Value creation

Ecological standards for production and maintenance

Environmental management

Environmental protection is a maxim guiding how we do business. At all MTU sites around the globe, we aim to be efficient in our use of energy and resources, limit our emissions and avoid environmental risks. We strive for continuous improvement in all these areas, but especially with regard to reducing energy consumption and carbon emissions.


graphic

Our environmental management for site operations includes regular measurements of our energy consumption as a basis for effective monitoring and reduction measures.

Environmental protection is an important principle guiding our corporate behavior and is implemented in our business processes. It is also enshrined in the global Code of Conduct for all employees, where we express our commitment to a policy of integrated environmental protection that starts at the causes of pollution and evaluates the environmental impact of our production processes and products in advance. We integrate insights from this into corporate decisions. We apply the precautionary principle so as to keep negative environmental impact to a minimum. The most significant way we can help protect the environment is with our product development processes, as the environmental effects (energy consumption, climate impact) of our products is greatest during their use. → Climate impact of aircraft engines

Integrated environmental protection covers:

10.0
million euros
graphic

Our investments and ongoing expenses for environmental protection and climate action at our production sites totaled EUR 10 million in 2020. This went primarily toward implementing projects for generating energy from renewable sources, such as the photovoltaic system in Munich.

Furthermore, we have embedded our environmental responsibility in the MTU Principles in the section entitled “Environment and society,” Responsibility for company-wide environmental protection is assumed by the Executive Board. Uniform high standards are applied across MTU through an environmental management system that defines processes, responsibilities and targets at the site level. Environmental protection is part of our → Integrated management system (IMS). Internal standards are binding for MTU’s sites and, in some cases, exceed the legal requirements. The stringent environmental criteria apply to all divisions and processes and are laid down in documented process flows and special company standards. Minimum operating standards for our machines and facilities, such as engine test cells, are stipulated by national legislation and local specifications. For machines and facilities with environmental implications, this body of rules and regulations is supplemented by approval from the authorities. We conduct measurements, tests and inspections at regular intervals to ensure our machines and facilities are operating invariably in accordance with these rules and regulations.

 

Our contribution to SDGs 9, 12 and 13

Through our environmental management system, we continually improve energy and resource efficiency and minimize emissions of CO2 and pollutants in production and maintenance. In this way, we live up to our responsibility as a manufacturing company. In doing so, we also want to help achieve the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), specifically SDG 9 on “Industry, innovation and infrastructure,” SDG 12 on “Responsible consumption and production” and SDG 13 on “Climate action.”

Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Responsible consumption and production
Climate action

→ Learn more about our contribution to the SDGs of the UN’s 2030 Agenda

 

Certified management systems for environmental protection

Our environmental management approach is not centralized. All of MTU’s production sites have a dedicated environmental department and take care of implementing environmental protection measures on a local level. Through IMS reporting, the Executive Board receives a quarterly report on CO2 emissions in relation to production hours for the sites in Munich, Hannover, Ludwigsfelde, Rzeszów and Vancouver. Individual site managers are directly responsible for environmental protection; they receive advice and support from the local environmental departments. The environmental departments regularly share their innovations and best practices with each other. We regularly train employees on matters relevant to the environment, such as the safe handling of hazardous goods or chemicals.

The German sites are certified to ISO 14001, the international standard for environmental management systems, and/or to the EU Eco-Management and Audit Scheme (EMAS). → Overview of our certifications This means that 89.5% of MTU’s business activities at our production sites are certified to a recognized, external standard in terms of energy used (natural gas, kerosene, biomethane, electricity and district heating).

At our sites, we implement local environmental programs with various objectives, primarily to reduce energy consumption and emissions (for more information, see Conservation of resources and Emissions). We use various measures to achieve improvements in our environmental performance. In the reporting year, we spent some EUR 10.0 million in total on investments and ongoing expenses in a bid to increase our environmental compatibility. These concerned, for example, wastewater treatment, safe waste disposal, use of renewable energies, energy-saving measures and noise abatement. At our Munich site, we are investing in a new photovoltaic system that will go into operation in 2021.

Our goal is to constantly develop and refine our operational environmental protection measures. Independent external auditors and environmental consultants conduct annual reviews at our German sites to confirm our implementation of and adherence to the applicable environmental protection management requirements, and provide recommendations for improvement. We always pass these reviews with flying colors, 2020 was no exception. This monitoring is supplemented by internal inspections and audits. The same applies to our production facilities. MTU’s management regularly conducts reviews to monitor and steer environmental management in the company and to influence its further development.

0
fines for environmental incidents
graphic

We apply the precautionary principle so as to keep environmental impact to a minimum. The company has been operating in compliance with the law at its production sites for years, and no fines for environmental incidents were imposed on MTU in 2020 either.

Emergency management plans have been prepared to deal with interruptions to operations with a negative environmental impact, and a crisis committee has been set up. We also hold regular staff drills and provide instructions on what to do in the event of an emergency. MTU has comprehensive fire protection measures in place that comply with legal directives.

In 2020 as in previous years, there were no incidents at the production sites with a negative environmental impact, nor were any fines levied against the company for breaches of statutory requirements relating to the environment. No non-monetary sanctions were brought against MTU.

 

Environmental protection in dialogue with stakeholders

We maintain a dialogue with our stakeholder groups about MTU’s environmental impacts. Stakeholders can use the available media channels to direct complaints and report abuses to us, which we will immediately follow up. This applies to employees, suppliers, residents and other stakeholders. In the reporting year, we received no complaints regarding negative environmental impacts. At the German sites, environmental officers are available to answer any questions or comments.→ More information about Stakeholder dialogue

Our → Environmental statements for Munich, Hannover and Ludwigsfelde provide information to the public annually about our environmental impact and environmental management. In addition, we offer stakeholders the opportunity to make use of an → Online survey on sustainability to give feedback.

We promote greater environmental protection in industry and business through the following global and local initiatives:

We involve our employees in active environmental protection endeavors and promote environmentally conscious behavior through awareness events, information campaigns and training courses at all our production sites—including initial instruction for new employees at MTU. Raising the awareness of all employees in production and administration is part of our Code of Conduct regarding environmental protection. We promote environmentally friendly behavior among our employees through local initiatives such as Zero mission at our headquarters in Munich and the Eco Facility campaign in Rzeszów; a sustainability committee is active in Canada. We also support the commitment of our employees outside MTU. One example in 2020 was a call to participate in the Climathon, a global brainstorming event for a better climate.

All fully consolidated production sites of the MTU Group worldwide (Munich, Hannover, Ludwigsfelde, Rzeszów and Vancouver) are included in our environmental reporting for this Sustainability Report. By comparison, smaller sites are not relevant for our environmental impact and are therefore not included.

 

Outlook

In 2020, we began developing an ecoRoadmap for climate neutrality at MTU’s Munich site as a pilot project. We aim to make site operations climate-neutral as early as 2021. The other German sites are to follow and all fully consolidated production sites are to be included in the long term.


Services and tools


Value creation
Back to Top
Conservation of resources
Feedback
X

Wertschöpfung

Ökologische Standards für Produktion & Instandhaltung

Umweltmanagement

Umweltschutz ist für uns eine Maxime unternehmerischen Handelns. An allen MTU-Standorten wollen wir effizient mit Energie und Ressourcen umgehen, Emissionen begrenzen und Umweltrisiken vermeiden. Wir streben dabei nach kontinuierlichen Verbesserungen vor allem in Hinblick auf eine Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs und der CO2-Emissionen.


graphic

Unser Umweltmanagement für den Standortbetrieb beinhaltet regelmäßige Messungen unseres Energieverbrauchs als Grundlage für ein effektives Monitoring und Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung.

Umweltschutz ist eine wichtige Leitlinie unseres unternehmerischen Handelns und in unseren Geschäftsprozessen implementiert. Er ist zudem in den globalen Verhaltensgrundsätzen für alle Mitarbeiter:innen verankert. Hierin bekennen wir uns zu einem integrierten Umweltschutz, der an den Ursachen für Umweltbeeinträchtigungen ansetzt und im Voraus die Auswirkungen unserer Produktionsprozesse und Produkte auf die Umwelt beurteilt. Die Erkenntnisse beziehen wir in die unternehmerischen Entscheidungen ein. Wir handeln nach dem Vorsorgeprinzip, um negative Umweltauswirkungen so gering wie möglich zu halten. Den größten Beitrag zum Umweltschutz können wir mit unserer Produktentwicklung leisten, da die Umweltauswirkungen (Energieverbrauch und Klimawirkung) unserer Produkte in der Nutzung am größten sind. → Klimawirkungen von Flugzeugantrieben

Der integrierte Umweltschutz besteht aus:

10,0
Mio. Euro
graphic

Unsere Investitionen und laufenden Aufwendungen für Umwelt- und Klimaschutz an unseren Produktionsstandorten umfassten 2020 insgesamt zehn Mio. Euro. Wir haben damit vor allem Projekte zur Energiegewinnung aus regenerativen Quellen wie die Photovoltaik-Anlage in München realisiert.

Darüber hinaus ist unsere Verantwortung gegenüber der Umwelt im Unternehmensleitbild unter dem Punkt „Umwelt und Gesellschaft“ festgehalten. Die Verantwortung für einen unternehmensweiten Umweltschutz trägt der Vorstand. Einheitlich hohe Standards gelten für die MTU über ein Umweltmanagementsystem, das auf Standortebene Prozesse, Verantwortlichkeiten und Ziele definiert. Der Umweltschutz ist Teil unseres → integrierten Managementsystems (IMS). Interne Standards sind für die Standorte verbindlich und gehen zum Teil über die gesetzlichen Vorgaben hinaus. Die strengen Umweltschutzkriterien gelten dabei für alle Geschäftsbereiche und Prozesse und sind in Prozessabläufen und speziellen Werksnormen geregelt. Der Mindeststandard für den Betrieb unserer Anlagen wie Triebwerksprüfstände ist stets durch die nationalen Gesetze und nachgeordneten Vorschriften vorgegeben. Die behördlichen Genehmigungen für umweltrelevante Anlagen ergänzen das Regelwerk. Durch turnusmäßige und anlassbezogene Messungen, Prüfungen und Begehungen stellen wir sicher, dass wir unsere Anlagen nur im Rahmen dieses Regelwerks betreiben.

Unser Beitrag zu SDG 9, 12 und 13

Über das Umweltmanagement steigern wir kontinuierlich Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz, minimieren CO2- und Schadstoffausstoß in der Herstellung und Instandhaltung und werden so unserer Verantwortung als produzierendes Unternehmen gerecht. Wir wollen damit auch zu den SDGs beitragen, konkret zu SDG 9 „Industrie, Innovation, Infrastruktur“, SDG 12 „Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion“ und SDG 13 „Maßnahmen und Klimaschutz“. 

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
Nachhaltige/r Konsum/Produktion
Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs aus der UN-Agenda 2030

 

Zertifizierte Managementsysteme für den Umweltschutz

Das Umweltmanagement ist bei uns dezentral organisiert. Umweltabteilungen an allen Produktionsstandorten sorgen für eine lokale Umsetzung des Umweltschutzes. Der Vorstand erhält quartalsweise über das IMS-Reporting einen Bericht zu CO2-Emissionen bezogen auf Produktionsstunden für die Standorte München, Hannover, Ludwigsfelde, Rzeszów und Vancouver. Die unmittelbare Verantwortung für den Umweltschutz liegt bei den jeweiligen Standortleitern, die von den lokalen Umweltabteilungen beraten und unterstützt werden. Die Umweltabteilungen stehen untereinander in einem regelmäßigen Austausch zu Innovationen und Best-Practice-Lösungen. Wir schulen Mitarbeiter:innen in umweltrelevanten Sachverhalten wie den sicheren Umgang mit Gefahrstoffen oder Chemikalien.

Die deutschen Standorte sind nach der internationalen Umweltnorm ISO 14001 und/oder nach der europäischen EG-Öko-Audit-Verordnung (Eco Management and Audit Scheme, EMAS) zertifiziert. → Unsere Zertifizierungen im Überblick. Damit sind 89,5% der MTU-Geschäftstätigkeit an unseren Produktionsstandorten in Bezug auf den Energieeinsatz (Erdgas, Kerosin, Biomethan, Strom und Fernwärme) nach einem anerkannten, externen Standard zertifiziert.

An unseren Standorten realisieren wir lokale Umweltprogramme, die mit unterschiedlichen Zielsetzungen vor allem Energieverbräuche und Emissionen reduzieren sollen (mehr dazu unter „Ressourcenschutz" und „Emissionen"). Verbesserungen in unseren Umweltbilanzen erreichen wir durch verschiedene Maßnahmen. Im Berichtsjahr haben wir an laufenden Aufwendungen und Investitionen für eine bessere ökologische Verträglichkeit insgesamt 10,0 Mio. Euro ausgegeben. Diese betrafen zum Beispiel die Abwasseraufbereitung, sichere Entsorgung von Abfällen, Nutzung erneuerbarer Energien, Energieeinsparmaßnahmen oder der Lärmschutz. Am Standort München investieren wir in eine neue Photovoltaik-Anlage, die 2021 in Betrieb geht. 

Wir wollen unseren betrieblichen Umweltschutz ständig weiterentwickeln. Unabhängige externe Auditoren und Umweltgutachter prüfen einmal pro Jahr an den deutschen Standorten die Umsetzung und Einhaltung der einschlägigen Forderungen des Umweltschutzmanagements und geben Empfehlungen für Verbesserungen. Wir erzielen dabei stets sehr gute Ergebnisse, so auch 2020. Interne Begehungen und Audits ergänzen diese Überwachung. Das gilt auch für unsere Produktionsanlagen. Über regelmäßige Management Reviews kontrolliert die Unternehmensleitung das Umweltmanagement und nimmt Einfluss auf dessen Weiterentwicklung.

0
Bußgelder für Umweltvorfälle
graphic

Wir handeln nach dem Vorsorgeprinzip, um Umweltauswirkungen so weit wie möglich zu minimieren. Seit Jahren wirtschaftet das Unternehmen an den Produktionsstätten gesetzeskonform, auch 2020 sind keine Bußgelder für Umweltvorfälle gegen die MTU verhängt worden.

Für Betriebsstörungen mit negativen Umweltauswirkungen sind Gefahrenabwehrpläne und ein Notfallmanagement vorbereitet, ein Krisenstab ist installiert. Hinzu kommen regelmäßige Notfallübungen und Unterweisungen der Mitarbeiter:innen. Die MTU sorgt für einen umfassenden Brandschutz gemäß den gesetzlichen Auflagen.

Wie in den Vorjahren hat es auch 2020 an den Produktionsstandorten keine Vorfälle mit negativen Umweltauswirkungen gegeben, es sind auch keine Bußgelder aufgrund von Übertretungen oder Missachtung umweltrelevanter gesetzlicher Auflagen fällig gewesen oder nicht-monetäre Sanktionen gegen die MTU verhängt worden.

 

Umweltschutz im Dialog mit Stakeholdern

Wir stehen im Dialog mit unseren Anspruchsgruppen über Umweltauswirkungen der MTU. Stakeholder können über verfügbare Meldewege Beschwerden an uns richten und Missstände melden, denen wir unverzüglich nachgehen. Das gilt für Mitarbeiter:innen, Lieferanten, Anwohner:innen oder andere Anspruchsgruppen. Im Berichtsjahr ist keine Beschwerde hinsichtlich negativer Umweltauswirkungen an uns herangetragen worden. An den deutschen Standorten sind Umweltbeauftragte Ansprechpartner:innen für Fragen und Hinweise. → Mehr zum Stakeholder-Dialog

Mit → Umwelterklärungen für München, Hannover und Ludwigsfelde informieren wir die Öffentlichkeit jährlich über unsere Umweltauswirkungen und -maßnahmen. Darüber hinaus bieten wir Stakeholdern die Möglichkeit, über eine → Online-Umfrage zu Nachhaltigkeit Feedback zu geben. 

Wir engagieren uns für einen stärkeren Umweltschutz in der Wirtschaft in folgenden globalen und lokalen Initiativen:

Die Mitarbeiter:innen beziehen wir in einen aktiven Umweltschutz ein und fördern umweltbewusstes Verhalten durch Aktionstage, Informationskampagnen oder Trainings an allen Produktionsstandorten, auch zum Beispiel im Rahmen von Erstunterweisungen für Neuzugänge bei der MTU. Die Sensibilisierung aller Mitarbeiter:innen in Fertigung und Verwaltung ist Teil der Verhaltensgrundsätze zum Umweltschutz. Wir fördern umweltgerechtes Verhalten der Mitarbeiter:innen in lokalen Initiativen wie der Kampagne Zero am Hauptstandort München oder der Aktion Eco Facility in Rzeszów; in Kanada ist ein Sustainability Committee aktiv. Wir unterstützen zudem ein Engagement unserer Mitarbeiter:innen außerhalb der MTU, 2020 z.B. mit einem Aufruf zur Teilnahme am Climathon, einem weltweiten Brainstorming für ein besseres Klima.

Das Umweltreporting in diesem Nachhaltigkeitsbericht umfasst alle vollkonsolidierten Produktionsstandorte (München, Hannover, Ludwigsfelde, Rzeszów, Vancouver). Kleinere Bürostandorte sind im Vergleich dazu für unsere Umweltauswirkungen nicht wesentlich und werden daher nicht berücksichtigt.

 

Ausblick

Wir haben 2020 mit der Entwicklung einer ecoRoadmap zur Klimaneutralität der MTU am Standort München als Pilot begonnen. Den Standortbetrieb wollen wir bereits 2021 klimaneutral stellen. Die anderen deutschen Standorte sollen danach folgen und langfristig alle vollkonsolidierten Produktionsstätten einbezogen sein.


Services & Tools


Wertschöpfung
Back to Top
Ressourcenschutz
Feedback
X