2020 Sustainability Report

INTRODUCTION

Foreword by the Chief Executive Officer

portrait

Reiner Winkler

Chief Executive Officer
MTU Aero Engines AG

 

Dear readers,

Renewables are expanding apace, with global installed capacity constantly growing. According to the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), more than 80% of the increase in power generation capacity in 2020 is attributable to renewables—a new record. This marks the start of a new decade of green energy and points to the path of decarbonization that the economy and society must follow. We, too, are setting the course for a green future for aviation and for MTU. And this in a time that presents major challenges we must all strive to overcome. The crisis we are facing as a result of the coronavirus pandemic has highlighted the importance of decisive and responsible action. At the same time, we should see it as an opportunity for change—and that is precisely what we are doing.

Last year, we began preparations for our ecoRoadmap, which aims to make MTU carbon-neutral in the long term. Having launched the project a few months ago, our first aim is to make operations at our largest production site in Munich climate-neutral by late 2021. Efficiency improvements, emission reductions and high-quality offsets should get us there. This project is visible on the roof of our logistics center, where we have installed our first photovoltaic system to generate our own green energy. We are also examining whether to do the same at other production sites. In the long term, we want all our production sites to be carbon-neutral in an effort to support the goal set out in the Paris Agreement: limiting global warming preferably to 1.5 degrees Celsius by 2050.

“For some time now in our product development, our Clean Air Engine Agenda has stood for a climate transformation for aviation. Emissions-free flight is the vision that drives us. It is a long-term goal that is also in line with the Paris Agreement.”

We want our ecoRoadmap to achieve for our site operations what our Clean Air Engine Agenda has stood for in our product development for some time now: a climate transformation for aviation. Emissions-free flight is the vision that drives us. It is a long-term goal that is also in line with the Paris Agreement, and here, too, we made progress in 2020. For example, we are committed to the concept of hydrogen-powered fuel cells and have established our own development team, which is working hard to prepare for the first flight of a prototype. We expect this will occur in the next few years. In addition, we are pursuing the concept of a propulsion system that employs a heat exchanger to use the energy from the engine’s exhaust gas stream and that would be suitable for powering long-haul aircraft. In our view, sustainable aviation fuels are just as essential for a green future in aviation; these are fuels that can be used in conjunction with existing infrastructures and engine architectures today to reduce emissions that have an effect on the climate.

“Another key consideration in 2020 was occupational safety, with health management to provide our employees with sufficient protection against infection. We took comprehensive measures to help combat the coronavirus pandemic.”

Bold, creative and innovative ideas are born in an environment that motivates and inspires, offering recognition and respect. We are committed to embracing diversity more than ever because, especially in times of transformation, diversity and integration are crucial to effecting successful and sustainable change. Another key consideration in 2020 was occupational safety, with health management to provide our employees with sufficient protection against infection. We took comprehensive measures to help combat the coronavirus pandemic. The crisis has made us all aware of the urgency of digitalization. We are hard at work on this task as well—regarding products, production and new forms of collaboration within MTU.

We also assume responsibility for the supply chain. We attach great importance to safeguarding the respect of human rights in suppliers’ upstream production processes for our components. As part of our due diligence, we carry out supplier risk analyses. We have refined these procedures so we can further enhance our assessment of potential risks, and we want to integrate them more tightly into our processes. We are also planning to conduct more stringent audits of our suppliers’ compliance with sustainability criteria.

“We want to devote more of our efforts to medium- and long-term goals across the whole of MTU. My colleagues on the Executive Board and I are also opting to be measured more closely in terms of sustainability.”

All the topics addressed are embedded in a sustainability strategy that we are currently reworking in order to devote more of our efforts to medium- and long-term goals across the whole of MTU. My colleagues on the Executive Board and I are also opting to be measured more closely in terms of sustainability. Starting in the 2021 business year, MTU Executive Board members’ variable compensation will reflect non-financial performance indicators.

The target year for attaining the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals is 2030, and we want our sustainability commitment to contribute to those efforts. Moreover, we have been committed to the ten principles of the UN Global Compact since 2011. Our foundation for integrity in business and labor relations is our in-house compliance management system and a binding Code of Conduct for all employees and managers.

So far, we have weathered the crisis well. We are particularly pleased that no MTU location has emerged as a coronavirus hotspot to date. From my point of view, and judging by the feedback from managers and employees, we enjoy a good level of cohesion in the company. For example, we have set up a solidarity fund financed by managers, the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board for employees suffering particular hardship as a result of short-time working.

“In our view, this transformation can succeed only if society as a whole pulls together, with the research community, industry and policymakers all collaborating closely.”

As a company and as a society, we are in the middle of change. Sustainable mobility—in our case, emissions-free flight—is one of the central challenges of our time. In our view, this transformation can succeed only if society as a whole pulls together, with the research community, industry and policymakers all collaborating closely. We clearly want to play our part and take on responsibility—and you can find out how in this Sustainability Report.

I hope you enjoy reading this report and watching the exciting videos of our employees talking about their projects and ideas. And please take advantage of the new opportunity to give us feedback directly. We look forward to a constructive exchange of ideas with you!

Yours sincerely,

Reiner Winkler
Chief Executive Officer

MTU Aero Engines AG


Services and tools


Sustainability Report 2020
Back to Top
The enterprise MTU
Feedback
X

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020

Einführung

Vorwort des Vorstandsvorsitzenden

portrait

Reiner Winkler

Vorsitzender des Vorstands
MTU Aero Engines AG

 

Liebe Leserinnen, liebe Leser,

erneuerbare Energien sind weiter auf dem Vormarsch, der globale Ausbau der Kapazitäten schreitet voran. Mehr als 80% des Zuwachses an Stromkapazitäten 2020 stammten laut der Internationalen Agentur für Erneuerbare Energien (IRENA) aus regenerativen Quellen - ein Rekord. Nicht zuletzt dies markiert den Einstieg in ein neues Jahrzehnt der grünen Energie und deutet auf den notwendigen Weg der Dekarbonisierung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft hin. Auch wir stellen die Weichen für eine grüne Zukunft der Luftfahrt und der MTU. Und dies in einer Zeit, die für uns alle große Herausforderungen und Anstrengungen mit sich bringt. Die Krise, in der wir uns aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie befinden, hat deutlich gemacht, wie wichtig entschlossenes und verantwortungsvolles Handeln ist. Wir sollten sie zugleich als Chance für einen Wandel begreifen. Und genau das machen wir.

Im vergangenen Jahr haben wir mit den Vorbereitungen für unsere ecoRoadmap begonnen, mit der die MTU langfristig CO2-neutral werden soll. Das Projekt haben wir vor einigen Monaten gestartet und wollen im ersten Schritt unseren größten Produktionsstandort in München ab Ende 2021 klimaneutral betreiben. Effizienzverbesserungen, Emissionsreduzierungen und hochwertige Kompensationen sollen uns dahin bringen. Sichtbar wird das auf dem Dach unseres Logistikzentrums. Dort haben wir unsere erste Photovoltaik-Anlage installiert, mit der wir eigene grüne Energie erzeugen. Auch an weiteren Produktionsstandorten prüfen wir einen Einsatz. Langfristig sollen dann alle unsere Produktionsstandorte CO2-neutral sein, um das Ziel aus dem Pariser Klimaabkommen, die Erderwärmung auf möglichst 1,5 Grad Celsius bis 2050 zu begrenzen, zu unterstützen.

„Wir arbeiten mit unserer Clean Air Engine Agenda in der Produktentwicklung schon länger an der Klimawende für die Luftfahrt. Emissionsfreies Fliegen, diese Vision treibt uns an. Es ist ein langfristiges Ziel im Einklang mit dem Pariser Klimaabkommen."

Im Standortbetrieb setzen wir mit der ecoRoadmap das um, woran wir mit unserer Clean Air Engine Agenda in der Produktentwicklung schon länger arbeiten: die Klimawende für die Luftfahrt. Emissionsfreies Fliegen - diese Vision treibt uns an. Es ist ein langfristiges Ziel, ebenfalls im Einklang mit dem Pariser Klimaabkommen. Auch hier haben wir 2020 Fortschritte gemacht. Wir setzen zum Beispiel auf das Konzept der wasserstoffbetriebenen Brennstoffzelle und haben ein eigenes Entwicklungsteam gegründet. Es arbeitet intensiv an den Vorbereitungen für den Erstflug eines Prototypen, mit dem wir in den nächsten Jahren rechnen. Daneben verfolgen wir das Konzept eines Antriebs, der mit Hilfe eines Wärmetauschers die Energie aus dem Abgasstrahl des Triebwerks nutzt und für die Langstrecke geeignet wäre. Aus unserer Sicht sind Sustainable Aviation Fuels ebenso unerlässlich für eine grüne Zukunft der Luftfahrt, also alternative Kraftstoffe, mit denen sich klimawirksame Emissionen bereits mit den bestehenden Infrastrukturen und Triebwerksarchitekturen reduzieren lassen.

„Von großer Bedeutung waren 2020 zudem die Arbeitssicherheit und das Gesundheitsmanagement, um unsere Mitarbeiter:innen ausreichend vor Infektionen zu schützen. Wir haben umfassende Maßnahmen ergriffen, mit denen wir zur Bekämpfung der Corona-Pandemie beitragen."

Mutige, kreative und innovative Ideen entstehen in einem Umfeld, das motiviert, inspiriert, anerkennt und respektiert. Wir setzen verstärkt auf Diversity, denn gerade in Zeiten des Wandels sind Vielfalt und Integration entscheidende Faktoren für erfolgreiche und nachhaltige Veränderungen. Von großer Bedeutung waren 2020 zudem die Arbeitssicherheit und das Gesundheitsmanagement, um unsere Mitarbeiter:innen ausreichend vor Infektionen zu schützen. Wir haben umfassende Maßnahmen ergriffen, mit denen wir zur Bekämpfung der Corona-Pandemie beitragen. Die Pandemie hat uns allen die Dringlichkeit der Digitalisierung vor Augen geführt. An dieser Aufgabe arbeiten wir ebenfalls mit Nachdruck – für Produkte, Produktion und neue Formen der Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der MTU.

Verantwortung zeigen wir auch für die Lieferkette. Wir messen der Einhaltung der Menschenrechte in der Vorproduktion unserer Bauteile bei Lieferanten einen hohen Stellenwert bei. Um unserer Sorgfaltspflicht nachzukommen, führen wir Risikoanalysen von Lieferanten durch. Diese Analysen haben  wir weiterentwickelt, um mögliche Risiken noch besser einschätzen zu können, und wollen sie noch weiter in unsere Prozesse integrieren. Auch eine stärkere Prüfung der Einhaltung von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten bei unseren Lieferanten ist in Planung.

„Wir wollen uns stärker mittel- bis langfristige Ziele über die gesamte MTU setzen. Auch meine Vorstandskollegen und ich lassen uns stärker an Nachhaltigkeit messen."

Alle angesprochenen Themen sind eingebettet in eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, die wir gerade weiterentwickeln, um uns stärker mittel- bis langfristige Ziele über die gesamte MTU zu setzen. Auch meine Vorstandskollegen und ich lassen uns stärker an Nachhaltigkeit messen. Ab dem Geschäftsjahr 2021 fließen nichtfinanzielle Kennzahlen in die variable Vergütung der MTU-Vorstandsmitglieder ein.

2030 ist das Jahr, in denen die Sustainable Development Goals der UN erreicht sein sollen und zu denen wir mit unserem Nachhaltigkeitsengagement beitragen wollen. Darüber hinaus stehen wir seit 2011 zu den zehn Prinzipien des UN Global Compact. Grundlage integrer Geschäfts- und Arbeitsbeziehungen sind intern ein Compliance-Managementsystem und verpflichtende Verhaltensgrundsätze für alle Mitarbeiter:innen und Führungskräfte.

Bis jetzt sind wir gut durch die Krise gekommen. Wir freuen uns insbesondere, dass es bislang zu keinem Corona-Hotspot bei der MTU gekommen ist. Aus meiner Sicht und nach den Rückmeldungen der Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter:innen zu urteilen erleben wir einen guten Zusammenhalt im Unternehmen. Wir haben zum Beispiel einen von Führungskräften, Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat finanzierten Solidarfonds eingerichtet für Mitarbeiter:innen, die von Härtefällen durch Kurzarbeit betroffen sind.

„Die Transformation kann aus unserer Sicht nur als gesamtgesellschaftliche Anstrengung gelingen und in einem  Schulterschluss zwischen Forschung, Industrie und Politik."

Wir sind als Unternehmen und als Gesellschaft mitten im Wandel. Eine nachhaltige Mobilität – für uns das emissionsfreie Fliegen - ist eine der zentralen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Die Transformation kann aus unserer Sicht nur als gesamtgesellschaftliche Anstrengung gelingen und in einem  Schulterschluss zwischen Forschung, Industrie und Politik. Wir wollen ganz klar unseren Beitrag leisten und Verantwortung übernehmen – wie, das erfahren Sie in diesem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht.

Ich wünsche Ihnen eine anregende Lektüre und spannende Filmeinblicke, denn unsere Mitarbeiter:innen erzählen in Videos im Bericht selbst von ihren Projekten und Ideen. Und nutzen Sie die neue Möglichkeit, uns direkt Feedback zu geben. Wir freuen uns auf einen konstruktiven Austausch mit Ihnen!

Ihr

Reiner Winkler
Vorsitzender des Vorstands

MTU Aero Engines AG


Services & Tools


Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020
Back to Top
Das Unternehmen MTU
Feedback
X