Product stewardship

Ensuring high standards

Product quality and flight safety

Safety first: For us, safe flight operation is much more than just a legal requirement. In aviation, it is fundamentally the highest priority. That’s why we place high demands on quality and safety in our processes along the entire value chain. Not least because reliable and high-quality products are our trademark.


graphic graphic

Our products are created in accordance with uniformly high quality standards and safety regulations, and are subject to a rigorous certification process by the regulatory authorities. In 2020, the GE9X engine was certified to power the Boeing 777X family. We provide the engine’s turbine center frame.

Safety is imperative in aviation, and legal requirements concerning safety are subject to strict monitoring by the relevant authorities. This is why product quality and flight safety are just as important to us as well. The company must comply with the legal requirements imposed upon it as an organization that develops, manufactures and maintains products, parts and equipment for the aviation industry. These include aviation-authority licenses, approvals and certifications as well as safety and environmental requirements as legally mandated by regulatory authorities. Through stringent quality standards, we ensure that these are implemented across the Group and at all levels of the value chain in accordance with the law, thus adding value for our customers and partners. Safe mobility solutions play an important role in the sustainable development of both society and the economy.

A Group-wide integrated management system (IMS) ensures compliance with laws and internal regulations and clearly assigns responsibilities within the company. One principle of the IMS policy is that “safety takes priority in what we do.” The quality framework is enshrined in a management manual that is binding for all employees and managers across the Group. The company’s dedicated quality department, Corporate Quality, is directly subordinate to the Chief Operating Officer (COO) and reports quarterly to the Executive Board on quality aspects and flight-related incidents. MTU Safety Management in accordance with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standard is part of the IMS and defines how to handle safety-related air-traffic events. Appropriate organizational structures and responsibilities, such as a Flight Safety Board and a Flight Safety Manager, have also been established. High quality standards together with product safety and reliability are enshrined in the MTU Principles as key corporate objectives. Through independent, accredited external auditors, we regularly validate and certify our IMS.

 

The entire lifecycle in view

We take into account all safety and environmental requirements of regulatory authorities in the early stages of developing new engines for later use, and compliance must be documented as part of the certification process. We employ a comprehensive testing program involving test rigs and test series to validate the safe flight operation of our products. This includes being able to ensure safe operation during a hailstorm or a bird strike (following a bird ingestion event) and complying with strict limits on pollutants and noise emissions. MTU components frequently exceed aviation authority requirements, because our customers demand high standards when it comes to fail-safe operation and eco-efficiency. In addition, our manufacturing and maintenance of engine parts and modules meets all required occupational safety and environmental protection standards.

Sustainability over the entire lifecycle of an engine

graphic

Engine materials such as titanium, nickel and alloying elements such as platinum or rhenium are of high value, and this explains why aircraft engines have very high recycling rates. As a vendor, we have no direct influence over the scrapping of engines, which is carried out by specialist companies.

graphic
A treasure trove with wings: Too good to throw away—decommissioned aircraft contain spare parts, valuable materials and even materials for making stylish upcycled furniture. Our story about aircraft recycling in AEROREPORT, MTU’s aviation magazine

We examine our engine modules for their impact on the environment, health and safety throughout their development, production and operation lifecycles. Accordingly, we cover all major stages of a product’s service life. The key to our continuous progress is the development phase. Our mission is to design every new engine we collaborate on so that it is greener, quieter and more fuel-efficient than its predecessor.

We use only fault-free and clearly identified components that have been approved by the appropriate aviation authority and are based on approved development documentation. They must also have been produced or maintained in compliance with aviation regulatory processes by a company officially authorized to do so.

0
breaches of compliance
graphic

In 2020, we again didn’t record a single breach of legal or internal compliance regulations with regard to the quality and safety of our products.

The aviation sector has strict rules governing documentation in order to verify the airworthiness of components and engines. There must be no gaps in documentation for the product’s entire service life. We hold our suppliers to the same standards and audit them regularly to ensure compliance. To ensure quality and safety requirements are upheld, we have implemented comprehensive monitoring and testing processes along the entire value chain. Safety-critical components (engine components are categorized into various safety classes) are subjected to particularly rigorous testing to verify their technical quality. Strict requirements also apply to materials. Since fail-safe materials are a basic prerequisite for aviation safety, all engine components, including all materials we use, must be approved by the aviation authorities after undergoing extensive test series.

In the reporting year, once again there were no breaches of statutory regulations regarding compliance in connection with the purchase or operation of our products that resulted in a fine, sanction or warning for MTU.

Constantly improving our quality management system

At MTU, we develop and refine our quality system together with our standards and regulations on an ongoing basis. This involves applying the ideas that emerge, for example, from collaboration in the Aero Engine Supplier Quality Group (AESQ) or from regular exchanges of experience and information among our quality managers. Continuous development primarily concerns MTU’s body of rules and regulations, its internal quality reporting system and especially the digitalization of quality processes. Here we have started a digitalization project for quality data, particularly given that accurate data must be available for a digital twin or virtual engine.

We include all our employees in our high quality standards and provide key information across all locations through our Q.net quality network. In addition, several times a year we raise employees’ awareness of quality issues across the Group by providing them with relevant information (Q Info bulletins and lessons learned). We provide managers and employees with training on quality issues specific to the individual sites. All employees receive IMS training. In addition, we are committed to a positive no-blame culture at MTU, characterized by openness and collaboration, and provide regular training on this subject.

We have customers and authorities conduct regular internal and external audits of quality issues to ensure that the uniformly high standards within the company are adhered to and that they comply with the regulatory requirements. Last year, some of the audits took place online in remote mode, and their number also had to be reduced due to the necessary operational restrictions.

 

High customer satisfaction is our goal

A high level of product quality and safety is crucial for customer satisfaction and our competitiveness. “We increase the satisfaction of our customers” was an overarching corporate objective for 2020. The corresponding secondary objectives specified a measurable increase in the quality of our services. IMS, our certified quality management system, supports us in ensuring customer satisfaction, process orientation and continuous improvement in all phases of development, production and maintenance. IMS takes into account, for example, the requirements of the standards ISO 9001, EN/AS9100, ISO 14001/EMAS and ISO 45001, and serves as a model approach in the aviation industry.

We set great store by customer complaints as an indicator of their satisfaction with the quality of MTU products. We follow up and analyze all customer complaints relating to products delivered in substandard quality. Appropriate measures are then defined and implemented so as to permanently eliminate the cause of the defects. In 2020, our goal was to lower the number of customer complaints, or at least keep it stable, at all locations. For the majority of sites, customer complaints were down or constant compared with the previous year.

In the 2021 business year, we want to further increase customer satisfaction and stabilize product quality at a high level.

Measuring customer satisfaction

MTU Maintenance offers maintenance and additional services for aircraft engines and industrial gas turbines, and is thus active in the end-customer business. Direct interaction with customers, specifically airlines, leasing companies and energy producers, forms the basis of customer care. Once a quarter, we use an IT-based “voice of the customer” module to measure current customer satisfaction levels for our Hannover, Ludwigsfelde and Vancouver sites and for all main products. Each customer has the option of providing feedback about product quality, service, logistics and contractual terms. We use this valuable feedback to identify areas for improvement and initiate measures accordingly. Doing so allows us to continuously optimize our performance, increase customer satisfaction and stay competitive.

In addition, MTU Maintenance Lease Services runs its own system for measuring satisfaction in the engine leasing and asset management business.

More information about dialogue with our stakeholders

MTU employees honored with a customer’s Leadership Award

In the OEM business unit (new and spare parts), our strategic partner Pratt & Whitney presented its 2020 Leadership Award for outstanding performance to a cross-company team that included MTU employees from various locations. The team received the award for streamlining the replacement of individual components by adopting an efficient and flexible engine disassembly process. MTU Maintenance Hannover won the 2021 Deutscher Ideenmanagementpreis (German Ideas Management Award) in the category “Best Idea in Production and Technology” for its idea that made this campaign a reality. The Deutsches Institut für Ideen- und Innovationsmanagement (German Institute for Idea and Innovation Management) confers the award on companies and individuals who are role models in the field of idea management. A jury of experts from science and industry evaluated the submitted proposals.


Services and tools


Product stewardship
Back to Top
Climate impact of aircraft engines
Feedback
X

Produktverantwortung

Hohe Standards gewährleisten

Produktqualität und Flugsicherheit

Safety first – Ein sicherer Flugbetrieb ist für uns weit mehr als nur eine gesetzliche Forderung. Der Anspruch genießt in der Luftfahrt grundsätzlich oberste Priorität. Daher stellen wir hohe Anforderungen an Qualität und Sicherheit in unseren Prozessen über die gesamte Wertschöpfung. Nicht zuletzt deshalb, weil zuverlässige und qualitativ hochwertige Produkte unser Markenzeichen sind.


graphic graphic

Unsere Produkte entstehen nach einheitlich hohen Qualitätsstandards und Sicherheitsvorschriften und werden in einem aufwändigen Verfahren von Zulassungsbehörden zertifiziert. Das GE9X für die Boeing 777X-Familie hat 2020 die Flugzulassung erhalten. Für das Triebwerk fertigen wir das Turbinenzwischengehäuse.

Sicherheit spielt in der Luftfahrt eine sehr wichtige Rolle. Die einschlägigen gesetzlichen Vorgaben unterliegen der strengen Überwachung durch die jeweils zuständigen Behörden. Daher haben Produktqualität und Flugsicherheit auch für uns eine sehr hohe Bedeutung. Die MTU muss als Entwicklungs-, Herstellungs- und Instandhaltungsbetrieb von Erzeugnissen, Teilen und Ausrüstungen für die Luftfahrt gesetzliche Anforderungen strikt erfüllen. Dazu gehören luftfahrtrechtliche Zulassungen, Genehmigungen und Zertifizierungen sowie gesetzliche Sicherheits- und Umweltvorschriften der Zulassungsbehörden. Mit hohen Qualitätsstandards stellen wir die gesetzeskonforme Umsetzung im gesamten Unternehmen und über alle Stufen unserer Wertschöpfung sicher und tragen damit zum Mehrwert unserer Kunden und Partner bei. Sichere Mobilitätslösungen spielen bei einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft eine wichtige Rolle.

Ein konzernweites integriertes Managementsystem (IMS) sorgt dafür, dass die regulativen Vorgaben und internen Regelungen eingehalten werden und die Zuständigkeiten im Unternehmen klar geregelt sind. Einer der Grundsätze der IMS-Politik lautet: „Sicherheit hat Vorrang bei unserem Handeln.“ Das Regelwerk ist für alle Mitarbeiter:innen und Führungskräfte verbindlich und konzernweit in einem Managementhandbuch verankert. Ein eigens dafür zuständiges Center, Corporate Quality, ist direkt dem Vorstand Technik (COO) unterstellt und berichtet quartalsweise an den Gesamtvorstand zu Qualitätsaspekten und Flugvorfällen. Ein MTU Safety Management nach dem internationalen Standard der International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) ist Teil des IMS und legt den Umgang mit sicherheitsrelevanten Ereignissen im Flugverkehr fest. Dazu gehören auch entsprechende Organisationsstrukturen und Verantwortlichkeiten wie ein Flugsicherheitsgremium oder ein Flugsicherheitsmanager. Hohe Qualität sowie die Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit der Produkte sind im MTU-Leitbild als wichtige Unternehmensziele festgehalten. Über unabhängige, akkreditierte Prüfstellen validieren und zertifizieren wir regelmäßig unser IMS.

 

Den gesamten Lebenszyklus im Blick

Wir berücksichtigen in der Produktentwicklung alle gesetzlichen Sicherheits- und Umweltvorschriften der Zulassungsbehörden für die spätere Nutzung neuer Triebwerke und weisen deren Einhaltung im Rahmen der Zertifizierung nach. Mit einem umfangreichen Erprobungsprogramm validieren wir mit Hilfe von Versuchsaufbauten und Testreihen den sicheren Flugbetrieb unserer Produkte. Dazu zählen zum Beispiel ein sicherer Betrieb bei Hagel oder Vogelschlag (infolge des versehentlichen Einsaugens eines Vogels ins Triebwerk) und die Einhaltung strikter Grenzwerte für Schadstoff- und Lärmemissionen. MTU-Komponenten gehen häufig über die Anforderungen der Luftfahrtbehörden hinaus, da unsere Kunden hohe Standards hinsichtlich Ausfallsicherheit und Ökoeffizienz fordern. Bei der Herstellung und Instandhaltung von Triebwerksteilen und Modulen erfüllen wir zudem alle Forderungen zum Arbeits- und Umweltschutz.

Nachhaltigkeit über den gesamten Lebenszyklus eines Triebwerks

graphic

Triebwerksmaterialien wie Titan, Nickel und Legierungselemente wie Platin oder Rhenium besitzen eine hohe Wertigkeit, die Wiederverwendungsrate bei Flugtriebwerken ist daher hoch. Die Entsorgung durch spezialisierte Unternehmen können wir als Zulieferer nicht direkt beeinflussen.

graphic
Schatzkästchen mit Flügeln: Viel zu schade zum Wegwerfen -  Ausgediente Flugzeuge enthalten Ersatzteile, Wertstoffe und sogar Baumaterialien für stylische Upcycling-Möbel. Unsere Story zum Flugzeugrecycling im AEROREPORT, dem Luftfahrtmagazin der MTU

Wir bewerten unsere Antriebsmodule über den gesamten Lebenszyklus – Entwicklung, Produktion und Betrieb – auf ihre Auswirkungen auf Umwelt, Gesundheit und Sicherheit. Wir decken damit alle wesentlichen Stadien eines Produktlebens ab. Maßgeblich für unseren kontinuierlichen Fortschritt ist die Entwicklungsphase. Dabei gilt für uns: Jedes neue Triebwerk, an dem wir mitarbeiten, fliegt kraftstoffeffizienter, grüner und leiser als sein Vorgängermodell.

Wir verwenden nur einwandfreie und klar identifizierte Bauteile, die von den zuständigen Luftfahrtbehörden zugelassen sind und auf genehmigten Entwicklungsunterlagen basieren. Zudem wurden sie in Übereinstimmung mit luftfahrtrechtlichen Regeln von dafür behördlich genehmigten Betrieben hergestellt oder instandgehalten.

0
Compliance-Verstöße
graphic

Wir verzeichnen für 2020 erneut keinen Compliance-Verstoß gegen Rechtsvorschriften oder interne Richtlinien hinsichtlich Qualität und Sicherheit unserer Produkte.

Eine der branchenspezifischen Vorgaben ist die lückenlose Dokumentation der sogenannten Lufttüchtigkeit von Bauteilen und Triebwerken über die gesamte Lebensdauer. Wir geben diese Anforderungen an unsere Lieferanten weiter und überprüfen die Einhaltung in regelmäßigen Audits. Für die Einhaltung der Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsanforderungen haben wir umfassende Prüf- und Monitoringprozesse entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette etabliert. Sicherheitskritische Bauteile (Triebwerksteile sind in verschiedene Sicherheitsklassen eingestuft) werden auf ihre technische Qualität hin besonders intensiv geprüft. Strenge Anforderungen gelten auch für Werkstoffe. Fehlerfreie Werkstoffe sind eine Grundvoraussetzung für die Sicherheit im Luftverkehr, alle eingesetzten Materialien müssen daher von den Luftfahrtbehörden zugelassen sein und durchlaufen vorab umfangreiche Testreihen.

Im zurückliegenden Geschäftsjahr haben wir erneut keinen Compliance-Vorstoß gegen Rechtsvorschriften oder interne Richtlinien hinsichtlich Auswirkungen unserer Produkte und Dienstleistungen auf Gesundheit oder Sicherheit zu verzeichnen, der ein Bußgeld, eine Sanktion oder eine Mahnung zur Folge gehabt hätte.

 

Wir entwickeln unser Qualitätsmanagement ständig weiter

Das Qualitätswesen der MTU, seine Standards und Regelwerke entwickeln wir kontinuierlich weiter. Dafür nutzen wir Impulse zum Beispiel aus der Mitarbeit in der AESQ (Aero Engine Supplier Quality Group), einem internationalen Qualitätsgremium der Triebwerksindustrie, oder aus dem regelmäßigen Erfahrungs- und Informationsaustausch unserer Qualitätsmanager:innen. Die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung betrifft in erster Linie das Regelwerk und interne Qualitätsreporting sowie im besonderen Maße die Digitalisierung der Qualitätsprozesse. Hier haben wir ein Digitalisierungsprojekt für Qualitätsdaten gestartet, auch vor dem Hintergrund, dass für einen Digital Twin bzw. eine Virtual Engine akkurate Daten vorliegen müssen.

In unseren hohen Qualitätsanspruch beziehen wir alle Mitarbeiter:innen ein. Mit einem Qualitätsnetzwerk (Q.net) stellen wir grundlegende Informationen standortübergreifend zur Verfügung. Darüber hinaus sensibilisieren wir die Mitarbeiter:innen mehrmals im Jahr konzernweit mit einer themenbezogenen Qualitätsinformation (Q-Info bzw. Lessons Learned). Wir schulen Führungskräfte und Mitarbeiter:innen standortspezifisch zu Qualitätsaspekten. Alle Mitarbeiter:innen werden zum IMS geschult. Darüber hinaus setzen wir uns in der MTU für eine positive Fehlerkultur ein, die von Offenheit und Kooperation geprägt ist, und bieten dazu regelmäßig Schulungen.

Mit regelmäßigen internen und externen Audits durch Kunden und Behörden zu Qualitätssachverhalten stellen wir sicher, dass die einheitlich hohen Standards im Unternehmen eingehalten werden und diese konform mit den regulativen Vorgaben sind. Die Audits fanden im vergangenen Jahr zum Teil via Online-Kommunikation im Remote-Modus statt, auch musste ihre Anzahl aufgrund der erforderlichen Betriebseinschränkungen reduziert werden.

 

Hohe Kundenzufriedenheit ist unser Ziel

Eine hohe Produktqualität und -sicherheit trägt entscheidend zur Zufriedenheit unserer Kunden und zu unserer Wettbewerbsfähigkeit bei. „Wir steigern die Zufriedenheit unserer Kunden“ lautete ein übergeordnetes Unternehmensziel für 2020. Die entsprechenden Unterziele beinhalteten, dass die Qualität der Leistungen messbar gesteigert ist. Unser zertifiziertes Qualitätsmanagementsystem IMS unterstützt die Kundenzufriedenheit, Prozessorientierung und ständige Verbesserung in allen Phasen der Entwicklung, Herstellung und Instandhaltung. Es berücksichtigt beispielsweise die Anforderungen aus den Normen ISO9001, EN/AS9100, ISO 14001/EMAS und ISO 45001 und hat in der Luftfahrt Vorbildfunktion.

Als ein Indikator für die Zufriedenheit unserer Kunden in Bezug auf die Qualität der MTU-Produkte erachten wir die Kundenreklamationen. Wir verfolgen und analysieren alle Kundenreklamationen hinsichtlich fehlerhafter Qualität der ausgelieferten Produkte. In der Folge werden geeignete Maßnahmen definiert und umgesetzt, um die Fehlerursachen dauerhaft zu beheben. Wir hatten uns für 2020 vorgenommen, die Zahl der Kundenreklamationen an jedem Standort zu senken oder zumindest konstant zu halten. Für die Mehrzahl der Standorte waren die Kundenreklamationen rückläufig bzw. konstant gegenüber dem Vorjahr.

Auch im Geschäftsjahr 2021 wollen wir die Zufriedenheit unserer Kunden weiter steigern und die Produktqualität auf einem hohen Niveau stabilisieren.

Kundenzufriedenheit messen

Die MTU Maintenance bietet Instandhaltungs- und Serviceleistungen für Flugantriebe und Industriegasturbinen und ist damit im Endkundengeschäft tätig. Die Kundenbetreuung erfolgt im direkten Austausch, Kunden sind vor allem Flug- und Leasinggesellschaften sowie Energieerzeuger. Über ein IT-gestütztes Voice-of-the-Customer-Modul erfassen wir einmal im Quartal für die Standorte Hannover, Ludwigsfelde und Vancouver sowie für alle Hauptprodukte die aktuelle Zufriedenheit der Kunden. Jeder Kunde hat die Möglichkeit, Feedback hinsichtlich Produktqualität, Service, Logistik und vertraglicher Bedingungen zu geben. Wir nutzen diese wertvolle Rückmeldung, um Verbesserungspotenziale zu identifizieren und geeignete Maßnahmen einzuleiten. Dadurch optimieren wir unsere Leistungen kontinuierlich, steigern die Kundenzufriedenheit und bleiben wettbewerbsfähig. 

Die MTU Maintenance Lease Services betreibt zusätzlich ein eigenes Messsystem im Bereich Triebwerksleasing und Asset-Management. 

Mehr zum Dialog mit unseren Stakeholdern

Leadership Award eines Kunden geht auch an MTU-Mitarbeiter:innen

Im Geschäftsbereich OEM (Neu- und Ersatzteilgeschäft) hat unser strategischer Partner Pratt & Whitney ein unternehmensübergreifendes Team mit dem Leadership Award 2020 für besondere Leistungen ausgezeichnet, zu dem auch MTU-Mitarbeiter:innen verschiedener Standorte gehörten. Dabei ging es um ein effizientes und flexibles Vorgehen bei der Triebwerksdemontage, den Austausch einzelner Komponenten zu vereinfachen. Die MTU Maintenance Hannover hat für ihre Idee, mit der die Aktion realisiert werden konnte, den Deutschen Ideenmanagementpreis 2021 in der Kategorie „Beste Idee in Produktion und Technik" gewonnen. Mit dem Preis des Deutschen Instituts für Ideen- und Innovationsmanagement werden Unternehmen und Personen ausgezeichnet, die Vorbildcharakter im Bereich des Ideenmanagements haben. Eine Fachjury aus Wissenschaft und Praxis bewertete die eingereichten Vorschläge.


Services & Tools


Produktverantwortung
Back to Top
Klimawirkungen von Flugzeugantrieben
Feedback
X