Employees and society

Education is the future – also for our company

Employee development

Our success depends on the skills and expertise of our workforce. That’s why we believe our employees should be given every opportunity to give their best. In this time of social change and in the current crisis, we want to remain innovative and sustainable, to continue promoting life-long learning and to actively support our managers as they lead MTU through the pandemic and to a successful future.


graphic

We support our managers in their work with their teams to successfully transition MTU into the new decade and shape sustainable technological change.

Innovative strength and competitiveness are key factors for success in the aviation industry. We firmly believe that continuous, intensive employee development is essential for MTU. This is why we are investing specifically in the training and development of our talent. We have never wavered from this, not even during the coronavirus pandemic. In many areas in which we are active, aviation authorities prescribe additional qualification measures, such as mandatory training on human factors (failure through human error). The opportunities for personal and professional development of our employees also make us an attractive employer for new minds and our own talented individuals.

In addition to industry-specific vocational training and dual work-study programs aimed at building up knowledge over the long term, we support and promote the development of all our employees—this is a key principle of corporate social responsibility as defined in the company’s Code of Conduct. Promoting vocational training opportunities and avenues for personal development for employees and managers is also enshrined in the MTU Principles and Group-wide HR strategy.

The head of human resources is responsible for the training and development of employees Group-wide. The Executive Board receives an annual update on training indicators and discusses selected training initiatives.

Our contribution to SDG 4

We actively support SDG 4 on “Quality education” as an important goal for sustainable development. High-quality employee development featuring attractive training opportunities continues to play a key role in securing our long-term position as a technology leader. In addition, we contribute to the SDG by training young people in various professions—ensuring they have reliable career opportunities especially in this time of uncertainty.

Quality education

→ Learn more about our contribution to the SDGs of the UN’s 2030 Agenda

The huge significance of training and development is reflected in the scale of opportunities we offer and how much we invest in them. This is based on our Group-wide works agreement in Germany, which guarantees access to training for all employees and requires management to conduct an interview with each employee once a year to discuss their development opportunities (training interview). The directive applies to 84.4% of the total workforce. At our three sites in Germany, the works council is also involved in employee training in accordance with the German Works Constitution Act (Betriebsverfassungsgesetz) and has a say in the annual training and development program. International sites have their own regulations; at MTU Aero Engines North America, for example, all employees receive an annual development plan.

3.0
million euros
graphic

That is how much we invested in employee training in 2020. Last year, it was important for us to ensure that skilled workers at all levels continued to receive training. To this end, we made increased use of digital and hybrid learning formats.

A welcome-on-board program provides new employees with important information about working at MTU. In the spirit of life-long learning, we then continue to support them in widening their know-how and developing their potential. The broad spectrum of opportunities reflects the various aspects of the world of work and MTU’s business. We establish training requirements annually in a standard process (training interview or divisional / company-level interviews). Employees evaluate training courses they have completed in a personal meeting with their manager, or in some cases via a feedback form. A training history documents completed training and development courses. Training officers are on hand to answer questions relating to needs-focused training.

An online learning portal gives employees the opportunity to organize their own development in consultation with their manager. Featuring multilingual training content in German, English and Polish, it is the cornerstone of multimedia learning, which in the current climate has become even more important. In Rzeszów, Poland, we have established an “MTU positive thinking & action” platform that provides links to free webinars, courses, specialist articles and podcasts relating to various aspects of training and development.

Are you ready?

In October 2020, we launched the Future Readiness Program (#FRP) to guide our employees into MTU’s digital future, in particular to show them the possibilities and opportunities digitalization has to offer. There are all kinds of offers available. For instance, employees can discuss specific topics such as machine learning with MTU experts and connect with colleagues at other locations. In addition, the #FRP provides insights into new applications that MTU already uses or are hot topics outside the company. The aim is to continuously promote a digital mindset among the workforce.

In 2020, we continued our extensive investment in employee training—despite the coronavirus pandemic and the resultant suspension of operations in spring. We invested EUR 3.0 million in training schemes Group-wide (2019: EUR 5.4 million; costs for internal and external training, excluding vocational training). The drop in training costs is due to the cancellation of many face-to-face courses and to the rapid development and increased uptake of online training and e-learning opportunities. In the first half of the year we first had make the tools ready for use so that they could almost entirely replace face-to-face training in the second half. As a result, the total number of training days was 17,717, which was lower than the previous year (2019: 27,174) and is also due to the upswing in digital short formats. This means that each employee completed an average of 1.6 training days in 2020.

Employee training GRI 404-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Training days (total)

17,717

27,174

29,468

Training days per employee (Group-wide)

1.6

2.5

3.0

Training days according to employee category (Germany) per manager

2.1

3,2

 

Training per employee category (Germany) per employee included in collective bargaining agreements

1.6

2,7

 

Proportion of women in training courses (Group-wide)

 16.3%

 16.1%

 14.3%

Figures exclude Vericor (USA); we started recording training days by employee category in 2019 for Germany, 2020: Group.

 

Supporting managers to develop – now more than ever

A focus in our employee development is on anchoring sustainable leadership skills in management. We are constantly providing our managers with orientation and inspiration through offers such as the “Forum Leadership” blog, which is updated every two weeks, as well as through regular online short formats, or “virtual leadership nuggets.” These offers address current challenges such as remote leadership, virtual teamwork and resilience in times of crisis. Change leadership has become one of the most important management skills. It follows that developing “managers of change” should be an integral part of our understanding of leadership with a view to strengthening MTU’s performance for the future.

We also offer development opportunities and programs across all levels in order to identify and best cultivate new talent, while supporting our existing managers in their professional development. A key tool is the Development Center, which, by way of exercises and interviews, supports talented employees in honing their individual development plan for assuming a management position. The process defined as part of the Development Center is designed to objectively evaluate talented individuals and promote their visibility throughout the company. Some 74% of new managers with leadership responsibilities appointed in 2020 had participated in Development Center activities. In the reporting year, Development Center activities could not go ahead as planned due to the coronavirus pandemic.

There are also special development programs for new managers: a Leadership Exploration Program for departmental managers as well as a First Leadership Program for managers at the team leader level. These offers were supplemented by the Leadership Curriculum 2020, for which training was held either online or in person in small groups.

MTU also offers new and experienced managers the opportunity to receive management transition or pit-stop coaching with optional reflection and sparring components.

Our programs

We have numerous Group-wide initiatives that we use to develop our managers and support them both professionally and personally:

We also offer programs for managers that are specific to the individual sites:

 

Knowledge management for the future

To ensure we offer our employees sustainable training, we are currently examining what new skills are needed most. As part of a preliminary study on the new Future Skills project, MTU is aiming to identify future essential skills for employees in production and assembly—in particular as relates to digitalization—by May 2021. In 2020, we successfully completed a knowledge management development project at our locations in Germany by producing an initial prototype. This project provided valuable insights for our next steps in designing New Work and sustainable knowledge management at MTU.

At MTU Aero Engines North America, our U.S. engineering facility, we have a program for entry-level engineering graduates that rotates them through a variety of departments focusing on different areas of engineering. Moreover, we cover a certain portion of tuition fees for employees there who return to university to pursue a master’s degree as part of their development plan.

 

We are committed to training continuity

At MTU, training is a central component of securing promising young employees. We offer young people in Germany a solid grounding in ten different trades as part of a dual work-study approach, while the places we offer for students taking dual-track courses of study offer different specializations. We pursue a holistic approach that goes beyond specialist topics to also cover social and ecological aspects, for instance through health and environment days or through corporate social responsibility. → For examples, see the section about Corporate social responsibility. Despite the economic crisis, we have continued training in Germany at the usual level, allowing some 100 young people to start their apprenticeships in 2020. According to the latest OECD education report, this correlates with good career prospects. In the study, vocational training in Germany following the dual-track approach was well-received.

Apprentices have made up a constant proportion of MTU’s workforce for many years; last year they accounted for 3.1% of the total workforce (2019: 2.8%); in Germany, where most of our apprenticeships take place, the share was 3.6%. As of the end of the year, MTU employed a total of 324 apprentices (2019: 293). In addition, we offer practical courses of study in collaboration with selected vocational academies.

For the new location in Eastern Europe, MTU Maintenance Serbia d.o.o, we are establishing a training concept based on the dual system used in Germany. MTU has signed an initial cooperation agreement with the Aviation Academy in Belgrade for this purpose.

Education initiatives in which MTU participates

In an effort to attract potential recruits early on, numerous MTU sites take part in educational initiatives including:

Outlook

Additional concepts for hybrid events are being prepared, e-learning and face-to-face training courses are to become more interlinked, and new, web-based training courses for Germany, Poland and the location under development in Serbia are in the pipeline.

When it comes to talent management, MTU is working to further improve the process to promote the visibility of talented employees across departments and locations and harness their potential.


Services and tools


Occupational health and safety
Back to Top
Diversity & inclusion
Feedback
X

Mitarbeiter:innen und Gesellschaft

Bildung ist Zukunft - auch für uns als Unternehmen

Mitarbeiterentwicklung

Unser Erfolg lebt von den Fähigkeiten und der Expertise unserer Mitarbeiter:innen. Daher sollen sie bei der MTU ihr Bestes geben können. In Zeiten des gesellschaftlichen Wandels und in der aktuellen Krise wollen wir innovativ und zukunftsfähig bleiben, weiterhin lebenslanges Lernen fördern und unsere Führungskräfte aktiv in ihrer Aufgabe unterstützen, die MTU gut durch die Krise und weiter erfolgreich in die Zukunft zu führen.


graphic

Wir unterstützen unsere Führungskräfte darin, mit ihren Teams die MTU auch im neuen Jahrzehnt erfolgreich voranzubringen und den technologischen und nachhaltigen Wandel zu gestalten.

Innovationskraft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sind in unserer Branche, der Luftfahrt, wesentliche Erfolgsfaktoren. Wir sind überzeugt: Eine kontinuierliche und intensive Mitarbeiterentwicklung ist für die MTU unerlässlich. Deshalb investieren wir gezielt in die Aus- und Weiterbildung und in die Entwicklung unserer Talente. Daran haben wir auch während der Coronavirus-Pandemie festgehalten. In vielen Bereichen unserer Aktivitäten schreiben darüber hinaus Luftfahrtbehörden Qualifizierungen vor, beispielsweise Pflichtschulungen zu Human Factors (Fehler durch menschliches Versagen). Die Möglichkeiten zur persönlichen und fachlichen Weiterentwicklung unserer Mitarbeiter:innen macht uns zudem als Arbeitgeber attraktiv für neue Köpfe und eigene Talente.

Neben branchenspezifischen Berufsausbildungen und dualen Studiengängen zum langfristigen Aufbau von Wissen unterstützen und fördern wir die Weiterbildung aller Mitarbeiter:innen – dies ist ein Grundsatz der sozialen Verantwortung aus unseren Verhaltensgrundsätzen. Im Leitbild und in der konzernweiten Personalstrategie sind die Weiterentwicklung der beruflichen Qualifikation und individuelle Perspektiven für Mitarbeiter:innen und Führungskräfte ebenfalls festgehalten. 

Für Aus- und Weiterbildung zeichnet konzernweit der Personalleiter verantwortlich. Der Gesamtvorstand wird jährlich zu Bildungskennzahlen informiert, ausgewählte Qualifizierungsinitiativen werden im Vorstand diskutiert.

Unser Beitrag zu SDG 4

Wir unterstützen aktiv das SDG 4 „Hochwertige Bildung“ als ein wichtiges Ziel für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung. Eine hochwertige Mitarbeiterentwicklung mit attraktiven Schulungsangeboten spielt für uns weiterhin eine zentrale Rolle für die langfristige Ausrichtung als ein führender Technologiekonzern. Darüber hinaus leisten wir mit der Ausbildung junger Menschen in unterschiedlichen Berufen einen Beitrag zum SDG und können dadurch in diesen unsicheren Zeiten eine verlässliche berufliche Perspektive geben.

Hochwertige Bildung

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs aus der UN-Agenda 2030

Die große Bedeutung von Aus- und Weiterbildung zeigt sich in unseren umfangreichen Angeboten und Aufwendungen. Grundlage ist eine Konzernbetriebsvereinbarung in Deutschland, mit der wir den Zugang zu Bildung für alle Mitarbeiter:innen garantieren und Führungskräfte einmal im Jahr zu einem Dialog mit ihren Mitarbeiter:innen über Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten (Qualifizierungsgespräch) verpflichten. Die Richtlinie gilt für 84,4% der Gesamtbelegschaft. An den drei deutschen Standorten ist zudem der Betriebsrat in die Mitarbeiterqualifizierung nach dem Betriebsverfassungsgesetz involviert und bestimmt über das jährliche Bildungsprogramm mit. Auch ausländische Standorte haben entsprechende Regelungen; bei der MTU Aero Engines North America erhalten zum Beispiel alle Mitarbeiter:innen jährlich einen Development Plan.

3,0
Mio. Euro
graphic

So viel haben wir 2020 in die Bildung unserer Mitarbeiter:innen investiert. Wichtig war uns im vergangenen Jahr, dass die Qualifizierung von Fachkräften aller Ebenen weiterhin sichergestellt ist. Daher sind verstärkt digitale und hybride Lernformate zum Einsatz gekommen. 

Unsere neuen Mitarbeiter:innen bekommen über ein Welcome-on-Board-Programm wichtige Informationen zum Arbeitsleben bei der MTU. Danach unterstützen wir sie im Sinne des lebenslangen Lernens darin, ihre Kompetenzen zu erhöhen und weiterzuentwickeln. Das breite Spektrum an Angeboten spiegelt die unterschiedlichen Aspekte der Arbeitswelt und des MTU-Geschäfts wider. Die Bildungsbedarfe legen wir jährlich in einem Regelprozess fest (Qualifizierungsgespräch oder über Bereichs-/Unternehmensinterviews). Mitarbeiter:innen evaluieren absolvierte Schulungen im Gespräch mit ihrem Vorgesetzten, teilweise auch über einen Feedbackbogen. Eine Bildungshistorie dokumentiert absolvierte Trainings und Qualifizierungen. Bildungsberater:innen stehen für Fragen zu bedarfsgerechten Schulungen zur Verfügung.

Ein Online-Lernportal bietet den Mitarbeiter:innen die Möglichkeit, die eigene Weiterbildung in Abstimmung mit dem Vorgesetzten selbst zu organisieren. Es umfasst mehrsprachige Schulungsinhalte in Deutsch, Englisch und Polnisch und ist ein wichtiger Grundstein für den Ausbau multimedialen Lernens, das in der aktuellen Entwicklung noch mehr an Bedeutung gewonnen hat. In Rzeszów, Polen, haben wir eine Plattform „MTU positive thinking & action" aufgebaut mit Links zu freien Webinaren, Trainings, Fachbeiträgen und Podcasts zu Qualifizierungsaspekten.

Are you ready?

Mit dem Future Readiness Program (#FRP), das wir im Oktober 2020 gestartet haben, wollen wir unsere Mitarbeiter:innen mit in die digitale Zukunft der MTU nehmen und ihnen vor allem zeigen, welche Chancen und Möglichkeiten die Digitalisierung bietet. Dazu gibt es verschiedene Angebote. Mitarbeiter:innen können zum Beispiel zu einzelnen Themen wie Machine Learning mit Expert:innen der MTU diskutieren und sich standortübergreifend vernetzen. Darüber hinaus gibt das #FRP Einblick in neue Anwendungen, die bereits in der MTU eingesetzt oder außerhalb des Unternehmens viel diskutiert werden. Ziel ist es, das digitale Mindset in der Belegschaft kontinuierlich zu fördern. 

Wir haben auch 2020 umfangreich in die Bildung unserer Mitarbeiter:innen investiert - trotz Coronavirus-Pandemie und damit einhergehender Betriebsunterbrechung im Frühjahr. Für alle Bildungsmaßnahmen lag die Höhe konzernweit bei 3,0 Mio. Euro (2019: 5,4 Mio. Euro; Kosten für interne und externe Trainings, ohne Berufsausbildung). Der Rückgang der Bildungskosten ist auf die Stornierung von vielen Präsenztrainings sowie die schnelle Entwicklung und verstärkte Nutzung von Online-Trainings und E-Learning zurückzuführen. Die Tools mussten wir im ersten Halbjahr erst zur Einsatzreife bringen, damit sie in der zweiten Jahreshälfte die Präsenzschulungen nahezu vollständig ersetzen konnten. Infolgedessen lag die Summe der Bildungstage mit 17.717 unter dem Vorjahreswert (2019: 27.174), was auch auf vermehrte digitale Kurzformate zurückzuführen ist. Daraus ergibt sich ein durchschnittliches Bildungsniveau von 1,6 Bildungstagen pro Mitarbeiter:in für 2020.

Mitarbeiterqualifizierung GRI 404-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Bildungstage gesamt

17.717

27.174

29.468

Bildungstage je Mitarbeiter:in

1,6

2,5

3,0

Bildungstage nach Mitarbeiterkategorie je Führungskraft

2,1

3,2

 

Bildungstage nach Mitarbeiterkategorie je Tarifmitarbeiter:in

1,6

2,7

 

Anteil Frauen an Bildungsmaßnahmen

 16,3%

 16,1%

 14,3%

Kennzahlen ohne Vericor/USA; mit der Erfassung von Bildungstagen je Mitarbeiterkategorie haben wir 2019 für Deutschland begonnen, 2020: Konzern.

 

Führungskräfte entwickeln - gerade jetzt

Ein Fokus unserer Mitarbeiterentwicklung liegt darauf, zukunftsfähige Führungskompetenzen im Management zu verankern. Orientierung und Impulse erhalten Führungskräfte kontinuierlich über Angebote wie den Führungsblog „Forum Leadership“ mit zweiwöchigen Updates und über regelmäßige Online-Kurzschulungen, so genannte virtuelle Leadership Nuggets. Die Angebote adressieren aktuelle Herausforderungen wie Remote-Leadership, virtuelle Teamarbeit oder Resilienz in Krisenzeiten. Führen in Zeiten des Wandels (Change Leadership) ist zu einer wichtigen Führungskompetenz geworden, die Weiterentwicklung der Führungskräfte zu „Manager:innen des Wandels“ soll daher integraler Bestandteil unseres Führungsverständnisses werden, um die Leistungsfähigkeit der MTU für die Zukunft zu stärken.

Darüber hinaus bieten wir über alle Ebenen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten und Programme an, um Talente zu identifizieren und bestmöglich zu fördern sowie bereits ernannte Führungskräfte in ihrer beruflichen Weiterentwicklung zu unterstützen. Ein zentrales Instrument ist das Development Center, das Potenzialträger:innen im Konzern durch Übungen und Interviews unterstützt, ihren individuellen Entwicklungsplan für die Übernahme einer Leitungsfunktion zu konkretisieren. Der defi­nierte Prozess im Rahmen des Development Center hat das Ziel, Talente objektiv einzuschätzen und sie für das Unternehmen übergreifend sichtbar zu machen. Rund 74% der 2020 neu ernannten Führungskräfte mit Leitungsfunktion haben an einem Development Center teilgenommen. Aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie konnten im Berichtsjahr die Development Center nicht wie geplant stattfinden.

Für kürzlich ernannte Führungskräfte gibt es darüber hinaus spezielle Entwicklungsprogramme: ein Leadership-Exploration-Programm für Führungskräfte auf Abteilungsleiterebene sowie ein First-Leadership-Programm für Führungskräfte auf Teamleiterebene. Ergänzend zu diesen Angeboten fand das Leadership Curriculum 2020 in virtuellen und Kleingruppen-Präsenztrainings statt.

Die MTU bietet neuen und erfahrenen Führungskräften auch die Möglichkeit zum Coaching über ein Führungswechsel- beziehungsweise Boxenstopp-Coaching mit der Möglichkeit zur Reflexion und zum Sparring.

Unsere Programme

Wir haben zahlreiche konzernweite Initiativen, mit denen wir unsere Führungskräfte entwickeln und sie sowohl fachlich als auch persönlich unterstützen:

Darüber hinaus bieten wir standortspezifische Programme für Führungskräfte:

 

Ein Wissensmanagement für die Zukunft

Um die Bildung der Mitarbeiter:innen zukunftsfähig auszurichten, untersuchen wir derzeit wichtige Kompetenzbedarfe. Im Rahmen einer Vorstudie zum neuen Projekt Future Skills sollen bis Mai 2021 künftige Schlüsselkompetenzen der Mitarbeiter:innen in der Fertigung und Montage vor allem in Bezug auf Digitalisierung identifiziert werden. Ein Projekt an den deutschen Standorten zur Weiterentwicklung des Wissensmanagements haben wir 2020 erfolgreich mit einem ersten Prototypen abgeschlossen. Es lieferte wichtige Hinweise für die nächsten Schritte für eine Ausgestaltung von New Work und ein zukunftsfähiges Wissensmanagement bei der MTU.

An unserem Engineering-Standort MTU Aero Engines North America können Ingenieur:innen nach der Universität über ein Rotationsprogramm mit Stationen in verschiedenen Fachdisziplinen in den Beruf einsteigen. Darüber hinaus übernehmen wir dort Studiengebühren bis zu einer gewissen Höhe für Mitarbeiter:innen, die im Rahmen ihres Development Plans für einen Master an die Hochschule zurückkehren. 

 

Wir setzen auf Kontinuität in der Ausbildung

Die Ausbildung ist bei uns ein zentraler Bestandteil der Nachwuchssicherung. Wir bieten jungen Menschen in Deutschland eine fundierte Ausbildung nach dem dualen Prinzip in zehn verschiedenen Berufen, darüber hinaus haben die dualen Studienplätze bei uns noch unterschiedliche Vertiefungen. Dabei verfolgen wir einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz und vermitteln neben fachlichen Inhalten auch soziale und ökologische Aspekte unter anderem in Gesundheits- und Umwelttagen oder in sozialen Engagements → Beispiele haben wir beim Thema „Gesellschaftliches Engagement" dargestellt. Wir haben die Ausbildung in Deutschland trotz wirtschaftlicher Krise in gewohntem Maße fortgesetzt und rund 100 jungen Menschen im Jahr 2020 einen Ausbildungsstart ermöglicht. Nach dem letzten Bildungsbericht der OECD sind damit gute Aussichten für den beruflichen Lebensweg verbunden. In der Studie erhielt die betriebliche Ausbildung nach dem dualen Prinzip in Deutschland gute Noten.

Unsere Ausbildungsquote liegt seit Jahren auf einem konstanten Niveau, im vergangenen Jahr bei 3,1% gemessen an der Gesamtbelegschaft (2019: 2,8%) - in Deutschland, wo wir schwerpunktmäßig ausbilden, betrug der Anteil 3,6%. Insgesamt waren zum Jahresende 324 Auszubildende bei der MTU beschäftigt (2019: 293). Darüber hinaus bieten wir praxisnahe Studienplätze in Zusammenarbeit mit ausgewählten Berufsakademien.

Für den neuen Standort in Osteuropa, die MTU Maintenance Serbia d.o.o, wird eine Ausbildung nach dem Vorbild des dualen Systems in Deutschland weiter vorbereitet. Hierfür hat die MTU eine erste Kooperationsvereinbarung mit der Aviation Academy in Belgrad abgeschlossen.

Bildungsinitiativen mit MTU-Beteiligung

Zahlreiche MTU-Standorte beteiligen sich an Bildungsinitiativen, um früh potenziellen Nachwuchs anzusprechen, wie etwa:

Ausblick

Weitere Konzepte für hybride Veranstaltungen sind in Vorbereitung, E-Learning und Präsenztrainings sollen stärker verknüpft und neue webbasierte Trainings für Deutschland, Polen und den im Aufbau befindlichen Standort Serbien entwickelt werden.

Im Talentmanagement arbeitet die MTU an einer Weiterentwicklung des Potenzialprozesses, um Potenziale in Zukunft noch besser bereichs- und standortübergreifend sichtbar zu machen und einsetzen zu können.


Services & Tools


Arbeitssicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz
Back to Top
Vielfalt und Inklusion
Feedback
X