Value creation

Responsible Sourcing

Supplier management

We work with numerous suppliers around the globe; they play a key role in our value creation. We have a shared goal: to work together as partners to achieve sustainable production. As a basis for this collaboration, we have defined the environmental and social criteria that are important to us.


graphic

We procure components, goods and services for our production and maintenance activities from suppliers based all over the world. We integrate the global supply chain into our sustainability activities.

The value added of an MTU product includes important pre-production stages at external suppliers. We seek to create reliable relationships with those suppliers based on mutual trust. In keeping with our claim of sustainable value creation and the expectations of our stakeholders, we uphold certain standards in purchasing. For us, the pursuit of sustainable supplier management (responsible sourcing) encompasses environmental and social aspects as well as transparency along the supply chain. Key sustainability requirements are mandatory for suppliers. We place the same standards as regards sustainability on the collaboration with our suppliers that we do on our own business activities. To a large extent, the same standards apply to both of MTU’s business segments: new and spare parts (original equipment manufacturer: OEM) and commercial maintenance (maintenance, repair and overhaul: MRO). However, they each have their own organizational units for sourcing production material.

Because today’s supply chains are so global, extensive and complex, we concentrate our efforts regarding sustainability aspects on the supply step immediately upstream (tier 1). However, our direct suppliers are contractually obliged to ensure that their subcontractors also abide by our defined standards.

Our contribution to SDGs 8 and 16

With responsible purchasing practices, we can help advance several SDGs. Our commitment to fair global supply chains specifically furthers SDG 8, “Decent work and economic growth,” and through compliance requirements for suppliers, we also actively support SDG 16 on “Peace, justice and strong institutions.” It has a secondary objective that calls for reducing corruption and bribery worldwide.

Decent work and economic growth
Peace, justice and strong institutions

→ Learn more about our contribution to the SDGs of the UN’s 2030 Agenda

In 2020, our sites worked with 5,810 suppliers around the world; this means our supplier base was smaller than in the previous year (2019: 6,253), especially among OEM suppliers in the European region. Europe is home to 81.7% of the suppliers, with 63.7% of the total number of suppliers located in Germany.

MTU suppliers 2020 by region (production and non-production material)

graphic

GRI 102-9: Supplier base for production material and non-production material for OEM (new and spare parts) and MRO (commercial maintenance) segments EMEA = Europe (excluding Germany), the Middle East and Africa; Americas = North, Central and South America plus the Caribbean; Asia Pacific = East Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia and Oceania; estimates for Vericor

Our purchasing volume declined due to lower capacity utilization in 2020 and totaled some EUR 467 million for production materials in the OEM business (2019: EUR 611 million) and EUR 2.1 billion for MRO (2019: EUR 2.4 billion). In 2020, we purchased non-production material to the tune of EUR 549 million for OEM and MRO combined (2019: EUR 720 million). By and large, we were able to source production and non-production material for the OEM business at our own discretion. By contrast, MRO purchasing volume for spare parts and repair work is subject to strict requirements imposed by the relevant OEMs. As a result, MTU Maintenance has less room for maneuver in selecting suppliers. The sole exception is MTU Maintenance Lease Services (MLS) in Amsterdam.

Measured by purchasing volume, the Western Europe and North American markets, which are so important generally for the aviation industry, account for the lion’s share of MTU’s procurement. In the business for new and spare parts, we procure across the entire breadth of the supply chain, from blanks to finished parts. We always source castings and forgings externally, and the same goes for special materials for which MTU has not built up manufacturing expertise, such as electronic control systems. If possible, we source our supplies directly from the manufacturers of blanks or finished parts, whereby the company procures raw materials itself only to a small extent (→ The measures we take regarding conflict minerals in raw material purchasing). For commercial engine modules, the average proportion of sourced parts lies between 42% for Poland and 68% for Germany.

Purchasing volume 2020 by region (in EUR m)

graphic

GRI 102-9: Purchasing volume for OEM (new and spare parts) and MRO (commercial maintenance) segments. EMEA = Europe (excluding Germany), the Middle East and Africa; Americas = North, Central and South America plus the Caribbean; Asia Pacific = East Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia and Oceania; non-production material excluding MTU Maintenance Canada and Vericor; production material for Vericor estimated

Local value creation is particularly important when purchasing non-production material and services, as is the wide variety of goods and services. We procure non-production materials predominantly in the countries in which we operate. The local proportion of the purchasing budget for non-production material, for instance, was 92.2% in Germany and 50.5% in Poland.

 

Setting sustainable standards in purchasing

We have established a binding Code of Conduct for Suppliers that is a fixed component of the contracts. The code is informed by the ten principles of the UN Global Compact and contains the following social and environmental standards: respecting internationally recognized human rights, observing the International Labour Organization’s (ILO’s) core labor standards, protecting the climate and combating corruption. Each contract signed by a supplier includes the commitment to abide by these principles and to communicate them to subcontractors. The Code of Conduct applies to suppliers of the European manufacturing sites and of MTU Maintenance Canada and MTU Aero Engines North America, and therefore to 95.9% of the entire purchasing volume. Moreover, MTU’s General Terms and Conditions of Purchase also contain environmental, social and compliance stipulations. In our General Terms and Conditions of Purchase for our European sites, we also insist on compliance with the EU’s REACh chemicals regulation.

Focus on human rights

When managing our suppliers, we place a particularly strong focus on safeguarding the respect of human rights. Our approach and measures are presented in detail in the chapter Corporate governance under Human rights → Human rights and conflict minerals in the supply chain

No violations of the Code of Conduct

Suspicions that the Code of Conduct for Suppliers may have been breached can be reported confidentially to MTU’s Compliance Officer. Reports can also be submitted anonymously via the web-based iTrust system, which is available in several languages. Should a supplier be implicated in charges of corruption, extortion, the granting of undue advantage or the use of child labor in the execution of a contract for MTU, the collaboration agreement will be terminated without notice. If other principles of the Code are violated, the supplier must demonstrate that suitable corrective measures have been initiated and implemented and must guarantee this in writing. MTU reserves the right to carry out on-site audits to verify compliance with the Code of Conduct. No accusations of possible breaches of the Code of Conduct were reported or registered during the period under review. Nor were there any complaints about suppliers. Therefore in 2020, as in previous years, no supplier partnership was terminated because of sustainability deficiencies, confirmed cases of corruption or other complaints. This also applies to human rights aspects → Human rights and conflict minerals in the supply chain.

 

Risk management and assessment

We believe partnerships based on trust are key to sustainable supplier management. For this reason, we seek out long-term relationships with our suppliers. In the OEM business unit for aircraft engines, for example, a large proportion of the materials and services is based on contracts with a typical term of two or more years. Contractually agreed buffer inventories allow us to respond quickly to fluctuations in demand. In the reporting year, MTU worked with 960 new suppliers (2019: 1,407), or 16.9% of the total (2019: 22.5%). All suppliers are vetted before being accepted into MTU’s supply chain. This process includes a binding supplier disclosure and contractual undertaking to comply with the Code of Conduct. MTU’s engine leasing business, Amsterdam-based MLS, has its own separate but similar process. To cover environmental aspects, we request proof of certification to standards such as ISO 14001. Using periodic evaluations, we regularly review existing suppliers, including with respect to their ISO 14001 certification. Once approved, suppliers must regularly demonstrate their ISO 9001 compliance for quality management via re-certifications. We present our analysis of risks relating to human rights in the supply chain in this report under → Human rights.

In connection with the establishment of the new MTU site in Serbia, a process was defined for screening new suppliers there with regard to corruption risks. These reviews did not reveal any indications of corrupting behavior in the reporting period.

To raise awareness of sustainability standards in the supply chain, we regularly provide purchasers with training on professional compliance matters and on the MTU Code of Conduct, which applies to all the company’s employees and prohibits corruption, bribery, the granting of undue advantage, and anti-competitive behavior. Our purchasers are also trained on the Code of Conduct for Suppliers. In addition, we offer special corporate responsibility training, including bespoke training for purchasing departments.

 

Outlook

Our plan is to integrate sustainability aspects into supplier audits for the OEM and MRO business.


Services and tools


Emissions
Back to Top
Employees & Society
Feedback
X

Wertschöpfung

Responsible Sourcing

Lieferantenmanagement

Wir arbeiten mit zahlreichen Lieferanten auf der ganzen Welt zusammen, sie sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil unserer Wertschöpfung. Gemeinsam mit ihnen wollen wir in einer partnerschaftlichen Beziehung nachhaltig produzieren. Wir haben für uns wichtige ökologische und soziale Kriterien formuliert, die wir als Basis einer Zusammenarbeit unbedingt fordern.


graphic

Für unsere Produktion und Instandhaltung beziehen wir Bauteile, Waren und Dienstleistungen von Lieferanten auf der ganzen Welt. Diese globale Lieferkette integrieren wir in unsere Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten.

Die Wertschöpfung eines MTU-Produkts enthält wesentliche Vorproduktionsstufen bei externen Lieferanten. Wir setzen dabei auf verlässliche Beziehungen zu unseren Lieferanten auf der Basis gegenseitigen Vertrauens. Gemäß unserem Anspruch an eine nachhaltigen Wertschöpfung und den Erwartungen unserer Stakeholder achten wir auf Standards in der Beschaffung. Im Rahmen eines nachhaltigkeitsorientierten Lieferantenmanagements (Responsible Sourcing) sind für uns ökologische und soziale Aspekte sowie die Transparenz in der Lieferkette wichtig. Wesentliche Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen sind für Lieferanten verpflichtend. Wir stellen an unsere Lieferanten bezüglich Nachhaltigkeit die gleichen Maßstäbe an eine Zusammenarbeit, wie wir sie an unsere eigene Geschäftstätigkeit anlegen. In den beiden Geschäftsbereichen der MTU, Neu- und Ersatzteilgeschäft (Original Equipment Manufacturer, OEM-Geschäft) und zivile Instandhaltung (Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul, MRO-Geschäft), gelten weitgehend gleiche Standards. Sie haben aber jeweils eigene Organisationseinheiten für den Einkauf von Produktionsmaterial.

Da heutige Lieferketten global, weitverzweigt und komplex sind, konzentrieren wir uns hinsichtlich Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte auf die direkt vorgelagerte Lieferstufe (Tier 1). Allerdings ist vertraglich mit unseren Direktlieferanten vereinbart, dass die von uns definierten Standards auch von Sublieferanten einzuhalten sind. 

Unser Beitrag zu SDG 8, 16

Mit einer verantwortungsvollen Beschaffung können wir zu Fortschritten bei zahlreichen SDGs beitragen, mit unserem Engagement für faire globale Lieferketten insbesondere zu SDG 8 „Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum“, über Compliance-Vorgaben für Lieferanten unterstützen wir zudem aktiv SDG 16 „Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen“, das als ein Unterziel fordert, Korruption und Bestechung weltweit zu reduzieren.

Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs aus der UN-Agenda 2030

Unsere Standorte haben 2020 mit weltweit 5.810 Lieferanten zusammengearbeitet, womit die Lieferantenbasis im Vergleich zum Vorjahr abgenommen hat (2019: 6.253), vor allem bei OEM-Lieferanten im europäischen Raum. 63,7% der Lieferanten stammten aus Deutschland, aus Europa waren es 81,7%.

MTU-Lieferanten 2020 nach Regionen (Produktions- und Nicht-Produktionsmaterial)

graphic

GRI 102-9: Lieferantenbasis für Produktionsmaterial und Nicht-Produktionsmaterial für die Segmente OEM (Neu- und Ersatzteilgeschäft) und MRO (zivile Instandhaltung). EMEA = Europa (ohne Deutschland), Naher Osten und Afrika; Americas = Nord-, Zentral- und Südamerika sowie Karibik; Asien-Pazifik = Ostasien, Südostasien, Australien und Ozeanien; Schätzwerte für Vericor

Unser Einkaufsvolumen fiel bedingt durch die geringere Auslastung 2020 geringer aus und belief sich für Produktionsmaterial im OEM-Geschäft auf rund 467 Mio. Euro (2019: 611 Mio. Euro) und auf 2,1 Mrd. Euro für die MRO (2019: 2,4 Mrd. Euro). Nicht-Produktionsmaterial haben wir 2020 für 549 Mio. Euro (OEM und MRO) beschafft (2019: 720 Mio. Euro). Das Einkaufsvolumen für Produktionsmaterial im OEM-Geschäft sowie das Nicht-Produktionsmaterial können wir weitestgehend frei beschaffen. Das Einkaufsvolumen in der Instandhaltung für Ersatzteile und Reparaturdienstleistungen unterliegt dagegen strikten Vorgaben des Originalherstellers. Hier hat die MTU Maintenance wenig Gestaltungsspielraum bei der Auswahl der Lieferanten. Ausnahme bildet lediglich das Leasing-Geschäft der MTU Maintenance Lease Services (MLS) in Amsterdam.

Gemessen am Einkaufsvolumen liegen die Schwerpunkte der Beschaffung mit den für die Luftfahrtbranche wesentlichen Märkten in Westeuropa und Nordamerika. Im Neu- und Ersatzteilgeschäft beziehen wir die gesamte Bandbreite der Lieferkette von Roh- bis hin zu Fertigteilen. Guss- und Schmiederohteile ordert die MTU ausschließlich extern, ebenso spezielle Materialien, für die sie keine Fertigungskompetenz aufgebaut hat (zum Beispiel elektronische Regler). Wenn möglich, kaufen wir direkt bei den Roh- und Fertigteilherstellern, wobei das Unternehmen Rohstoffe nur in geringem Maße selbst beschafft ( → Unsere Maßnahmen für Konfliktmineralien im Rohstoffeinkauf). Der durchschnittliche Anteil zugekaufter Teile liegt bei zivilen Antriebsmodulen zwischen 42% für den Standort Polen und 68% für Deutschland.

Einkaufsvolumen 2020 nach Regionen (in Mio. Euro)

graphic

GRI 102-9: Einkaufsvolumen der Segmente OEM (Neu- und Ersatzteilgeschäft) und MRO (zivile Instandhaltung). EMEA = Europa (ohne Deutschland), Naher Osten und Afrika; Americas= Nord-, Zentral- und Südamerika sowie Karibik; Asien-Pazifik= Ostasien, Südostasien, Australien und Ozeanien; Nicht-Produktionsmaterial ohne MTU Maintenance Canada und Vericor, Produktionsmaterial für Vericor geschätzt

Vor allem für den Einkauf von Nicht-Produktionsmaterial und Dienstleistungen sind eine lokale Wertschöpfung von großer Bedeutung und die Vielfalt der Güter und Dienstleistungen sehr hoch. Nicht-Produktionsmaterial beziehen wir überwiegend in den Ländern, in denen wir tätig sind. Der lokale Anteil am Einkaufsbudget für Nicht-Produktionsmaterial lag zum Beispiel für Deutschland bei 92,2% und für Polen bei 50,5%.

 

Nachhaltige Standards im Einkauf setzen

Eine wichtige Grundlage für die Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Lieferanten ist ein verbindlicher Verhaltenskodex, der fester Bestandteil der Verträge ist. Er orientiert sich an den zehn Prinzipien des UN Global Compact. Folgende Sozial- und Umweltstandards sind darin festgelegt: Die Achtung der international anerkannten Menschenrechte, Kernarbeitsnormen der International Labour Organisation ILO, Umweltschutz und Korruptionsbekämpfung. Jeder Lieferant verpflichtet sich mit der Unterzeichnung des Vertrags, die Prinzipien einzuhalten und diese an die Sublieferanten weiterzugeben. Der Code of Conduct gilt für Lieferanten der europäischen Produktionsstandorte sowie der MTU Maintenance Canada und MTU Aero Engines North America und damit für 95,9% des gesamten Einkaufsvolumens. Darüber hinaus enthalten die Allgemeinen Einkaufsbedingungen der MTU (AEB) ebenfalls Umwelt-, Sozial- und Compliance-Vorgaben. In unseren AEB für die europäischen Standorte fordern wir zusätzlich die Einhaltung der europäischen Chemikalienverordnung REACh. 

Menschenrechte im Fokus

Einen besonderen Fokus im Lieferantenmanagement legen wir auf die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte. Unser Ansatz und unsere Maßnahmen sind ausführlich im Kapitel „Unternehmensführung" unter „Menschenrechte" dargestellt → Zu Menschenrechten und Konfliktmineralien in der Lieferkette.

Keine Verstöße gegen Verhaltenskodex

Bei Verdacht auf Verstoß gegen den Lieferanten-Verhaltenskodex kann der Compliance Officer der MTU vertraulich kontaktiert werden. Meldungen können darüber hinaus auch anonym über das webbasierte System iTrust abgegeben werden, das in mehreren Sprachen zur Verfügung steht. Korruption, Erpressung, Vorteilsgewährung oder Kinderarbeit in der Auftragsausführung für die MTU führen zu einer fristlosen Kündigung der Zusammenarbeit. Bei einem Verstoß gegen andere Prinzipien muss der Lieferant die Umsetzung korrektiver Maßnahmen darlegen und schriftlich garantieren. Die MTU behält sich das Recht vor, die Einhaltung des Code of Conducts durch Vor-Ort-Audits zu überprüfen. Im Berichtszeitraum sind keine Hinweise auf Verstöße gegen den Code of Conduct gemeldet beziehungsweise durch uns registriert worden. Auch lagen keine Beschwerden über Lieferanten vor. Deshalb haben wir wie in den Vorjahren 2020 keine Zusammenarbeit mit einem Lieferanten aufgrund von Nachhaltigkeitsdefiziten, bestätigten Korruptionsvorfällen oder aufgrund anderer Beanstandungen beendet. Dies gilt auch für Menschenrechtsaspekte → Zu Menschenrechten und Konfliktmineralien in der Lieferkette.

 

Risikomanagement und Assessment

Für ein nachhaltiges Lieferantenmanagement erachten wir Vertrauensbeziehungen als sehr wichtig. Wir streben daher nach langfristigen Beziehungen zu unseren Lieferanten, im OEM-Geschäft für Luftfahrtantriebe ist zum Beispiel ein großer Teil der Materialien und Dienstleistungen über Langfristverträge mit einer typischen Laufzeit von zwei und mehr Jahren vergeben. Über vertraglich vereinbarte Pufferbestände können wir auf kurzfristige Bedarfsschwankungen reagieren. Im Berichtsjahr hat der Konzern mit 960 (2019: 1.407) neuen Lieferanten zusammengearbeitet, das entspricht einem Anteil von 16,5% (2019: 22,5%). Jeder Lieferant muss von der MTU zugelassen sein, bevor es zu einer Zusammenarbeit kommt. Dies beinhaltet eine verpflichtende Selbstauskunft und vertragliche Zusicherung zur Einhaltung des Code of Conduct. Für die Triebwerksleasing-Niederlassung MLS in Amsterdam ist ein eigenes, aber vergleichbares Vorgehen etabliert. Umweltaspekte fragen wir in Form von Zertifizierungen wie ISO 14001 ab. Mit Hilfe von zyklischen Bewertungen wird ein bestehender Lieferant regelmäßig kontrolliert, auch hinsichtlich der ISO 14001-Zertifizierung. Lieferanten müssen nach der Zulassung ihre ISO 9001-Zertifizierung für ein Qualitätsmanagement regelmäßig über Re-Zertifikate nachweisen. Unsere Risikoanalyse bezogen auf Menschenrechtsaspekte in der Lieferkette haben wir im Bericht unter →Menschenrechte dargestellt.

Im Zusammenhang mit dem Aufbau des neuen MTU-Standorts in Serbien wurde ein Prozess zur Überprüfung neuer Lieferanten in Serbien in Hinblick auf Korruptionsrisiken festgelegt. Im Berichtszeitraum ergaben diese Überprüfungen keine Hinweise auf korrumpierendes Verhalten.

Um für Nachhaltigkeitsstandards in der Lieferkette zu sensibilisieren, schulen wir regelmäßig Einkäufer:innen zu Compliance-Sachverhalten und zum internen Code of Conduct, der für alle Mitarbeiter:innen des Unternehmens gilt und Korruption, Bestechlichkeit, Vorteilsgewährung und wettbewerbswidriges Verhalten verbietet. Unsere Einkäufer:innen sind auch auf den Verhaltenskodex für Lieferanten geschult. Darüber hinaus bieten wir spezielle Corporate-Responsibility-Trainings an, auch eigens für den Einkauf.

 

Ausblick

Wir planen für das OEM- und MRO-Geschäft, in bestehenden Lieferantenaudits künftig Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte zu integrieren.


Services & Tools


Emissionen
Back to Top
Mitarbeiter:innen & Gesellschaft
Feedback
X