2020 Sustainability Report

Our reporting concept

About this report

Each year, MTU Aero Engines AG compiles a sustainability report to comprehensively inform its stakeholders about corporate responsibility (CR) of an economic, environmental or social nature within the company. The report provides information about the company’s CR strategy, objectives and performance and also describes the priorities and progress made in 2020, building on the previous report. It supplements the non-financial statement in our Annual Report.


Reporting period and cycle

The reporting period covers financial year 2020 (January 1 to December 31). To better organize how information is presented and provide explanatory context for readers, activities from outside the reporting period are also cited in some cases. The report is published annually in German and English and will be available as an online report at → sustainability.mtu.de in May 2021. It is possible to obtain a → PDF download of the report. The non-financial statement is included in the Group management report of the Annual Report.

Scope of validity

The report covers all of the MTU Group sites that are treated as fully consolidated in the company’s financial reporting. The information and key performance indicators refer to the specified Group reporting entity, unless otherwise indicated. This includes the following locations:

Reporting standards and topics

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

The 2020 Sustainability Report was drawn up in compliance with the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) and meets the GRI standards (“Core” option). In accordance with these globally recognized sustainability reporting guidelines, we report on all required standard disclosures as well as on our management approaches for key topics and on selected indicators for each topic. We provide a GRI index for cross-referencing the report’s contents with the GRI standards. Tables and graphics with statements relevant to GRI have been appropriately marked. The relevant GRI standards are listed at the end of each page.

A materiality matrix presents the sustainability topics that are significant for the MTU Group and shows how they are weighted from an internal (X-axis) and external (Y-axis) perspective. It is checked and updated every year as part of a materiality analysis, and serves as the basis for selecting the key topics and performance indicators for this report.
→ Sustainability strategy and organization

Reporting in accordance with TCFD in preparation

In the future, we intend to follow the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) and appropriately present climate risks and opportunities for our business model as well as our contribution to the Paris Agreement and the EU Green Deal. This development is in preparation and we are currently collecting the necessary information. We will publish the information on our website.

UN Global Compact and Sustainable Development Goals

The 2020 Sustainability Report also provides information on progress made in accordance with the ten principles of the UN Global Compact. Cross-references to those principles can be found in the GRI index. The relevant principles are also listed at the end of each page. As a signatory of the UN Global Compact, we support the Sustainable Development Goals and want to help achieve them by 2030. We present our contribution to the SDGs under the relevant topics. A summary can be found under → Sustainable Development Goals.

Key figures and collection methods

All data and information for the reporting period was collected by the relevant departments using representative methods. Environmental KPIs are collected via the environmental management systems at the individual sites and then consolidated centrally in the CR database according to agreed criteria. The HR KPIs are collected and evaluated centrally at the headquarters in Munich for Germany, and locally for all non-German sites. Once the data is evaluated, it is sent to the CR database. All other data is requested from the CR coordinators in the relevant departments and compiled centrally in the CR database. Financial KPIs are collected and published in accordance with the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).

Supplementary information and previous reports

MTU regularly informs its stakeholders about sustainability issues. You can find supplementary information, more detailed analyses and older publications online:
→ Corporate responsibility at MTU
Compliance at MTU
MTU Annual Reports

In addition, we regularly report on important and/or current sustainability topics in central MTU publications and through various communication channels, including our social media platforms.
→ News and Media

External validation of the report

The CR reporting for this sustainability report was not subject to external auditing or validation. The majority of corporate processes that underlie data collection for CR reporting are certified. We have already reported selected key figures for topics of very high importance in our non-financial statement. These have been verified by auditors as part of a limited assurance engagement.

Contacts

Please address questions about the report to corporateresponsibility@mtu.de

Forward-looking statements

This report contains forward-looking statements. These statements reflect the current understanding, expectations and assumptions of MTU Aero Engines and are based on the information available to management at the present time. Forward-looking statements provide no guarantee that certain results and developments will actually occur in the future, and they entail risk and uncertainty. Consequently, for a variety of reasons, the actual future results of MTU Aero Engines may deviate substantially from the expectations and assumptions expressed here. MTU Aero Engines assumes no obligation to update the statements contained in this communication.

Wording

We have opted for gender-neutral language in MTU’s communications, so this Sustainability Report is written in an inclusive way. To ensure readability and consistency, we follow rules that we have established in German for inclusive language@MTU.


Services and Tools


Our 2020 business year
Back to Top
GRI and UN Global Compact index
Feedback
X

Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020

Unser Reportingkonzept

Über diesen Bericht

Mit dem jährlichen Nachhaltigkeitsbericht informiert die MTU Aero Engines AG ihre Stakeholder umfassend über Corporate Responsibility (CR) im Unternehmen in den Bereichen Ökonomie, Ökologie und Soziales. Der Bericht gibt Auskunft über unsere CR-Strategie, –Ziele und –Leistungen und zeigt darüber hinaus die Schwerpunkte und Fortschritte für das Jahr 2020 in Anknüpfung an den letzten Bericht. Er ergänzt unsere Nichtfinanzielle Erklärung im Geschäftsbericht.


Berichtszeitraum und -zyklus

Berichtszeitraum ist das Geschäftsjahr 2020 (1. Januar bis 31. Dezember). Aus Gründen der besseren Einordnung oder Verständlichkeit werden zum Teil auch Aktivitäten außerhalb des Berichtszeitraums herangezogen. Der Bericht erscheint in deutscher und englischer Sprache jährlich und wird als Online-Bericht unter → sustainability.mtu.de im Mai 2021 veröffentlicht. Ein → PDF-Download ist möglich. Die Nichtfinanzielle Erklärung ist im Konzernlagebericht des Geschäftsberichts integriert. 

Geltungsbereich

Der Bericht umfasst alle Standorte der MTU-Gruppe, die gemäß der Finanzberichterstattung des Unternehmens vollkonsolidiert werden. Informationen und Kennzahlen beziehen sich auf den angeführten Konsolidierungskreis, wenn nicht anders angegeben. Dieser umfasst die Standorte:

Berichtsstandards und Themen

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

Der Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 wurde in Übereinstimmung mit den GRI‑Standards der Global Reporting Initiative, Option Core, erstellt. Wir berichten entsprechend den Vorgaben dieses weltweit anerkannten Leitfadens für die Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung zu allen erforderlichen Standardangaben sowie zu unseren Managementansätzen für wesentliche Themen und zu ausgewählten Indikatoren je Thema. Ein GRI-Index enthält eine Zuordnung der Inhalte zu den GRI Standards. Tabellen und Grafiken mit Aussagen zum GRI sind entsprechend gekennzeichnet. Am Ende jeder Seite sind die relevanten GRI Standards angegeben. 

Eine Wesentlichkeitsmatrix stellt die bedeutenden Nachhaltigkeitsthemen für den MTU-Konzern und deren Gewichtung aus interner (X-Achse) und externer Perspektive (Y-Achse) dar. Die Matrix wird jährlich im Rahmen einer Wesentlichkeitsanalyse überprüft und aktualisiert, sie bildet die Grundlage für die Auswahl der wesentlichen Themen und Indikatoren für diesen Bericht.
→ Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und -organisation

Reporting nach TCFD in Vorbereitung

Wir wollen künftig nach den Empfehlungen der Task Force on Climated-related Disclosures (TCFD) Klimarisiken und -chancen für unser Geschäftsmodell und unseren Beitrag zum Pariser Klimaabkommen und zum EU Green Deal angemessen darstellen. Hier befinden wir uns derzeit mit der Zusammenstellung der Informationen in der Vorbereitung. Die Informationen werden wir auf unserer Website veröffentlichen.

UN Global Compact und Sustainable Development Goals

Der Nachhaltigkeitsbericht 2020 ist zugleich der Fortschrittsbericht nach den zehn Prinzipien des UN Global Compact. Im GRI-Index ist die Zuordnung der Inhalte zu den zehn Prinzipien des UN Global Compact enthalten. Am Ende jeder Seite sind zudem die relevanten Prinzipien genannt. Als Unterzeichner des UN Global Compact unterstützen wir die Sustainable Development Goals und wollen einen Beitrag zu den globalen Entwicklungszielen 2030 leisten. Unser Beitrag zu den SDGs ist auf den Themenseiten dargestellt und im Überblick unter → Globale Entwicklungsziele.

Kennzahlen und Erhebungsmethoden

Sämtliche Daten und Informationen wurden von den zuständigen Fachabteilungen mit repräsentativen Methoden für den Berichtszeitraum ermittelt. Umweltkennzahlen werden dezentral über die Umweltmanagementsysteme an den Standorten erhoben und dann nach abgestimmten Kriterien zentral in der CR-Datenbank konsolidiert. Die Personalkennzahlen werden für Deutschland zentral am Hauptsitz in München und für alle nicht-deutschen Standorte vor Ort erfasst, ausgewertet und in die CR-Datenbank überführt. Alle anderen Daten werden über die CR-Fachkoordinator:innen in den Fachbereichen angefragt und in der CR-Datenbank zentral zusammengefasst. Finanzkennzahlen werden in Übereinstimmung mit dem Internationalen Financial Reporting Standard (IFRS) erhoben und veröffentlicht.

Weiterführende Informationen und frühere Berichte

Die MTU informiert ihre Stakeholder regelmäßig über Nachhaltigkeitsthemen. Weiterführende Informationen, Ergänzungen, Vertiefungen oder frühere Publikationen finden sich unter:
→ Corporate Responsibility bei der MTU
→ Compliance bei der MTU
→ Geschäftsberichte der MTU

Darüber hinaus berichten wir regelmäßig in zentralen Unternehmenspublikationen und über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle, darunter auch auf unseren Social-Media-Plattformen über wichtige beziehungsweise aktuelle Nachhaltigkeitsthemen.
→ News and Media

Externe Bestätigung des Berichtes

Für den vorliegenden Nachhaltigkeitsbericht erfolgte keine externe Prüfung oder Bestätigung der CR-Berichterstattung. Der wesentliche Teil der Unternehmensprozesse, die die Grundlage der Datenerhebung für die CR-Berichterstattung bilden, sind zertifiziert. Ausgewählte Kennzahlen für Themen von sehr hoher Bedeutung haben wir bereits in der Nichtfinanziellen Erklärung berichtet. Diese sind von Wirtschaftsprüfern im Rahmen einer Limited Assurance geprüft.

Kontakt

Bitte richten Sie Fragen zum Bericht an corporateresponsibility@mtu.de

Zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen

Dieser Bericht enthält zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen. Diese Aussagen spiegeln die gegenwärtigen Auffassungen, Erwartungen und Annahmen der MTU Aero Engines wider und basieren auf Informationen, die der Geschäftsführung zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt zur Verfügung stehen. Zukunftsgerichtete Aussagen enthalten keine Gewähr für den Eintritt zukünftiger Ergebnisse und Entwicklungen und sind mit Risiken und Unsicherheiten verbunden. Die tatsächlichen künftigen Ergebnisse der MTU Aero Engines können daher aufgrund verschiedener Faktoren wesentlich von den hier geäußerten Erwartungen und Annahmen abweichen. Die MTU Aero Engines übernimmt keine Verpflichtung, die in dieser Mitteilung enthaltenen Aussagen zu aktualisieren.

Schreibweise

Wir haben uns für eine gendergerechte Sprache in den MTU-Medien entschieden, der vorliegende Nachhaltigkeitsbericht ist daher inklusiv geschrieben. Wir folgen dabei aus Gründen der Lesbarkeit und Einheitlichkeit Regeln, die wir für eine inklusive Sprache@MTU aufgestellt haben.


Services & Tools


Geschäftsjahr 2020
Back to Top
GRI-Index
Feedback
X