Corporate governance

Interaction with society and politics

Stakeholder dialogue

Maintaining an open and constructive dialogue with our key stakeholders is essential for the success of our company. Particularly in the current crisis, we want to offer stakeholders a high degree of orientation and transparency and provide a continuous flow of information about our plans and progress, especially on sustainability issues.


graphic graphic

As a result of the coronavirus crisis, the 2020 Annual General Meeting took place virtually—MTU’s Executive Board members provided information on the company’s business developments and answered shareholders’ questions via a live stream.

We strive to conduct a proactive, mutually supportive dialogue with our key stakeholders. We pursue this dialogue regularly, with the actual frequency determined by the need for communication and/or information. Our dialogue pursues two objectives. We want to achieve wide societal acceptance for our business activities and to provide information about the challenges, developments and technologies relating to sustainable aviation. Our focus is on achieving zero-emission aviation with novel propulsion concepts in the long term. This stakeholder dialogue also gives us the opportunity to respond to suggestions, expectations and feedback and act on new topics in good time. It helps us evaluate how our activities and products are affecting the environment and society in general. → Materiality analysis We give employees the opportunity to provide feedback and participate in the stakeholder dialogue, and we regularly gather the views and opinions of our employees through surveys such as the PulseCheck mood barometer, which was introduced in 2020, especially in the current period of dynamic change. We have set ourselves the corporate goal of providing our stakeholders with a high level of security and orientation during the crisis. This increases confidence and trust in our company.

Stakeholders are individuals, groups or organizations that have a regular relationship with MTU. Our key stakeholders are employees, customers, business partners, suppliers and shareholders. We are also in continuous dialogue with scientists, researchers, analysts, journalists, politicians, associations, NGOs, employee representatives, neighbors and communities.

Communication with our stakeholders takes place over various channels and platforms so we can incorporate their interests and feedback. This dialogue is mostly tailored to the target group or a specific topic. At our locations, we pursue a direct dialogue with the general public, for instance with community representatives, neighbors and other interest groups.

Online survey about sustainability

Our website invites all stakeholders to discuss our sustainability strategy. We collected and evaluated almost 70 individual opinions on this in 2020 alone. To the survey

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, many events took place virtually in the reporting year, including aviation trade shows such as ILA Berlin with AeroDays2020. The AeroDays panels in which MTU participated can be found on YouTube

In 2020, key sustainability topics we addressed in our stakeholder dialogue included: climate action in the aviation industry (in particular the reduction of CO2 emissions from products and in production); emissions-free flight as a long-term goal; sustainable aviation fuels (SAFs) with a particular emphasis on hydrogen; human rights in the supply chain; sustainable finance; and social topics such as diversity or our employees’ human capital. Our social media posts increasingly feature sustainability topics. MTU channels currently have some 68,000 followers, and this figure continues to rise. Under the hashtags #futureofaviation, #hydrogenpower, #climatefriendly, #greenaviation, #sustainabilityfacts, #weareresponsible and #whysustainabilitymatters, we regularly report on sustainability topics on all channels and in 2020, we launched a campaign to provide information about our contribution to the SDGs. → More about the SDGs

Reliable information for the capital market

We aim to provide sufficient and reliable information about MTU as a sustainable investment, and to this end we engage in regular dialogue with our investors, for example at the annual Capital Markets Day, roadshows and the Annual General Meeting. We also offer investors and analysts insight into our sustainability strategy and performance, for example in relation to climate action, via the CDP rating. → To our rating and rankings We also intend to follow the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) and appropriately present climate risks and opportunities for our business model as well as our contribution to the Paris Agreement and the EU Green Deal. We are currently collecting the necessary information and will publish it on our website.

Our stakeholder groups and dialogue platforms

Employees

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Health and safety

MTUnet (Social Intranet) and contact (employee magazine)

Career and advanced training opportunities

Employee surveys (PulsCheck)

Compensation and benefits

Need-based information from the HR department

Work-life balance

Dialog and information events

Diversity and equality of opportunity

Company suggestion scheme

Co-determination

Individual consulting sessions

 

Online learning portal

 

Welcome on Board program

Business partners and customers

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Product quality and safety

Voice of the customer

Sustainable technologies

Trade fairs

Product fuel efficiency

Corporate communications media channels

Human rights

Compliance

Suppliers

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Product quality and safety

Supplier portal

Environmental protection

Audits

Responsible sourcing

Supplier surveys

Compliance with MTU standards

Supplier Days

Capital market

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Product innovation/eco-efficiency

Annual General Meeting

Responsible corporate governance

Conferences and roadshows

Human rights

Investor discussions

Compliance

Trade fairs

Climate protection

Ratings

Risk management

Financial communications

Supplier management

Science and research

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Developing new technologies

Joint research projects

Promoting research and teaching

Work in MTU centers of excellence

Networking between industry and research

Trade fairs

Study of engineering and scientific disciplines

Visits from university student groups

Recruiting

Presentations/discussions at universities

Media

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Innovation and technologies

Press releases

Aviation sector/eco-efficiency

Press conferences and briefings

MTU as an employer

Plant tours

Financial issues

Internet / social media

Site development

Trade fairs

Compliance

Studies

Region

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Social commitment

Community partnerships

Climate protection

Internet / social media

MTU as an employer

Plant tours

Site development

Stakeholder survery

Compliance

Museum open house days

Politics, public agencies

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Developing and promoting technology

Parliamentary evening

Climate protection, eco-efficiency

Plant visits

Political frameworks and regulations

Trade fairs

Mobility concepts

Political discussions

Site development

Background talks

Demographic change

Visits by political delegations

Globalization

Compliance

Associations and organizations

Topics

Forms of dialogue

Eco-efficiency

Meetings and committees

Promoting innovation and technology

Participation in forums and events

Economic and labor policies

Studies

 

Expert discussions

 

Cooperations with NGOs

Political dialogue: Centrally coordinated representation of interests

MTU takes no party political position as a matter of principle. We purposely cultivate relationships with parties and factions on certain topics, as aviation is affected to no small degree by political decision-making, especially at the national and European levels. Our key points of contact include elected representatives and decision-makers from ministries at the state, federal and EU levels as well as from subordinate authorities and the German Armed Forces. To ensure transparency and adherence to external and internal regulations, MTU’s political dialogue is managed centrally by the Group Representation Office of the Corporate Communications department. In 2020, the main topics of the dialogue were emissions-free flight and hydrogen as the fuel of the future, as well as the impact of the coronavirus crisis on the aviation industry—for example, prospects for MTU sites or economic and labor market policy. We pursue our industry-specific interests through memberships in various professional associations.→ Overview of our memberships in the GRI index under Organizational profile

We do not make any financial or in-kind donations to political parties. All interactions in the political arena are carried out in compliance with the applicable legal and regulatory requirements and with our Code of Conduct, and must be granted central approval. Donations to political parties or party-affiliated organizations are generally subject to approval by the Supervisory Board. Mandatory requirements are stipulated in our compliance management system and Code of Conduct, including those relating to donations, sponsorship, customer events, in-house events, hospitality and corporate gifts. Compliance with these rules and regulations is the responsibility of the relevant manager in each case and is ensured by means of an internal monitoring system. We publish contacts with politicians on an ad hoc basis, e.g. during site visits. These days, many politicians themselves also report on visits and contacts. → Donations and sponsorship → Compliance


Services and tools


Global goals for sustainable development
Back to Top
Compliance
Feedback
X

Unternehmensführung

Im Austausch mit Gesellschaft und Politik

Stakeholder-Dialog

Ein konstruktiver und offener Dialog mit zentralen Anspruchsgruppen ist für unseren Geschäftserfolg mit entscheidend. Gerade in der aktuellen Zeit der Krise wollen wir den Stakeholdern ein hohes Maß an Orientierung und Transparenz bieten und in einem kontinuierlichen Austausch über Vorhaben und Fortschritte vor allem auch zu Nachhaltigkeitsthemen informieren.


graphic graphic

Coronabedingt fand die Hauptversammlung 2020 virtuell statt - die MTU-Vorstände gaben in einem Livestream Auskunft über die Geschäftsentwicklungen des Unternehmens und stellten sich den Fragen der Aktionär:innen.

Wir suchen einen vertrauensvollen und proaktiven Dialog mit zentralen Anspruchsgruppen der MTU, den wir auf einer regelmäßigen Basis führen. Die Frequenz richtet sich je nach Kommunikations- bzw. Informationsbedarf. Wir verfolgen dabei zwei Ziele. Wir wollen eine breite Akzeptanz für unser unternehmerisches Handeln in der Gesellschaft schaffen und über Herausforderungen, Entwicklungen und Technologien hinsichtlich einer nachhaltigen Luftfahrt informieren. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei unser Anliegen, langfristig eine emissionsfreie Luftfahrt mit neuartigen Antriebskonzepten zu erreichen. Im Stakeholder-Dialog greifen wir zudem Anregungen, Erwartungen und Kritik sowie neue Themen rechtzeitig auf. Dies unterstützt uns darin, die Auswirkungen unserer Aktivitäten und Produkte auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft zu bewerten → Wesentlichkeitsanalyse. Mitarbeiter:innen geben wir im Stakeholder-Dialog die Möglichkeit zum Feedback und zur Partizipation, über Befragungen wie das 2020 neu eingeführte Stimmungsbarometer PulsCheck holen wir Standpunkte und Meinungen unserer Mitarbeiter:innen gerade in der aktuellen, stark von dynamischen Veränderungen geprägten Zeit regelmäßig ein. Wir haben uns das Unternehmensziel gesetzt, unseren Stakeholdern ein hohes Maß an Sicherheit und Orientierung in der Krise zu bieten. Wir stärken dadurch das Vertrauen in die MTU.

Stakeholder sind Einzelpersonen, Gruppen oder Organisationen, die in einer regelmäßigen Wechselwirkung mit der MTU stehen. Wichtige Anspruchsgruppen sind Mitarbeiter:innen, Kunden, Geschäftspartner, Lieferanten und Aktionär:innen. Darüber hinaus sind wir im kontinuierlichen Austausch mit Vertreter:innen aus Wissenschaft und Forschung, Kapitalmarkt, Medien und Politik sowie mit Verbänden, NGOs, Arbeitnehmervertreter:innen, Nachbar:innen und Kommunen.

Wir kommunizieren über verschiedene Kanäle und Plattformen mit unseren Stakeholdern, um ihre Interessen einzubeziehen und Feedback aufzugreifen. Der Dialog erfolgt meist zielgruppen- oder themenspezifisch. An unseren Standorten suchen wir den direkten lokalen Dialog mit der Gesellschaft, zum Beispiel mit Vertreter:innen von Gemeinden, aus der Nachbarschaft oder anderen Interessensgruppen. 

Online-Befragung zu Nachhaltigkeit

Auf unserer Website stellen wir übergreifend unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zur Diskussion. Knapp 70 Einzelmeinungen haben wir hierüber allein 2020 eingesammelt und ausgewertet. Zum Fragebogen

Aufgrund der Cornavirus-Pandemie fanden viele Veranstaltungen im Berichtsjahr virtuell statt, darunter auch die Luftfahrtmesse wie die ILA in Berlin mit den AeroDays2020. Die Panels der AeroDays mit MTU-Beteiligung sind auf YouTube zu finden

Zentrale Themen in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit im Stakeholder-Dialog waren 2020 vor allem der Klimaschutz in der Luftfahrt und insbesondere die Reduzierung der CO2-Emissionen der Produkte und in der Produktion, emissionsfreies Fliegen als langfristiges Ziel, Sustainable Aviation Fuels (SAF) vor allem mit dem Schwerpunkt Wasserstoff, Menschenrechte in der Lieferkette, Sustainable Finance und soziale Themen wie Diversity oder das Bildungskapital unserer Mitarbeiter:innen. Wir kommunizieren verstärkt auch über Social Media zu Nachhaltigkeit. Aktuell haben die MTU-Kanäle rund 68.000 Follower, Tendenz steigend. Unter den Hashtags #futureofaviation, #hydrogenpower, #climatefriendly #greenaviation #sustainabilityfacts #weareresponsible #whysustainabilitymatters berichten wir regelmäßig über Nachhaltigkeitsthemen auf allen Kanälen und haben 2020 in einer Kampagne über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs informiert. → Mehr zu den SDGs

Verlässliche Informationen für den Kapitalmarkt

Wir wollen über die MTU als nachhaltiges Anlageninvestment ausreichend und zuverlässig informieren und sind dazu in einem regelmäßigen Austausch mit unseren Investoren, zum Beispiel beim jährlichen Kapitalmarkttag, auf Roadshows oder auf der Hauptversammlung. Wir bieten Investoren und Analysten darüber hinaus Einblick in unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und -leistungen zum Beispiel in Bezug auf den Klimaschutz über das CDP-Rating → Zu unseren Rating & Rankings. Auch wollen wir nach den Empfehlungen der Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) Klimarisiken und -chancen für unser Geschäftsmodell und unseren Beitrag zum Pariser Klimaabkommen und zum EU Green Deal angemessen darstellen. Hier befinden wir uns derzeit in der Zusammenstellung der Informationen, die wir auf unserer Website veröffentlichen werden.  

Unsere Stakeholder-Gruppen und Dialogformate

Mitarbeiter:innen

Themen

Dialogformen

Gesundheit und Sicherheit

MTUnet (Social Intranet) und contact (Mitarbeiterzeitung)

Karriere- und Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten

Mitarbeiterbefragung (PulsCheck)

Compensations and Benefits

Bedarfsorientierte Informationen der HR-Abteilung

Work-Life-Balance

Dialog- und Informationsveranstaltungen

Vielfalt & Chancengleichheit

Betriebliches Vorschlagswesen

Mitbestimmung

Individuelle Beratungsgespräche

 

Mitarbeiter-Lernportal

 

Welcome on Board-Veranstaltung

Geschäftspartner und Kunden

Themen

Dialogformen

Produktqualität und -sicherheit

Voice of the Customer

Nachhaltige Technologien

Messen

Kraftstoffeffizienz der Produkte

Medien der Unternehmenskommunikation

Menschenrechte

Compliance

Lieferanten

Themen

Dialogformen

Produktqualität und -sicherheit

Lieferantenportal

Umweltschutz

Audits

Responsible Sourcing

Lieferantenbefragungen

Compliance mit MTU-Standards

Lieferanten-Tag

Kapitalmarkt

Themen

Dialogformen

Produktinnovationen/Ökoeffizienz

Hauptversammlung

Verantwortungsvolle Unternehmensführung

Konferenzen und Roadshows

Menschenrechte

Investorengespräche

Compliance

Messen

Umweltschutz

Ratings

Risikomanagement

Finanzkommunikation

Lieferantenmanagement

Wissenschaft und Forschung

Themen

Dialogformen

Entwicklung neuer Technologien

Gemeinsame Forschungsprojekte

Förderung von Forschung und Lehre

Arbeit in den MTU-Kompetenzzentren

Vernetzung von Industrie und Forschung

Messen

Ausbildung in ingenieur- und naturwissenschaftlichen Studiengängen

Besuch von Hochschulgruppen

Recruiting

Vorträge/Diskussionen an Hochschulen

Medien

Themen

Dialogformen

Innovation und Technologien

Presseinformationen

Luftfahrtbranche/Ökoeffizienz

Pressekonferenzen und -gespräche

MTU als Arbeitgeber

Werksführungen

Finanzen

Internet/Social Media

Standortentwicklung

Messen

Compliance

Studien

Region

Themen

Dialogformen

Gesellschaftliches Engagement

Gesellschaftliche Kooperationen

Umweltschutz

Internet/Social Media

MTU als Arbeitgeber

Werksbesuche

Standortentwicklung

Stakeholder-Befragung

Compliance

Museumsöffnungen

Politik und Behörden

Themen

Dialogformen

Technologieentwicklung und -förderung

Parlamentarischer Abend

Klimaschutz, Ökoeffizienz

Werksbesuche

Politische Rahmenbedingungen und Regularien

Messen

Mobilitätskonzepte

Politische Gespräche

Standortentwicklung

Hintergrundgespräche

Demografischer Wandel

Delegationsreisen von Politikern

Globalisierung

Compliance

Verbände und Organisationen

Themen

Dialogformen

Ökoeffizienz

Sitzungen und Ausschüsse

Innovationen und Technologieförderung

Teilnahme an Foren und Veranstaltungen

Wirtschafts- und Arbeitspolitik

Studien

 

Expertengespräche

 

Kooperationen mit NGOs

 

Politischer Dialog: Interessensvertretung zentral koordiniert

Die MTU positioniert sich grundsätzlich nicht parteipolitisch. Wir pflegen den Umgang mit Parteien und Fraktionen zweckgebunden zu bestimmten Themen, da die Luftfahrt in besonderem Maße von politischen Entscheidungen vor allem auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene betroffen ist. Unsere Ansprechpartner:innen sind Abgeordnete und Entscheider:innen aus Ministerien auf Bundes-, Landes- und EU-Ebene sowie aus nachgeordneten Behörden und der Bundeswehr. Zur Transparenz und Einhaltung externer und interner Vorgaben steuert der Bereich Unternehmenskommunikation (Konzernrepräsentanz) zentral den politischen Dialog der MTU. Themen im Dialog waren 2020 vor allem das emissionsfreie Fliegen und Wasserstoff als Kraftstoff der Zukunft sowie die Auswirkungen der Corona-Krise auf die Luftfahrtbranche, zum Beispiel Perspektiven für die MTU-Standorte oder die Wirtschafts- und Arbeitsmarktpolitik. Branchenspezifische Interessen vertreten wir über Verbandsmitgliedschaften. → Übersicht über unsere Mitgliedschaften im GRI-Index unter Organisationsprofil

Wir leisten keine finanziellen Zuwendungen oder Sachspenden an politische Parteien. Alle Interaktionen im politischen Raum unterliegen geltenden Gesetzen, Richtlinien und unserem Verhaltenskodex sowie einer zentralen Freigabe. Spenden an politische Parteien bzw. parteinahe Organisationen sind grundsätzlich zustimmungspflichtig seitens des Aufsichtsrats. Unser Compliance-Managementsystem und die Verhaltensgrundsätze enthalten verbindliche Vorgaben, darunter Regelungen zu Spenden, Sponsoring und Kunden-Events, Betriebsveranstaltungen, Bewirtungen sowie Werbegeschenken. Die Einhaltung dieser Regeln liegt in der Verantwortung der jeweiligen Führungskraft und wird darüber hinaus durch ein internes Kontrollsystem gewährleistet. Wir veröffentlichen Kontakte mit Politker:innen anlassbezogen, z.B. bei Standortbesuchen. Inzwischen berichten viele Politiker:innen auch selbst über Besuche und Kontakte. → Spenden & Sponsoring → Compliance


Services & Tools


Globale Entwicklungsziele
Back to Top
Compliance
Feedback
X