Employees and society

Diversity makes us stronger

Diversity and inclusion

Diversity makes us more successful and is therefore an integral part of our corporate culture. We consider a diverse workforce to be a real asset. Different ideas and experiences broaden our horizons and make us more flexible and innovative. At MTU, we are always working to increase diversity and inclusion, championing a culture of impartiality.


graphic

We benefit from having a diverse workforce. Bringing different experiences, perspectives and employee backgrounds together in a team provides a springboard for the best ideas and concepts to emerge.

Diversity is a key element of our commercial success. We firmly believe that a diverse workforce is conducive to collaboration and bolsters our innovative capabilities and competitiveness. Given the high complexity of engineering projects, it is advantageous to have mixed teams. We see diversity as more than a strength; for us, it’s part of our corporate social responsibility. As an employer, it makes us more attractive to new talent, especially from the younger generation. And especially in times of transformation, diversity and integration are crucial to effecting successful and sustainable change.

Promoting diversity is a key component of the corporate culture and business success that is enshrined in the MTU Principles. To ensure an inclusive working environment within the company, MTU embraces a corporate culture based on respect and appreciation that promotes fair and cooperative conduct. MTU is actively committed to equality of opportunity and equal treatment of all employees and takes a clear stand against discrimination in the workplace. We have laid down these principles in our globally applicable Code of Conduct. We want to assign employees to positions in accordance with their skills, abilities and performance. Everyone has the same opportunities regardless of their gender, ethnic origin, age, religion, disability or sexual orientation.→ Code of Conduct We have processes in place that allow breaches of the Code of Conduct or of internal guidelines to be reported to designated points of contact. → These are laid out in detail in the chapter Human rights.

graphic
Reiner Winkler Chief Executive Officer of MTU Aero Engines AG
“Our company is committed to diversity and equality of opportunity. Aviation is an international industry that connects cultures and people. We firmly believe that a diverse workforce bolsters our innovative capabilities and collaborative culture, which in turn ensures our competitiveness. We take a clear stand against discrimination in the workplace. Equality of opportunity regardless of gender, ethnic origin, age, religion, disability or sexual orientation is the foundation for a respectful corporate culture, which we strengthen and develop through a variety of specific measures.”

MTU’s commitment to diversity and equality of opportunity is also demonstrated by its status as a signatory to the Diversity Charter and as a partner company of the Impact of Diversity. We also support various research projects in this area and exchange information with organizations and networks in expert forums on current measures. As a signatory to the UN Global Compact sustainability initiative, we commit to preventing discrimination in the workplace.

graphic

 

Our contribution to SDGs 4, 5 and 8

Our commitment to diversity is an aspect of our responsibility to the UN’s 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. In particular, this commitment will help achieve SDG 5 on “Gender equality.” MTU’s inclusion policy supports SDG 4 on “Quality Education” and SDG 8 on “Decent work and economic growth,” whose secondary objectives include promoting the participation of employees with disabilities.

Quality Education
Gender equality
Decent work and economic growth

→ Learn more about our contribution to the SDGs of the UN’s 2030 Agenda

 

Achieving every kind of diversity

Our diversity concept takes into account various kinds of diversity, including the criteria of gender, cultural background, age and experience, disability, and sexual orientation and identity. A diversity officer has been officially appointed and is responsible for diversity issues throughout the Group. The diversity officer report directly to the HR manager and thus to top management. The diversity officer works closely with HR policy/strategy and is in continuous communication with local HR departments to effectively support the needs of local employees. The aim is to actively develop and strengthen diversity within MTU. In our internal media and via our social media channels, we regularly raise awareness for diversity and inclusion and for a discrimination-free working environment.

Our efforts are rewarded: in a Financial Times ranking of diversity leaders, where employees rank their employers, we made it into the top 50 out of a total of 850 European companies in 2020.

We support employee networks within MTU in which specific groups exchange information, make their concerns visible and provide impetus for collaboration within the company, thereby actively supporting diversity. This helps us better incorporate diverse experiences and perspectives from the workforce into our decision-making. Despite the coronavirus pandemic in 2020, the Network of Engine Women (NEW), founded under the auspices of MTU’s Chief Technology Officer, was able to generate momentum within the organization and highlight various perspectives, including monthly digital lunch meetings in randomly assembled groups to support networking within NEW, even across locations. Exchanges with networks from other companies (MBDA-Space2B, MAN-Löwinnen) brought new inspiration for MTU as well as new ideas and impetus for the organization, as did a round-table discussion with Chief Technology Officer Lars Wagner on the company’s business development and current situation. In addition, there are informal networks within MTU, for example of Spanish-speaking employees.

A conversation with MTU’s diversity officer in our video series “Let’s talk about!”

You can find this film at https://youtu.be/yC0gtspt4Yg

We are committed to equality of leadership and gender

Aviation has always offered numerous career opportunities of a technical nature and has therefore traditionally been a male domain. We are determined to embrace change and create a culture of innovation within the company—and we want to help achieve this corporate objective by promoting gender diversity, which we deem particularly important. We see fostering female talent and equality of leadership as our greatest innovation potential. This view is supported by an ILO study that concluded that having more women in management positions enhances a company’s performance and its appeal as an employer. It follows that one of our key goals is to increase the proportion of women in management positions to 13% by the end of 2022 for all management levels in Germany except the Executive Board level.

We are pursuing a separate goal for the Executive Board: by 2022 the number of female members is to reach 25%. The Supervisory Board already has two female members each from the employee and shareholder sides. More information available in MTU’s corporate governance report for 2020 (p. 106f.)

15.1%
proportion of women
graphic

Upward trend: MTU employed more women last year than in previous years. We want to further increase this share in the future. We are confident that we will meet our quota of 21.5% women among new employees.

The Executive Board is kept regularly informed about the fostering of female talent and the measures that have been initiated. In addition, it presents a report on equality at the works meeting at German locations once a year. In Germany, the works council is involved in decisions subject to co-determination, such as flexible working time rules. We also offer internal and external training opportunities in gender equality.

The principal focus of our initiatives is to secure more female talent for the company and offer female employees greater support throughout their careers. A key part of this is our participation in mentoring programs, including:

Proportion of women GRI 102-8, 405-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Workforce

 15.1%

 14.7%

 14.4%

Germany

 14.9%

 14.7%

 14.2%

Rest of Europe

 16.4%

 14.3%

 15.3%

North America

 15.1%

 15.1%

 15.6%

Managers

 11.3%

 11.5%

 10.7%

Germany

 10.7%

 11.2%

 10.2%

Rest of Europe

 21.4%

 23.1%

 20.0%

North America

 18.8%

 14.3%

 16.0%

Apprentices

 16.7%

 18.2%

 17.2%

New Hires

 21.5%

 16.9%

 14.7%

Share of women in the workforce and in management positions as a proportion of the active workforce (employees with permanent or fixed-term contracts, temporary part-time employees on parental leave, excluding students, interns, trainees/apprentices, short-term holiday workers, temporary workers and employees from external companies); for trainees/apprentices, relating to the Group (2020) or Germany (2018–2019); recorded at the end of each year; we do not have figures on the proportion of women by employee group.

When it comes to the proportion of women in the workforce, we see an ongoing gentle upswing. The current share is 15.1%. The proportion of women in management fell marginally to 11.2% at the end of 2020. We recognize this as an area of improvement if we are to achieve our goal of 13% women in management in Germany by the end of 2022.

We take diversity aspects into account when filling new positions and selecting employees within MTU. In 2020, the proportion of women in the Development Center, a personal development program for talented employees with the potential to assume key roles, was 22.6% and thus greater than our current proportion of women in management positions. The share of women among new employees across the workforce was 21.5%, above the current rates for women in the workforce and in management positions. The next generation of apprentices fulfills a quota of 16.7% female apprentices. We have revised our employer branding campaign to help attract more women and inspire them to take up STEM professions.


graphic

Our efforts and progress are rated annually by the Women’s Career Index (FKI), an external tool for evaluating career opportunities for women in business enterprises. Ever since it first participated in 2016, MTU has always been among the top ten; for 2020, we once again achieved a good result with sixth place.


In addition, we are involved in educational initiatives aimed specifically at young female talent. For instance, we are a project partner in Komm, mach MINT!, a German STEM initiative that aims to inspire more women to pursue qualifications and careers in the fields of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. The Women Researchers Camp, organized by the Bavarian Business Education Association, has also been an integral part of our promotion of young female talent for years—and to ensure it could be held in 2020, it went online: eight female pupils were able to gain an insight into the working world of female engineers and researchers at our company.

graphic

Young talent in the online camp: Virtual tour of MTU’s training workshop with our “tour guide” at the Women Researchers Camp in November 2020.

Programs and initiatives (internal and external)

We have a range of offers open to all employees to improve their work-life balance, including flexible working hours, services to assist families and mobile working opportunities. → More information under Collaboration and leadership.

 

Creating a working environment in which everyone can realize their potential

As an early member of the Charter of Diversity, MTU has for years been committed to creating a working environment that is free from prejudice, one that recognizes and supports diverse potential. We want to be a positive example of diversity, create a culture of impartiality and ensure all employees have equality of opportunity in the workplace. This approach is inclusive of employees who identify themselves as lesbian, gay, transgender or intersex. We embrace diversity and welcome all employees who wish to enhance the company. Every person should be able to openly declare their sexual orientation or gender identity without experiencing any disadvantages as a result.

Individual talent should be able to unfold within a respectful and appreciative environment with an emphasis on solid performance and personal commitment. We support public initiatives to prevent bullying and discrimination, for instance by participating regularly in Pink Shirt Day in Canada and observing the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination. We also express our appreciation for our employees in inclusive language. At the end of 2020, we decided to introduce gender-neutral language and developed a guide for this purpose (for our company language German), which summarizes recommendations, examples and reasons for use. Since spring 2021, we have used inclusive language in corporate publications.

As part of our inclusion efforts, we recognize the importance of integrating employees with disabilities. In 2020, the proportion of our employees in Germany with disabilities was 5.1%, which meets statutory requirements. At our locations in Germany, we have elected representatives for employees with severe disabilities as well as dedicated inclusion officers who act as points of contact for issues relating to disability. New buildings at our locations are designed with universal access in mind. A case in point is the new canteen in Munich.

Strengthening cross-generational collaboration

Cross-generational collaboration makes it possible to combine valuable experiences and new impulses in a productive way. This is why we believe in good relations between young and old, and we take age diversity into consideration in our company. At our company, three generations work together hand in hand. However, we face challenges associated with the ageing workforce in Germany and the fact that people are working longer from career entry to retirement. To secure the long-term performance of our employees, we operate a company health management system (→ Occupational health and safety). Employees in every age group receive equal access to training and development. We offer a variety of career opportunities geared toward younger generations: apprenticeships, trainee programs and development programs for high-potential employees (→ Employee development). The interests and needs of young employees in particular are also represented by an elected youth and apprenticeship council. 

Age groups GRI 405-1

 

2020

2019

2018

< 30 years

 16.4%

 18.2%

 16.9%

30 – 50 years

 53.7%

 52.8%

 52.4%

> 50 years

 29.9%

 29.0%

 30.7%

Measured as a proportion of the active workforce (employees with permanent or fixed-term contracts, temporary part-time employees on parental leave, excluding students, interns, trainees/apprentices, short-term holiday workers, temporary workers and employees from external companies) and recorded at the end of each year.

Cultural diversity provides us with opportunities

As a globally active company, we consider internationalization to be a key indicator of diversity. Our engine business has a global outlook, and having an intercultural workforce helps us to succeed in different markets. A study by the Bertelsmann Stiftung (2018) argued that cultural diversity among employees has a positive effect on a company’s innovative strength. We have strong roots in Germany, but our character draws on a variety of cultural backgrounds. Employees of 55 different nationalities work together in Germany alone. In the face of rising xenophobia, we take an unambiguous position and call on everyone, for instance as part of International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, to take an active stand in favor of diversity and equality. Various activities (such as our in-house International Building on Talent program) help us to enhance the international nature of our business. → Find out more about our training programs Secondments to international locations form an important part of our HR policy for promoting intercultural skills. At the end of 2020, some 70 employees were working for MTU abroad. We run an in-house information campaign to promote a change of location as a way to look beyond our own horizons. Apprentices are also given the opportunity to gain professional experience abroad.

55
nationalities
graphic

MTU is diverse: We have employees of 55 nationalities successfully working together in Germany and adding their individual cultural background to the mix.


Services and tools


Employee development
Back to Top
Corporate social responsibility
Feedback
X

Mitarbeiter:innen und Gesellschaft

Diversity stärkt uns

Vielfalt & Inklusion

Vielfalt macht uns erfolgreicher und ist daher fester Bestandteil unserer Unternehmenskultur. Für uns ist eine vielfältige Belegschaft ein ausgesprochener Gewinn: Unterschiedliche Ideen, Erfahrungen und Horizonte bereichern uns, erweitern unsere Perspektive, machen uns flexibler und innovativer. Wir fördern kontinuierlich Vielfalt und Inklusion innerhalb der MTU und setzen uns für ein unvoreingenommenes Miteinander ein.


graphic

Wir gewinnen durch eine vielfältige Belegschaft. Wenn unterschiedliche Erfahrungen, Sichtweisen und Hintergründe der Mitarbeiter:innen im Team aufeinandertreffen, können daraus die besten Ideen und Konzepte entstehen.

Diversity ist für unseren Geschäftserfolg von großer Bedeutung. Wir sind überzeugt: Eine vielfältige Belegschaft fördert die Zusammenarbeit, steigert unsere Innovationskraft und damit unsere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. Vor allem vor dem Hintergrund einer hohen Komplexität der Projekte in der Triebwerkstechnik sind gemischte Teams von Vorteil. Vielfalt sehen wir nicht nur als Stärke, sondern ist für uns Teil unserer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung. Es macht uns zudem als Arbeitgeber attraktiver für neue Talente, vor allem aus der jüngeren Generation. Und gerade in Zeiten des Wandels sind Vielfalt und Integration entscheidende Faktoren für erfolgreiche und nachhaltige Veränderungen. 

Vielfalt ist als fester Bestandteil der Unternehmenskultur und des Erfolgs in unserem Leitbild verankert. Um eine inklusive Arbeitsumgebung zu gewährleisten, tritt die MTU für eine wertschätzende Unternehmenskultur als Basis für eine offene und faire Zusammenarbeit ein. Die MTU bekennt sich zu Chancengleichheit bei der Beschäftigung und positioniert sich klar gegen Diskriminierung im Arbeitsleben. Diese Grundsätze haben wir in unseren weltweit gültigen Verhaltensgrundsätzen festgelegt. Wir wollen alle Mitarbeiter:innen entsprechend ihrer Kompetenzen, Fähigkeiten und Leistungen einsetzen. Alle sollen die gleichen Chancen unabhängig von Geschlecht, Ethnie, Herkunft, Alter, Religion, Behinderung oder sexueller Orientierung erhalten.→ Zu den Verhaltensgrundsätzen. Für Meldungen zu Verstößen gegen die Verhaltensgrundsätze oder interne Richtlinien haben wir Prozesse mit festen Ansprechpartner:innen eingerichtet. → Diese sind ausführlich im Kapitel „Menschenrechte" beschrieben.

graphic
Reiner Winkler Vorstandsvorsitzender MTU Aero Engines AG
„Unser Unternehmen steht für Vielfalt und Chancengleichheit. Die Luftfahrtbranche ist eine internationale Industrie und verbindet Kulturen und Menschen. Wir sind überzeugt, dass eine vielfältige Belegschaft unsere Innovationskraft und Zusammenarbeit fördert und damit unsere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sichert. Wir positionieren uns klar gegen Diskriminierung im Arbeitsleben. Gleiche Chancen unabhängig von Geschlecht, Ethnie, Herkunft, Alter, Religion, Behinderung oder sexueller Orientierung sind die Basis für eine wertschätzende Unternehmenskultur, die wir durch eine Vielzahl von Einzelmaßnahmen stärken und weiterentwickeln.“

Das Bekenntnis zu Vielfalt und Chancengleichheit zeigt die MTU auch als Unterzeichner der Charta der Vielfalt und als Partnerunternehmen des Impact of Diversity. Wir unterstützen zudem unterschiedliche Forschungsvorhaben in diesem Bereich und tauschen uns mit Organisationen und Netzwerken in Expertenforen zu aktuellen Maßnahmen aus. Als Unterzeichner der weltweiten Nachhaltigkeitsinitiative UN Global Compact verpflichten wir uns, Diskriminierung im Arbeitsleben zu unterbinden. 

graphic

 

Unser Beitrag zu SDG 4, 5 und 8

Mit unserem Engagement für Mitarbeitervielfalt nehmen wir unsere Verantwortung gegenüber der UN-Agenda 2030 wahr und können insbesondere zur Erreichung des SDG 5 „Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter“ beitragen. Mit unserer Inklusionspolitik fördern wir das SDG 4 „Hochwertige Bildung“ und SDG 8 „Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum“, die in Unterzielen die Partizipation von Menschen mit Behinderung fordern.

Hochwertige Bildung
Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter
Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs aus der UN-Agenda 2030

 

Vielfalt in allen Dimensionen erreichen

Unser Diversity-Konzept berücksichtigt verschiedene Dimensionen von Vielfalt, dazu gehören die Kriterien Geschlecht, kultureller Hintergrund, Alter & Erfahrung, Behinderung sowie sexuelle Orientierung & Identität. Ein Diversity-Beauftragter ist offiziell ernannt und konzernweit für Diversity-Belange verantwortlich. Er berichtet direkt an den Personalleiter und damit an das Top-Management. Der Diversity-Beauftragte arbeitet eng mit der Personalpolitik/-strategie zusammen und ist in einem kontinuierlichen Austausch mit den lokalen Personalabteilungen, um die Bedürfnisse der Mitarbeiter:innen vor Ort effektiv zu unterstützen. Ziel ist es, Diversity aktiv weiterzuentwickeln und innerhalb der MTU zu stärken. In unseren internen Medien und über unsere Social-Media-Kanäle sensibilisieren wir regelmäßig für Vielfalt und Inklusion und für ein diskriminierungsfreies Arbeitsumfeld.

Unsere Bemühungen werden honoriert: Bei einem Ranking von Mitarbeiter:innen der Financial Times von Europas Diversity Leader haben wir es 2020 z.B. unter die Top 50 von insgesamt 850 Unternehmen geschafft.

Wir unterstützen Mitarbeiter-Netzwerke innerhalb der MTU, in denen sich bestimmte Gruppen austauschen, ihre Anliegen sichtbar machen und Impulse für die Zusammenarbeit im Unternehmen setzen und dadurch Diversity aktiv unterstützen. Das hilft uns, vielfältige Erfahrungen und Perspektiven aus der Belegschaft besser in unsere Entscheidungen einzubeziehen. Das unter der Schirmherrschaft des MTU-Technikvorstands gegründete Network of Engine Women (NEW) hat trotz der Coronavirus-Pandemie 2020 Impulse in der Organisation platzieren und verschiedene Perspektiven aufzeigen können, z.B. unterstützen monatliche digitale Lunch-Treffen in zufällig zusammengesetzten Gruppen die Vernetzung innnerhalb von NEW auch standortübergreifend. Der Austausch mit Netzwerken anderer Unternehmen (MBDA-Space2B, MAN-Löwinnen) brachte neue Inspirationen für die MTU, genauso wie ein Round-Table-Gespräch mit Technikvorstand Lars Wagner über die Geschäftsentwicklung und aktuelle Lage des Unternehmens sowie neue Ideen und Impulse für die Organisation. Darüber hinaus gibt es informelle Netzwerke in der MTU, z.B. von spanischsprechenden Mitarbeiter:innen.

Im Gespräch mit dem Diversity-Beauftragten der MTU in
unserer Videoreihe Let's talk about! 

→ Diesen Film finden Sie unter https://youtu.be/5y985lxp_mM

Wir setzen auf gleichberechtigte Führung und die Einbeziehung der Geschlechter

Die Luftfahrt bietet seit jeher zahlreiche technische Berufsfelder und ist daher traditionell eine Männer-Domäne. Wir setzen bewusst auf Veränderung und wollen eine innovative Unternehmenskultur schaffen – zu diesem Unternehmensziel soll die Förderung der Vielfalt der Geschlechter beitragen, die wir als besonders wichtig erachten. Als größte Innovationsressource sehen wir die Förderung von talentierten Frauen und eine gleichberechtigte Führung. Das belegt auch eine Studie der ILO, die zu dem Schluss kommt, dass ein höherer Anteil von Frauen in Führungspositionen die Performance eines Unternehmens und seine Attraktivität als Arbeitgeber steigert. Ein wichtiges Ziel für uns ist es daher, den Anteil an Frauen in Führung bis Ende 2022 auf 13% für alle Führungsebenen in Deutschland mit Ausnahme der Ebene des Vorstands zu erhöhen. 

Für den Vorstand verfolgen wir ein eigenes Ziel: Bis zum Jahr 2022 soll eine Besetzung mit 25% weiblichen Mitgliedern erreicht sein. Dem Aufsichtsrat gehören bereits je zwei Frauen von der Arbeitnehmer- und der Anteilseignerseite an. Mehr dazu im Corporate-Governance-Bericht der MTU für 2020 (S. 106f.)

15,1%
Frauenanteil 
graphic

Zuwachs: Im vergangenen Jahr waren mehr Frauen in der MTU beschäftigt als in den Vorjahren. Für die Zukunft wollen wir noch mehr Partizipation erreichen. Eine Quote von 21,5% Frauen bei Neueinstellungen macht uns zuversichtlich.

Der Vorstand wird über die Frauenförderung und die ergriffenen Maßnahmen regelmäßig informiert. Er stellt zudem einmal im Jahr an den deutschen Standorten einen Gleichstellungsbericht in der Betriebsversammlung vor. In Deutschland ist der Betriebsrat bei mitbestimmungsrelevanten Maßnahmen wie zum Beispiel flexiblen Arbeitszeitangeboten involviert. Darüber hinaus bieten wir interne und externe Schulungen rund um das Thema Gender Equality an.

Der Fokus unserer Maßnahmen liegt darauf, mehr Potenzialträgerinnen zu gewinnen und Mitarbeiterinnen auf ihrem beruflichen Lebensweg intensiver zu unterstützen. Dazu beteiligen wir uns vor allem an Mentoring-Programmen wie:

Frauenanteil GRI 102-8, 405-1

 

2020

2019

2018

Belegschaft

 15,1%

 14,7%

 14,4%

Deutschland

 14,9%

 14,7%

 14,2%

Übriges Europa

 16,4%

 14,3%

 15,3%

Nordamerika

 15,1%

 15,1%

 15,6%

Führungskräfte

 11,3%

 11,5%

 10,7%

Deutschland

 10,7%

 11,2%

 10,2%

Übriges Europa

 21,4%

 23,1%

 20,0%

Nordamerika

 18,8%

 14,3%

 16,0%

Auszubildende

 16,7%

 18,2%

 17,2%

Neueinstellungen

 21,5%

 16,9%

 14,7%

Frauenanteil für Belegschaft und Führung in Bezug auf die aktive Belegschaft (festangestellte Mitarbeiter:innen unbefristet und befristet, befristete Teilzeitmitarbeiter:innen in Elternzeit, ohne Student:innen, Praktikant:innen, Auszubildende, kurzzeitige Ferienbeschäftigte, Leiharbeitskräfte oder Mitarbeiter:innen von Fremdfirmen); für Auszubildende bezogen auf Konzern (2020) bzw. Deutschland (2018-2019); jeweils zum Jahresende; Zahlen zum Frauenanteil nach anderen Mitarbeitergruppen liegen nicht vor.

Für den Anteil an Mitarbeiterinnen in der Belegschaft stellen wir einen anhaltenden, leichten Aufwärtstrend fest. Die Quote liegt aktuell bei 15,1%. Der Anteil an Frauen in Führung ist zum Jahresende 2020 geringfügig auf 11,2% zurückgegangen. Hier sehen wir Verbesserungsbedarf für die Zukunft, um das Ziel von 13% Frauen in Führung bis Ende 2022 für Deutschland zu erreichen.

Wir berücksichtigen Diversitätsaspekte bei der Besetzung neuer Stellen und der Mitarbeiterauswahl innerhalb der MTU. Der Anteil an Frauen am Development Center, einem persönlichen Entwicklungsprogramm für Potenzialträger:innen, lag 2020 bei 22,6% und damit über unserem aktuellen Anteil an Frauen in Führung. Der Anteil von Mitarbeiterinnen an Neueinstellungen betrug für die gesamte Belegschaft 21,5% und war damit über unseren aktuellen Raten für Mitarbeiterinnen in der Belegschaft und in Führung. Für den Nachwuchs in der Ausbildung kommen wir auf eine Quote von 16,7% weibliche Auszubildende. Eine überarbeitete Employer-Branding-Kampagne soll dazu beitragen, mehr Frauen anzusprechen und für MINT-Berufe zu begeistern.


graphic

Unsere Leistungen und Fortschritte lassen wir jährlich vom Frauen-Karriere-Index (FKI) bewerten, einem unabhängigen Tool zur Messung von Frauenförderung im Unternehmen. Seit der ersten Teilnahme 2016 ist die MTU immer unter den Top Ten, für 2020 haben wir mit Platz sechs erneut ein gutes Ergebnis erzielt.


Zusätzlich engagieren wir uns in Bildungsinitiativen, die sich speziell an den weiblichen Nachwuchs richten. Beispielsweise sind wir Projektpartner von „Komm, mach MINT!“, einem nationalen Pakt in Deutschland mit dem Ziel, Frauen stärker für Studiengänge und Berufe aus den Bereichen Mathematik, Informatik, Naturwissenschaft und Technik zu gewinnen. Auch das Forscherinnen-Camp des Bildungswerks der bayerischen Wirtschaft ist seit Jahren fester Bestandteil unserer Nachwuchsförderung, der auch 2020 nicht ausfallen sollte – und deshalb online stattfand: Acht Schülerinnen konnten einen Einblick in die Arbeitswelt von Ingenieurinnen und Forscherinnen bei uns bekommen.

graphic

Nachwuchs im Online-Camp: Virtueller Rundgang in der Ausbildungswerkstatt der MTU mit unserem „Tour-Guide“ beim Forscherinnen-Camp im November 2020.

Programme und Initiativen (intern und extern)

Für alle Mitarbeiter:innen haben wir umfangreiche Angebote für eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben, zum Beispiel flexible Arbeitszeiten, Betreuungsleistungen für Familien oder die Möglichkeit zum mobilen Arbeiten → Mehr dazu unter „Zusammenarbeit & Führung“. 

 

Ein Arbeitsumfeld schaffen, in dem sich jeder verwirklichen kann

Die MTU hat sich bereits vor Jahren als frühes Mitglied der Charta der Vielfalt dazu verpflichtet, eine Arbeitsumgebung zu schaffen, die frei von Vorurteilen ist und die vielfältigen Potenziale anerkennt und fördert. Wir wollen ein positives Zeichen für Vielfalt und ein unvoreingenommenes Miteinander setzen und alle Mitarbeiter:innen gleichberechtigt ins Arbeitsleben einbeziehen. Dieser integrative Ansatz schließt Mitarbeiter:innen ein, die sich als lesbisch, schwul, trans- oder intersexuell identifizieren. Wir sind offen für diverse Mitarbeiter:innen, die bei uns etwas bewegen möchten. Jede Person soll sich offen zur eigenen sexuellen Orientierung oder geschlechtlichen Identität bekennen können, ohne dadurch Nachteile zu erfahren.

In einem wertschätzenden und respektvollen Umfeld sollen sich individuelle Talente entfalten können und gute Leistungen und persönliches Engagement im Vordergrund stehen. Wir unterstützen öffentliche Initiativen gegen Mobbing und Diskriminierung und beteiligen uns zum Beispiel regelmäßig am Pink Shirt Day in Kanada oder positionieren uns beim internationalen Tag gegen Rassismus. Unsere Wertschätzung gegenüber unseren Mitarbeiter:innen drücken wir auch in einer inklusiven Sprache aus. Ende 2020 haben wir uns für die Einführung gendergerechter Sprache entschieden und dafür einen Leitfaden entwickelt, der Empfehlungen, Beispiele und Gründe für eine Verwendung zusammenfasst. Seit Frühjahr 2021 kommt die inklusive Sprache in Unternehmenspublikationen zum Einsatz.

Im Rahmen unserer Bemühungen um Inklusion ist es uns ein wichtiges Anliegen, einsatzeingeschränkte Mitarbeiter:innen einzubeziehen. Der Anteil von Menschen mit Behinderung lag 2020 für Deutschland bei 5,1%, damit erfüllen wir die gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Quote. An den deutschen Standorten sind gewählte Schwerbehindertenvertreter:innen und vom Arbeitgeber ernannte Inklusionsbeauftrage Ansprechpartner:innen für Anliegen von einsatzeingeschränkten Mitarbeiter:innen. Bei Neubauten an den Standorten wie im Fall der neuen Kantine in München achten wir auf barrierefreie Mobilität.

Generationsübergreifende Zusammenarbeit stärken

In einer generationsübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit können sich wertvolle Erfahrungen und neue Impulse auf produktive Weise miteinander verbinden. Wir setzen daher auf ein gutes Miteinander von Alt und Jung und berücksichtigen Altersvielfalt im Unternehmen. Bei uns arbeiten drei Generationen Hand in Hand zusammen. Eine älter werdende Belegschaft in Deutschland und längere Lebensarbeitszeiten vom Berufseintritt bis zur Rente stellen uns jedoch vor Herausforderungen. Um die Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Mitarbeiter:innen langfristig zu sichern, betreiben wir ein betriebliches Gesundheitsmanagement (→ Arbeitssicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz). Mitarbeiter:innen aller Altersgruppen erhalten gleichberechtigten Zugang zu Qualifizierung und Weiterbildung. Für jüngere Generationen bieten wir verschiedene berufliche Perspektiven: Ausbildungsplätze, Trainee-Programme oder Nachwuchskräftequalifizierungen (→ Mitarbeiterentwicklung). Die Interessen und Bedürfnisse besonders junger Mitarbeiter:innen werden zudem über eine gewählte Jugend- und Auszubildendenvertretung eingebracht.

Altersgruppen GRI 405-1

 

2020

2019

2018

< 30 Jahre

 16,4%

 18,2%

 16,9%

30 – 50 Jahre

 53,7%

 52,8%

 52,4%

> 50 Jahre

 29,9%

 29,0%

 30,7%

gemessen an aktiver Belegschaft (festangestellte Mitarbeiter:innen unbefristet und befristet, befristete Teilzeitmitarbeiter:innen in Elternzeit, ohne Student:innen, Praktikant:innen, Auszubildende, kurzzeitige Ferienbeschäftigte, Leiharbeitskräfte oder Mitarbeiter:innen von Fremdfirmen), jeweils zum Jahresende

Kulturelle Vielfalt bietet uns Chancen

Internationalität als Zeichen von Vielfalt ist für uns als weltweit tätiges Unternehmen wichtig. Unser Triebwerksgeschäft ist global ausgerichtet, eine interkulturelle Belegschaft unterstützt uns darin, auf verschiedenen Märkten erfolgreich zu sein. Eine Studie der Bertelsmann Stiftung (2018) hat gezeigt, dass sich eine kulturelle Vielfalt unter Mitarbeiter:innen positiv auf die Innovationsfähigkeit von Unternehmen auswirkt. Wir haben starke Wurzeln in Deutschland, zeigen aber ein vielfältiges Gesicht mit verschiedenen kulturellen Hintergründen. Mitarbeiter:innen mit 55 verschiedenen Nationalitäten arbeiten allein bei uns in Deutschland zusammen. In Zeiten zunehmender Fremdenfeindlichkeit beziehen wir klar Stellung und appellieren zum Beispiel im Rahmen des internationalen Tags gegen Rassismus, aktiv für Vielfalt und Gleichberechtigung einzutreten. Verschiedene Maßnahmen (z.B. das interne Programm International Building on Talent) helfen uns, eine stärkere Internationalisierung umzusetzen. → Hier erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Qualifizierungsprogramme Ein wichtiger Baustein unserer Personalpolitik zur Förderung interkultureller Kompetenzen sind Entsendungen an ausländische Standorte. Ende 2020 waren rund 70 Mitarbeiter:innen für die MTU im Ausland im Einsatz. Wir werben intern mit einer Informationskampagne für einen Standortwechsel und den Blick über den eigenen Tellerrand. Bereits Auszubildende erhalten die Möglichkeit, im Ausland Berufserfahrungen zu sammeln. 

55
Nationalitäten
graphic

Vielfältige MTU: Mitarbeiter:innen mit 55 verschiedenen Nationaltiäten arbeiten erfolgreich bei uns in Deutschland zusammen und bringen ihren individuellen kulturellen Hintergrund ein.


Services & Tools


Mitarbeiterentwicklung
Back to Top
Gesellschaftliches Engagement
Feedback
X