentiell. Die MTU agiert als fairer Arbeitgeber, Geschäftspartner und Auftraggeber und setzt auf einen gleichberechtigten und transparenten Wettbewerb. Integrität und verantwortungsvolles Handeln sind zentrale Werte der Unternehmenskultur und durch Verhaltensgrundsätze (MTU Code of Conduct) für alle Mitarbeiter, Führungskräfte und Vorstände verbindlich. In diesen konzernweiten Grundsätzen haben wir für uns wesentliche Themen zusammengefasst, darunter auch zentrale Compliance-Sachverhalte wie Korruption oder Kartellrecht.

  

Wesentliche Themen des Verhaltenskodex

graphic

→ Mehr zum Verhaltenskodex der MTU

Jeder Mitarbeiter muss darüber hinaus bei seiner Arbeit die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen sowie Bestimmungen aus seinem Arbeitsvertrag und in betrieblichen Regelungen kennen und einhalten. Dabei kommt den Führungskräften eine besondere Verantwortung und Vorbildfunktion nach innen und außen zu. Den Anspruch an Rechtskonformität stellen wir auch an unsere Geschäftspartner. Für Lieferanten gilt ein eigener Verhaltenskodex, der Compliance-Themen beinhaltet. → Zum Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten

Ein übergeordnetes Leitbild („Wir gestalten die Zukunft der Luftfahrt“) ist zentraler Bestandteil der Unternehmenskultur und unterstützt die MTU darin, einheitlich und zuverlässig zu agieren. Als Unterzeichner des UN Global Compact (UNGC) verpflichten wir uns, Korruption im Unternehmen zu unterbinden. Wir orientieren uns im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Unternehmensführung am Deutschen Corporate Governance Kodex und an internationalen Compliance-Standards wie den Leitlinien „Good Practice Guidance on Internal Controls, Ethics, and Compliance“ der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung OECD. Außerhalb des Unternehmens setzen wir uns für die Bekämpfung von Korruption ein und sind neben dem UNGC Mitglied der Aerospace and Defense Industries Association of Europe und der Anti-Korruptionsinitiative TRACE International.

 

graphicgraphic
Michael SchreyöggVorstand ProgrammeMTU Aero Engines AG
„Die MTU ist ein werteorientiertes Unternehmen und hat eine umfassende Compliance-Organisation aufgebaut. Diese kann nur wirksam sein, wenn wir uns im täglichen Umgang mit Kunden und Partnern an die Regeln halten. Wir setzen auf überzeugende Produkte als Basis für nachhaltige Geschäftsbeziehungen. Nur so können wir dauerhaft Erfolg haben."

 

Anti-Korruption

Ein Fokus unserer Compliance-Aktivitäten liegt auf der Prävention von Korruption. Die MTU verurteilt Korruption jeglicher Art sowie jede andere Form von Wirtschaftskriminalität. Die Einhaltung von gesetzlichen Vorschriften und internen Richtlinien ist Grundlage für unseren langfristigen wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Neben den konzernweiten Verhaltensgrundsätzen geben MTU-Richtlinien klare Vorgaben zum Umgang mit Bewirtungen und Geschenken. Weitere interne Regelwerke zur Korruptionsprävention betreffen Kundenevents, Spenden und Sponsoring und den Genehmigungsprozess für Vertriebsberater.

    

Unser Beitrag zu den SDGs

Eines der 17 globalen Entwicklungsziele aus der Agenda 2030 (Sustainable Development Goals), SDG 16 „Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen“, enthält die Forderung, Korruption und Bestechung in all ihren Formen erheblich zu reduzieren. Die SDGs richten sich auch an Unternehmen, mit einem umfassenden Compliance-System setzen wir uns aktiv gegen Korruption und Bestechung ein, minimieren das Risiko und unterstützen einen fairen Wettbewerb. Damit leisten wir einen Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung, die der Gesellschaft zugutekommt.

Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den globalen Entwicklungszielen (SDGs)

   

Compliance verankern

Die MTU verfügt über ein Compliance-System für das gesamte Unternehmen und hat dieses 2018 neu organisiert. Der Vorstandsvorsitzende ist als oberster Entscheidungsträger für Geschäftsethik und Anti-Korruptionspolitik verantwortlich. Zentrale Funktionen zur Umsetzung regeltreuen Verhaltens sind das bestehende Compliance Board und ein im Herbst 2018 ernannter Compliance Officer. Das Compliance Board ist neu besetzt worden, um gemeinsam mit dem Compliance Officer mögliche Compliance-Risiken noch besser abzudecken. Sowohl das Compliance Board, das mit Mitgliedern aus der oberen Führungsebene besetzt ist, als auch der Compliance Officer agieren konzernweit. Zu den Aufgaben des Compliance Officers gehören die Prävention, die Ermittlung in Fällen von Wirtschaftskriminalität und die Weiterentwicklung des Compliance-Systems in enger Abstimmung mit dem Compliance Board. Das Compliance Board tagt regelmäßig und zusätzlich im Bedarfsfall auf Einladung des Compliance Officers. Der Compliance Officer berichtet quartalsweise an den Vorstand und den Prüfungsausschuss des Aufsichtsrats, der wiederum das Plenum des Aufsichtsrats informiert. Der Prüfungsausschuss des Aufsichtsrates überwacht die Compliance-Aktivitäten des Vorstands.

Compliance-Organisation der MTU

graphic

Das Compliance-System haben wir weiterentwickelt und unter anderem die neue Funktion des Compliance Officers geschaffen, der ab 2019 den Ombudsmann als Anlaufstelle für Beschwerden und Hinweise ersetzt.

 

Verantwortungsvolle Außenwirtschaft

Ein weiteres wichtiges Compliance-Thema ist die Einhaltung des Außenwirtschaftsrechts (Trade Compliance). Hierfür hat die MTU eine eigene Organisationseinheit geschaffen und sorgfältige Prüfpflichten im Unternehmen vorgeschrieben. Die Bestimmungen betreffen weltweit alle Geschäftsbereiche und Gesellschaften des Unternehmens und alle Mitarbeiter. Zoll- und Exportkontrollgesetze regeln, welche Produkte, Dienstleistungen und technische Daten die MTU wohin, an wen und für welchen Einsatzzweck verkaufen beziehungsweise weitergeben oder erbringen darf. Die Einhaltung der für uns maßgeblichen außenwirtschaftsrechtlichen Bestimmungen ist in den MTU-Verhaltensgrundsätzen verbindlich vorgeschrieben. Für die Umsetzung hat das Unternehmen eine zentrale Fachabteilung Außenwirtschaft geschaffen und unternehmensweit harmonisierte Prozessstandards implementiert. Diese sehen unter anderem eine Prüfung auf Exportkontrollbestimmungen und auf bestehende Genehmigungspflichten vor Versand von Dokumenten, Software und Bauteilen vor. Dem Bereich Außenwirtschaft ist ein bereichsübergreifendes Fachweisungsrecht eingeräumt, das bis zur Berechtigung reicht, Lieferungen zu stoppen. Der Leiter Außenwirtschaft berichtet direkt an den Vorstand Technik als Ausfuhrverantwortlichen der MTU.

 

Datenschutz und IT-Security

In der aktuellen Entwicklung zum Beispiel durch die neue Europäische Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) gewinnt der Datenschutz stärker an Bedeutung. Wir achten in unserer Geschäftstätigkeit auf einen umfassenden Datenschutz und haben ein entsprechendes Managementsystem aufgebaut. Wir erwarten von allen Mitarbeitern, dass sie die Bestimmungen des Datenschutzes einhalten. Dieser Anspruch ist über die Verhaltensgrundsätze untermauert. Die MTU hat in allen Konzerngesellschaften Datenschutzbeauftragte oder -koordinatoren bestellt, die in allen relevanten Regelungen unterrichtet sind. Das Ziel sind einheitliche Datenschutz- und Datensicherheitsstandards für den Umgang mit personenbezogenen Daten im gesamten Konzern, die den Anforderungen aus der DSGVO und aus der jeweiligen nationalen Gesetzgebung der Standorte genügen. Eine Berichterstattung zum Datenschutz erfolgt monatlich an den Vorstand.

Die MTU betreibt ein IT-Security Management und sorgt mit angemessenen technischen und organisatorischen Schutzmaßnahmen für stabile und sichere IT-Systeme.

 

Ziele des Compliance Management Systems

Wir wollen Compliance-Verstöße verhindern und integre Geschäftsentscheidungen gewährleisten. Die MTU toleriert keinerlei regel- oder rechtswidriges Verhalten, festgestellte Verstöße ahnden wir konsequent. Diesbezüglich verfolgen wir einen Null-Toleranz-Ansatz. Im Berichtsjahr haben wir weder bestätigte Korruptionsvorfälle noch Korruptionsverdachtsfälle identifiziert. Außerdem sind wie in den Vorjahren keine Verstöße von Mitarbeitern oder externen Stakeholdern gegen die Verhaltensgrundsätze gemeldet worden. Darüber hinaus sind keine wesentlichen Bußgelder aufgrund von Verstößen gegen geltendes Recht verhängt worden. Es waren ebenfalls keine Klagen aufgrund wettbewerbswidrigen Verhaltens oder Kartell- sowie Monopolbildung anhängig. Zudem lagen dem MTU-Konzern 2018 keine meldepflichtigen Datenschutzverstöße vor.

  

Globales Meldesystem

Wir haben ein globales Hinweisgebersystem eingerichtet, in dem ein Ombudsmann vertrauliche Anlaufstelle für Mitarbeiter und externe Stakeholder bei unrechtmäßigem Verhalten ist. Der Ombudsmann steuert bei konkretem Verdacht die erforderlichen Aufklärungsmaßnahmen. Wir informieren die Mitarbeiter in den internen Medien beziehungsweise externe Stakeholder schriftlich oder über das Internet über eingerichtete Meldewege. Die Identität des Hinweisgebers sowie eingehende Informationen werden streng vertraulich behandelt – auch wenn sich der Hinweis als nicht stichhaltig herausstellen sollte. Selbstverständlich haben Hinweisgeber, die in guter Absicht handeln, keine Sanktionen oder Benachteiligungen durch das Unternehmen zu fürchten. Mitarbeiter können sich zudem vertrauensvoll an Führungskräfte, die Rechts- oder Personalabteilung wenden. Im Jahr 2018 sind keine relevanten Hinweise bei der MTU eingegangen.

400
Mitarbeiter
graphic

Im Berichtsjahr haben wir mehr als 400 Mitarbeiter zu Compliance-Sachverhalten allein über das E-Learning geschult. Darüber hinaus fanden Präsenztrainings für Mitarbeiter in Deutschland und Polen statt.

Mitarbeiter zu Compliance schulen

Wichtig für eine funktionierende Compliance-Kultur sind die Prävention möglichen Fehlverhaltens und die Sensibilisierung der Mitarbeiter zu Compliance-Sachverhalten. Neue Mitarbeiter werden zu Beginn ihrer Beschäftigung über die Verhaltensgrundsätze informiert und verpflichten sich per Unterschrift zur Einhaltung. An allen Standorten thematisieren wir den Code of Conduct in der Einführungsveranstaltung für neue Mitarbeiter. Darüber hinaus schulen wir regelmäßig ausgewählte Bereiche zu den Verhaltensgrundsätzen im Rahmen unserer Compliance-Aktivitäten. Die Sensibilisierung erfolgt konzernweit in erster Linie über verpflichtende Anti-Korruptions- und Compliance-Schulungen für Führungskräfte über alle Hierarchieebenen und für Mitarbeiter in speziellen Funktionen zum Beispiel aus dem Vertrieb. Im Berichtsjahr haben wir mehr als 400 Mitarbeiter allein über das E-Learning geschult. Darüber hinaus fanden Präsenztrainings an den Standorten in Hannover, Ludwigsfelde und Rzeszów statt. Die Schulungen betrafen in erster Linie die Themen Anti-Korruption, Außenwirtschaft und Verhaltensgrundsätze. Darüber hinaus informieren und sensibilisieren wir fortlaufend und zielgruppenorientiert Mitarbeiter zu Compliance-Themen wie zum Beispiel zum Datenschutz.

Compliance einhalten

Es sind verschiedene Kontrollmechanismen installiert, um Compliance im Unternehmen sicherzustellen und Risiken zu minimieren. Der Compliance Officer überprüft vertriebsunterstützende Beraterverträge vor Abschluss oder Verlängerung auf mögliche Korruptionsrisiken. Potenzielle Berater werden zusätzlich einer Prüfung durch einen unabhängigen externen Dienstleister unterzogen. Die Einheit Corporate Audit überprüft regelmäßig in Compliance-Audits Geschäftsprozesse auf gesetzliche Konformität und auf die Einhaltung interner Richtlinien.

Ausblick

Wir wollen unser Compliance-System kontinuierlich verbessern und haben es einer Prüfung von außen durch unabhängige Experten unterzogen. Empfohlene Maßnahmen aus diesem Review setzen wir sukzessive um und haben im Berichtsjahr das Compliance-System entsprechend der Empfehlungen weiterentwickelt. Der Compliance Officer ersetzt ab 2019 den Ombudsmann als Anlaufstelle für Beschwerden und Hinweise und hat die Weiterentwicklung des Hinweisgebersystems übernommen. Wir führen 2019 ein webbasiertes Meldesystem ein sowie ein standardisiertes Reportingsystem für alle Standorte im Konzern. Auch die Prozesse und Abläufe im Bereich des Außenwirtschaftsrechts werden wir weiter ausbauen und vereinheitlichen.

 


Mehr zu:
MTU im UN Global Compact
AeroSpace and Defense Industries Association of Europe
TRACE


Stakeholder-Dialog
Back to Top
Menschenrechte
Mit der Nutzung unserer Webseiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.