Corporate governance

We take responsibility

Sustainability strategy and organization

Aviation is on the threshold of fundamental change. As an engine manufacturer and key player in the sector, we want to actively drive these changes and help shape them. Climate action is a focus of our activities, especially in product development. Ultimately, our mission is to achieve to emissions-free flight. In addition, as a manufacturing company and employer of some 10,000 people, we aim to act responsibly in all key areas.


graphic

Emissions-free flight is our vision for a sustainable future for aviation. We want to develop the propulsion concepts that this will require. Alongside this technological focus, MTU also attaches great importance to social and ecological matters with regard to its activities.

Shouldering responsibility is simply part of our corporate identity. This sense of responsibility is reflected in every area of our business and extends to the entire value chain. A sustainability strategy and the corresponding management systems have been established throughout the Group. For over ten years, we have been driven by our vision of “We shape the future of aviation”—a vision that is more relevant now than ever. This future can only be a sustainable one—in harmony with ecological and social aspects.

Corporate responsibility (CR) at MTU: Our claim and fields of action

As a technology leader, we play a decisive role in making aviation sustainable and achieving emissions-free flight through innovative propulsion solutions. In doing so, we stand for responsible and environmentally friendly production, maintenance and procurement and offer a safe and attractive working environment.

CR fields of activity at MTU

graphic

We have set targets for each field of action: MTU’s Sustainability Program 2025+

UN Global Compact and Sustainable Development Goals

graphic graphic

The UN Global Compact is a unique sustainability initiative that we joined in 2011. As a signatory, we are committed to upholding the ten principles for respecting human rights, ensuring fair working conditions, protecting the environment and preventing corruption. We consider them important guidelines for responsible corporate governance. We strive to continuously improve the way in which we implement the principles. And through our Code of Conduct we also transfer them to the supply chain. This Sustainability Report also serves to outline progress made in accordance with the UNGC. Cross-references of the statements published here to the UNGC principles can be found in the GRI Index.

As a signatory of the UN Global Compact, we also want to contribute to the UN Agenda 2030. At the core of the agenda are 17 goals for sustainable development, or SDGs for short. These goals embrace the three dimensions of sustainability—economy, environment and society—in equal measure. We support the implementation of the SDGs and have identified eight that are particularly relevant for MTU:

Quality education
Gender equality
Decent work and economic growth
Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Responsible consumption and production
Climate action
Peace, justice and strong institutions
Partnerships for the goals

This was the result of a workshop in which the CR team considered all 17 SDGs and assessed their significance for MTU. In the process, the eight stated goals were prioritized. Our efforts for a sustainable future also have an impact on other SDGs; here we can make an indirect positive contribution, such as to SDG 10 on “Reduced inequalities.”

→ Learn more about our contribution to the SDGs

Standards and guidelines that we follow:

Paris Agreement

MTU is committed to the goal of limiting global warming preferably to 1.5 degrees Celsius by 2050, as set out in the Paris Agreement, and wants to play a part in paving the way for the decarbonization of the industry. We follow our technology roadmap to help us achieve our long-term goal of zero-emission aviation. Our roadmap helps us develop sustainable propulsion concepts that meet the high safety standards of aviation, greatly improving energy and emissions footprints and reducing aircraft noise. We firmly believe that taking a sustainable approach to our business will allow us to remain competitive and successful in the long term. Because stakeholder expectations are clear: the players in aviation, especially aircraft and engine manufacturers, must find clever answers and intelligent solutions to the current challenges. Passengers want to have a significantly lower impact on the environment and on the climate when they travel by air in the future. More on aligning our product stewardship with the Paris Agreement in the chapter Climate impact of aircraft engines

We also want to implement concepts for our own business activities, in production and repair at our plants, that reduce our carbon footprint and go as far as achieving climate neutrality. More on this under Emissions

 

Report structure and cross-references of sustainability topics to the SDGs

All the topics we have identified as relevant to our sustainability strategy are reflected in this report. They are cross-referenced to the four aspects into which this report is structured: corporate governance, product stewardship, value creation, and employees and society. The topics are selected and weighted in the course of a materiality analysis in which we defined a total of 24 strategic focus topics.

Corporate governance

Gender equality
Decent work and economic growth
Peace, justice and strong institutions

Material topics

Chapter in the report

Relevance for MTU along the value chain

 

 

Upstream activities (e.g. supply chain)

Activities within the MTU group

Downstream activities (e.g. flights operated by airlines)

Trade compliance

Compliance

significant

significant

significant

Anti-corruption

Compliance

significant

significant

significant

Human rights

Human rights

significant

significant

significant

IT security

Compliance

significant

significant

significant

Data protection

Compliance

significant

significant

significant

Product stewardship

Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Responsible consumption and production
Climate action
Partnerships for the goals

Material topics

Chapter in the report

Relevance for MTU along the value chain

 

 

Upstream activities (e.g. supply chain)

Activities within the MTU group

Downstream activities (e.g. flights operated by airlines)

Product quality and flight safety

Product quality and flight safety

significant

significant

significant

Innovation

Research & development

significant

significant

significant

Climate impact in operation

Climate impact of aircraft engines

 

significant

significant

Fuel effiency of products

Climate impact of aircraft engines

 

significant

significant

Health impact in operation

Health impact of aircraft engines

 

significant

significant

Value creation

Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Responsible consumption and production
Climate action
Peace, justice and strong institutions
Partnerships for the goals

Material topics

Chapter in the report

Relevance for MTU along the value chain

 

 

Upstream activities (e.g. supply chain)

Activities within the MTU group

Downstream activities (e.g. flights operated by airlines)

CO 2 emissions at production sites

Emissions

 

significant

 

Environmental management: water

Conservation of resources

 

significant

 

Environmental management: energy

Conservation of resources

 

significant

 

Noise abatement at production sites

Environmental management

 

significant

 

Environmental management: waste

Conservation of resources

 

significant

 

Responsible sourcing OEM business

Supplier management

significant

significant

significant

Responsible sourcing MRO business

Supplier management

significant

significant

significant

Employees and society

Quality education
Gender equality
Decent work and economic growth
Partnerships for the goals

Material topics

Chapter in the report

Relevance for MTU along the value chain

 

 

Upstream activities (e.g. supply chain)

Activities within the MTU group

Downstream activities (e.g. flights operated by airlines)

Employee development

Employee development

 

significant

significant

Occupational safety

Occupational health and safety

significant

significant

significant

Diversity and equality of opportunity

Diversity and inclusion

 

significant

 

Work-life balance

Collaboration and leadership

 

significant

 

Health management

Occupational health and safety

 

significant

 

Stakeholder dialog

Stakeholder dialog

 

significant

significant

Corporate citizenship

Corporate social responsibility

 

significant

 

How do we determine the material topics? Our analysis and weighting

We review our sustainability strategy annually as regards the latest changes and developments, refining our priorities in the process. This allows us to recognize opportunities and risks for our business in good time and to honor our claim of being a company that acts in a sustainable manner. In this materiality analysis, we evaluate the topics using defined criteria. These criteria correspond to each topic’s significance for our business activities and how these affect society and the environment. The criteria for the two aspects of business relevance and impact on third parties are incorporated into the evaluation according to a defined weighting scheme. The analysis covers all our key business areas and fully consolidated locations as well as information gathered from our dialogue with internal and external stakeholders, which helps us address societal expectations and requirements. → More information about Stakeholder dialogue We present the results for the respective financial year in our materiality matrix.

The materiality analysis takes place in a multi-stage process: It is managed by the central CR coordination team, with analysis of the key topics performed by the CR divisional coordinators within the departments. Next comes a workshop in which the interdisciplinary CR team discuss the evaluation of the topics and their position within the materiality matrix. Acting as the ultimate decision-making body for sustainability, the CR Board then signs off on the matrix and the risk assessment for the sustainability topics. The Executive Board and the Supervisory Board’s Audit Committee are involved in the materiality determination process.

Results for 2020: Climate action continues to grow in importance

The determination of materiality for the 2020 business year identified a total of 24 topics. Changes from the previous year mainly relate to sustainable product stewardship and climate action at our production sites. For one thing, aviation’s climate impact is not based on CO2 emissions alone, as contrails and cloud formation also have an impact on the climate; for another, more attention is being paid to the impact on air quality. A reevaluation of the topics for eco-efficient engines led to the following changes: CO2 emissions from products and other climate effects that are not attributable to CO2 emissions are combined under the heading Climate impact in product use. Fuel efficiency in the sense of environmentally friendly resource consumption is treated as a separate topic. Our approach to product development is described in detail in the chapter Climate impact of aircraft engines. Exhaust and noise emissions from aircraft engines are now gathered under the heading Health impact of product use. This topic’s evaluation reflects both aspects. Another significant change relates to climate action in our production and maintenance operations. CO2 emissions at the production sites have become significantly more relevant. The topic of diversity has also gained in importance due to recent developments, such as the Black Lives Matter movement in the United States or the planned legislation in Germany on having more women in prominent management positions.

Materiality matrix: Important sustainability topics and their weighting

graphic

Evaluation of topics for the financial year 2020 adopts the materiality concept in accordance with the legal implementation of CSR guidelines in Germany (CSR-RUG)

 

 

Organization and management of sustainability

We have integrated sustainability into organizational structures and established sustainability management throughout the MTU Group. A Corporate Responsibility (CR) Board is responsible for the implementation of CR management on behalf of the Executive Board. Through the CR management system, we monitor our sustainability strategy, performance and goals. The CR Board acts as the system’s decision-making authority, drawing its members from the tier-1 senior management team. It is responsible for driving the topic of sustainability forward at MTU. The CR Board meets regularly and as required. The CR Board is in charge of CR activities at MTU and implements relevant actions and initiatives. It reports regularly to the Executive and Supervisory Boards. If needed, representatives from further operational functions are invited to the meetings. A central CR coordination team manages Group-wide sustainability activities, overall CR management, communication with stakeholders about CR topics, and reporting on CR issues. It also works with an interdisciplinary CR team to continuously develop CR management.

CR Board mission statement

We assume responsibility for society and the environment in harmony with economic requirements.

→ We are actively expanding our Group-wide sustainability strategy.
→ Together with the Executive Board and other decision-makers, we are developing measurable targets
for the implementation of MTU’s sustainability strategy.
→ We promote interdisciplinary cooperation in CR projects within the company as well as in
CR networks beyond company boundaries.

At the heart of this interdisciplinary CR team are the CR divisional coordinators. They play an important part in operational implementation, working with experts in their disciplines to develop goals and measures, implement them, and take responsibility for monitoring their progress. In collaboration with the representatives in the business areas, the divisional coordinators are heavily involved in shaping the strategic focus of their respective CR goals and developing these goals over time. CR management officers at the sites support the CR divisional coordinators and the overall CR coordination team. The CR team also jointly conducts the annual materiality analysis for the sustainability topics. By implementing this organizational structure, we ensure that sustainability is embedded throughout the entire company for all relevant topics.

CR management at MTU

graphic

We have a CR management system in place to steer our sustainability strategy. The CR Board makes the decisions, a central CR coordination team manages Group-wide sustainability activities and overall CR management, and the CR divisional coordinators work to develop and implement goals and measures in their disciplines.

  

Risk management

We integrate sustainability risks into our internal control system, and map and evaluate them using defined processes. MTU has established a Group-wide integrated risk management and control system, based on the leading international COSO II ERM Framework standard, with which it manages risks and opportunities for its business. The system also takes into account non-financial risks. For the topic of compliance, MTU has established a separate risk assessment and a separate reporting line, which the Compliance Officer coordinates.

Building on these processes, the company conducts a quarterly risk survey about sustainability topics that are deemed of high materiality in the materiality analysis. In consultation with their upper management, the CR divisional coordinators conduct the survey according to standardized criteria and use a scale similar to the one for risk management. The results of the risk assessment are reviewed quarterly by the CR Board. If necessary, the Board passes the report on to the risk management team and, if appropriate, to the Executive Board.

The risk assessment for financial year 2020 identified no material risks in relation to the top issues of our CR strategy. Material risks are those that are very likely and have a severe negative impact.

For the current 2021 business year, we have revised the risk analysis to better assess the impact of our business activities on the environment and society. Crucial to this is a new risk register that can more accurately identify risk, look at defined time horizons and better capture the potential impact and probability of occurrence. In addition, we have extended sustainability risk management to all topics covered by the strategy in order to identify risks at an early stage.

 

Sustainability ratings and rankings

MTU’s performance with regard to non-financial indicators is also regularly assessed by capital-market analysts and independent experts. The company is currently listed in the following sustainability indexes and rankings:

ISS ESG

graphic

MTU Aero Engines is rated Prime Status (C+) in the overall rating.

www.oekom-research.com


CDP

graphic

In this global carbon accounting of the annual climate footprint, we received a score of B in 2020.

www.cdp.net


MSCI ESG Research

MTU Aero Engines is rated AA.

www.msci.com/esg-ratings

Outlook

We have started to further expand our Group-wide sustainability strategy. In doing so, we want to set ourselves more Group-wide goals for the medium to long term in order to further integrate sustainability into our processes and decisions. In addition, non-financial performance indicators will be included in the variable compensation for the Executive Board starting in 2021.


Services and tools


Photo: www.airbus.com

Corporate governance
Back to Top
Our goals 2025+
Feedback
X

Unternehmensführung

Wir übernehmen Verantwortung

Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und -organisation

Die Luftfahrt steht an der Schwelle zu grundlegenden Veränderungen. Als Antriebshersteller und wichtiger Akteur der Branche wollen wir diese Veränderungen aktiv mitgestalten und vorantreiben. Der Klimaschutz ist ein Fokus unserer Aktivitäten vor allem in der Produktentwicklung. Unsere Mission reicht dabei bis zum emissionsfreien Fliegen. Darüber hinaus haben wir als produzierendes Unternehmen und Arbeitgeber von rund 10.000 Mitarbeiter:innen den Anspruch, nachhaltig in allen wesentlichen Bereichen zu handeln.


graphic

Emissionsfreies Fliegen ist unsere Vision für eine nachhaltige Zukunft der Luftfahrt. Wir wollen die dafür notwendigen Antriebskonzepte entwickeln. Neben diesem technologischen Anspruch sind uns auch soziale und ökologische Aspekte in der MTU-Welt wichtig. 

Verantwortung zu übernehmen gehört für uns zum unternehmerischen Selbstverständnis. Diese Verantwortung zeigt sich in allen Bereichen unseres wirtschaftlichen Handelns und schließt die gesamte Wertschöpfung ein. Eine Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie und entsprechende Managementsysteme sind konzernweit etabliert. Unsere Vision „Wir gestalten die Zukunft der Luftfahrt“ treibt uns bereits seit mehr als zehn Jahren voran und ist heute aktueller denn je. Diese Zukunft kann dabei nur eine nachhaltige sein – im Einklang mit ökologischen und sozialen Aspekten.

 

Anspruch & Handlungsfelder unserer Corporate Responsibility (CR)

Wir tragen als Technologieführer durch innovative Antriebslösungen entscheidend zu einer nachhaltigen Luftfahrt bis hin zum emissionsfreien Fliegen bei. Dabei stehen wir für eine verantwortungsvolle und umweltschonende Produktion, Instandhaltung und Beschaffung und bieten eine sichere und attraktive Arbeitsumgebung.

Die CR-Handlungsfelder der MTU

graphic

Für jedes Handlungsfeld haben wir uns Ziele gesetzt: Das Nachhaltigkeitsprogramm 2025+ der MTU

UN Global Compact & Sustainable Development Goals

graphic graphic

Der UN Global Compact ist eine weltweit einmalige Nachhaltigkeitsinitiative, der wir 2011 beigetreten sind. Als Unterzeichner verpflichten wir uns zur Einhaltung der zehn Prinzipien zur Achtung der Menschenrechte, zu fairen Arbeitsbedingungen, zum Umweltschutz und zu Anti-Korruption. Sie sind  für uns wichtige Leitplanken einer verantwortungsvollen Unternehmensführung. Bei der Umsetzung der Prinzipien streben wir nach ständiger Verbesserung. Wir geben sie über unseren Code of Conduct auch an die Lieferkette weiter. Dieser Nachhaltigkeitsbericht ist zugleich Fortschrittsbericht zum UNGC. Eine Zuordnung der hier veröffentlichten Aussagen zu den UNGC-Prinzipien findet sich hier

Als Unterzeichner des UN Global Compact wollen wir gleichzeitig einen Beitrag zur UN-Agenda 2030 leisten. Das Kernstück der Agenda sind 17 Ziele für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs). Diese Ziele berücksichtigen die drei Dimensionen der Nachhaltigkeit – Wirtschaft, Umwelt und Soziales – gleichermaßen. Wir unterstützen die Umsetzung der SDGs und haben für uns acht Ziele identifiziert, die für die MTU besonders relevant sind:

Hochwertige Bildung
Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter
Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Dies war das Ergebnis eines Workshops, in dem das CR-Team alle 17 SDGs betrachtet und auf ihre Bedeutung für die MTU hin bewertet hatte. Dabei wurden die acht genannten Ziele priorisiert. Unsere Bemühungen für eine nachhaltige Zukunft haben darüber hinaus Auswirkungen auf weitere SDGs, hier können wir mittelbar positiv beitragen, wie z.B. zu SDG 10 „Ungleichheiten reduzieren".

→ Erfahren Sie mehr über unseren Beitrag zu den SDGs

Standards und Leitlinien, an denen wir uns orientieren:

Pariser Klimaabkommen

Die MTU bekennt sich zum Pariser Klimaziel, die Erderwärmung bis 2050 auf möglichst 1,5 Grad Celsius zu begrenzen, und will den Weg einer Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft mit bestreiten. Wir streben langfristig über unsere Technologie-Roadmap eine emissionsfreie Luftfahrt an. Mit der Roadmap erarbeiten wir innovative Antriebskonzepte, die die hohen Sicherheitsstandards der Luftfahrt gewährleisten, Energie- und Emissionsbilanzen signifkant verbessern und den Fluglärm reduzieren. Wir sind überzeugt: Mit dieser nachhaltigen Ausrichtung unseres Geschäfts bleiben wir auf Dauer wettbewerbsfähig und erfolgreich. Denn die Erwartungen der Stakeholder sind klar: Die Akteure der Luftfahrt, insbesondere Flugzeug- und Antriebshersteller, müssen kluge Antworten und intelligente Lösungen auf die aktuellen Herausforderungen finden. Passagiere wollen, wenn sie in Zukunft mit dem Flugzeug reisen, die Umwelt und das Klima deutlich weniger belasten. Mehr zur Ausrichtung unserer Produktverantwortung auf das Pariser Klimaziel im Kapitel „Klimawirkung von Flugzeugantrieben"

Auch für unsere eigene Geschäftstätigkeit, in der Produktion und der Instandsetzung in unseren Werken, wollen wir Konzepte umsetzen, die den CO2-Footprint reduzieren und die bis hin zur Klimaneutralität reichen. Mehr dazu unter „Emissionen"

 

Berichtsstruktur & Zuordnung der Nachhaltigkeitsthemen zu den SDGs

Alle Themen, die wir für unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie als relevant eingestuft haben, finden sich in diesem Bericht wieder. Sie sind den vier Aspekten Unternehmensführung, Produktverantwortung, Wertschöpfung und Mitarbeiter:innen & Gesellschaft zugeordnet, nach denen dieser Bericht strukturiert ist. Auswahl und Gewichtung der Themen erfolgen in einer Wesentlichkeitsanalyse, in der wir insgesamt 24 Themen für unsere strategische Ausrichtung festgemacht haben. 

Unternehmensführung

Hochwertige Bildung
Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter
Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen

Wesentliche Themen

Kapitel im Bericht

Relevanz für die MTU entlang der Wertschöpfungskette

 

 

Vorgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Lieferkette)

Aktivitäten im MTU-Konzern

Nachgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Flugbetrieb der Airlines)

Trade Compliance

Compliance

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Anti-Korruption

Compliance

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Menschenrechte

Menschenrechte

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

IT-Security

Compliance

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Datenschutz

Compliance

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Produktverantwortung

Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion
Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Wesentliche Themen

Kapitel im Bericht

Relevanz für die MTU entlang der Wertschöpfungskette

 

 

Vorgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Lieferkette)

Aktivitäten im MTU-Konzern

Nachgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Flugbetrieb der Airlines)

Produktqualität und Flugsicherheit

Produktqualität und Flugsicherheit

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Innovation

Forschung und Entwicklung

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Klimawirkung der Produktnutzung

Klimawirkung von Flugzeugantrieben

 

signifikant

signifikant

Kraftstoffeffizienz der Produkte

Klimawirkung von Flugzeugantrieben

 

signifikant

signifikant

Gesundheitsauswirkungen der Produktnutzung

Gesundheitsauswirkungen von Flugzeugantrieben

 

signifikant

signifikant

Wertschöpfung

Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
Nachhaltige/r Konsum und Produktion
Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Wesentliche Themen

Kapitel im Bericht

Relevanz für die MTU entlang der Wertschöpfungskette

 

 

Vorgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Lieferkette)

Aktivitäten im MTU-Konzern

Nachgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Flugbetrieb der Airlines)

CO 2 -Emissionen Produktionsstandorte

Emissionen

 

signifikant

 

Umweltmanagement: Wasser

Ressourcenschutz

 

signifikant

 

Umweltmanagement: Energie

Ressourcenschutz

 

signifikant

 

Lärmschutz Produktionsstandorte

Umweltmanagement

 

signifikant

 

Umweltmanagement: Abfall

Ressourcenschutz

 

signifikant

 

Responsible Sourcing OEM

Lieferantenmanagement

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Responsible Sourcing MRO

Lieferantenmanagement

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Mitarbeiter:innen & Gesellschaft

Hochwertige Bildung
Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter
Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele

Wesentliche Themen

Kapitel im Bericht

Relevanz für die MTU entlang der Wertschöpfungskette

 

 

Vorgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Lieferkette)

Aktivitäten im MTU-Konzern

Nachgelagerte Aktivitäten (z.B. Flugbetrieb der Airlines)

Mitarbeiterentwicklung

Mitarbeiterentwicklung

 

signifikant

signifikant

Arbeitssicherheit

Arbeitssicherheit & Gesundheitsschutz

signifikant

signifikant

signifikant

Vielfalt und Chancengleichheit

Vielfalt und Inklusion

 

signifikant

 

Work-Life Balance

Zusammenarbeit & Führung

 

signifikant

 

Gesundheitsmanagement

Arbeitssicherheit & Gesundheitsschutz

 

signifikant

 

Stakeholder-Dialog

Stakeholder-Dialog

 

signifikant

signifikant

Corporate Citizenship

Gesellschaftliches Engagement

 

signifikant

 

Wie kommen wir zu den wesentlichen Themen? Unsere Analyse und Gewichtung

Wir überprüfen jährlich unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie im Hinblick auf aktuelle Veränderungen und Entwicklungen und passen unsere Schwerpunktsetzung an. Dadurch können wir Chancen und Risiken für unser Geschäft rechtzeitig erkennen und unserem Anspruch als ein nachhaltig handelndes Unternehmen gerecht werden. In dieser Wesentlichkeitsanalyse bewerten wir die Themen nach vorgegebenen Kriterien. Diese beziehen sich auf die Bedeutung eines Themas für unsere Geschäftsaktivitäten und auf dessen Auswirkungen auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft. Die Kriterien für die beiden Aspekte Geschäftsrelevanz und Auswirkungen auf Dritte fließen nach einer festgelegten Gewichtung in die Bewertung ein. Die Analyse umfasst alle relevanten Unternehmensbereiche und vollkonsolidierten Standorte sowie Informationen aus unserem Dialog mit internen und externen Stakeholdern, der uns hilft, Erwartungen und Ansprüche aufzugreifen. → Mehr zum Stakeholder-Dialog Die Ergebnisse bilden wir in unserer Wesentlichkeitsmatrix für das jeweilige Geschäftsjahr ab.

Die Wesentlichkeitsanalyse erfolgt in einem mehrstufigen Prozess: Die Steuerung übernimmt die zentrale CR-Koordination, die Analyse der wesentlichen Themen erfolgt durch die CR-Fachkoordinator:innen in den Fachbereichen. Anschließend diskutiert das interdisziplinäre CR-Team in einem Workshop die Bewertung der Themen und ihre Positionierung in der Wesentlichkeitsmatrix. Das CR-Board verabschiedet als übergeordnetes Managementgremium für Nachhaltigkeit die Matrix und die Risikobewertung der Nachhaltigkeitsthemen. Der Vorstand und der Prüfungsausschuss des Aufsichtsrats sind in den Prozess der Wesentlichkeitsbestimmung eingebunden.

Ergebnisse 2020: Klimaschutz gewinnt weiter an Bedeutung

Die Bestimmung der Wesentlichkeit für das Geschäftsjahr 2020 hat zu insgesamt 24 Themen geführt. Veränderungen zum Vorjahr betreffen vor allem eine nachhaltige Produktverantwortung und den Klimaschutz an unseren Produktionsstandorten. Einerseits beruht die Klimawirkung durch den Luftverkehr nicht allein auf der CO2-Emission, sondern Kondensstreifen und Wolkenbildungen haben ebenfalls Einfluss auf das Klima und andererseits rücken Auswirkungen auf die Luftqualität mehr in den Fokus. In der Neubewertung der Themen für ökoeffiziente Antriebe hat das zu folgenden Veränderungen geführt: CO2-Emissionen der Produkte und weitere Klimaeffekte, die nicht auf CO2-Emissionen zurückgehen, sind unter „Klimawirkung in der Produktnutzung" zusammengefasst. Kraftstoffeffizienz im Sinne eines umweltschonenden Ressourcenverbrauchs wird als eigenes Thema fortgeführt. Unser Ansatz in der Produktentwicklung ist ausführlich im Kapitel „Klimawirkung von Flugzeugantrieben" dargestellt. Abgas- und Lärmemissionen, die von Flugzeugantrieben ausgehen, sind fortan unter „Gesundheitsauswirkungen der Produktnutzung" gebündelt. Die Bewertung des Themas spiegelt beide Aspekte wider. Eine weitere signifikante Veränderung betrifft den Klimaschutz in unserer Produktion und Instandhaltung. „CO2-Emissionen an den Produktionsstandorten" hat deutlich an Relevanz zugenommen. Auch das Thema Diversity hat aufgrund aktueller Entwicklungen wie die Black-Live-Matters-Bewegung in den USA oder die geplante Gesetzgebung in Deutschland für mehr Frauen in herausgehobenen Führungspositionen an Bedeutung gewonnen.

Wesentlichkeitsmatrix: Bedeutende Nachhaltigkeitsthemen und ihre Gewichtung

graphic

Bewertung der Themen für das Geschäftsjahr 2020 nach dem Wesentlichkeitsbegriff gemäß der gesetzlichen Umsetzung der CSR.Richtlinie in Deutschland (CSR-RUG)

 

Organisation und Management von Nachhaltigkeit

Wir haben Nachhaltigkeit in die Organisation integriert und ein Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement über den MTU-Konzern etabliert. Ein Corporate Responsibility (CR)-Board verantwortet im Auftrag des Vorstands die Umsetzung des CR-Managements. Über das CR-Management steuern wir unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, -leistungen und -ziele. Das CR-Board agiert als Entscheidungsgremium und ist mit Mitgliedern des oberen Führungskreises aus Zentralfunktionen besetzt. Es ist dafür verantwortlich, Nachhaltigkeit im Unternehmen voranzutreiben. Das CR-Board tagt regelmäßig sowie nach Bedarf. Das CR-Board steuert die CR-Aktivitäten in der MTU und verabschiedet entsprechende Maßnahmen und Initiativen. Es berichtet regelmäßig an den Vorstand und den Aufsichtsrat. Bei Bedarf werden zu den Sitzungen Vertreter:innen zusätzlicher Fachfunktionen eingeladen. Eine zentrale CR-Koordination steuert die gruppenweiten Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten und das übergeordnete CR-Management, den Stakeholder-Dialog speziell zu CR, übernimmt die Berichterstattung und entwickelt mit einem interdisziplinären CR-Team das CR-Management kontinuierlich weiter.

Mission Statement CR-Board

Wir übernehmen Verantwortung gegenüber Gesellschaft und Umwelt im Einklang mit ökonomischen Anforderungen.

→ Wir bauen unsere konzernweite Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie aktiv aus.
→ Wir entwickeln mit Vorstand und weiteren Entscheidungsträgern messbare Ziele für die Realisierung der MTU-Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie.
→ Wir fördern die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit in CR-Projekten im Unternehmen sowie in CR-Netzwerken über die Unternehmensgrenzen hinaus.

Herzstück dieses interdisziplinären CR-Teams sind die CR-Fachkoordinator:innen. Sie leisten eine wichtige Aufgabe für die operative Umsetzung und erarbeiten in ihren Disziplinen mit den Fachexpert:innen Ziele und Maßnahmen, setzen diese um und sind für das Monitoring zuständig. Die Fachkoordinator:innen gestalten in Abstimmung mit den Vertreter:innen im Fachbereich maßgeblich die strategische Ausrichtung der fachspezifischen CR-Ziele und ihre Weiterentwicklung. CR-Managementbeauftragte an den Standorten unterstützen die CR-Fachkoordinator:innen und die CR-Koordination. Das CR-Team führt auch gemeinsam die jährliche Wesentlichkeitsanalyse für die Nachhaltigkeitsthemen durch. Mit dieser Organisationsstruktur gewährleisten wir, dass Nachhaltigkeit im gesamten Unternehmen für alle wesentlichen Themen verankert ist.

Das CR-Management der MTU

graphic

Über das CR-Management steuern wir unsere Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, als Entscheidungsgremium agiert das CR-Board, eine zentrale CR-Koordination steuert die gruppenweiten Nachhaltigkeitsaktivitäten und das übergeordnete CR-Management, CR-Fachkoordinator:innen erarbeiten in ihren Disziplinen Ziele und Maßnahmen und setzen diese um.

  

Risikomanagement

Wir beziehen Nachhaltigkeitsrisiken in unsere interne Steuerung ein und erfassen und bewerten diese über definierte Prozesse. Die MTU hat ein konzernweites, integriertes Risikomanagement und -controlling nach dem führenden internationalen Standard COSO II ERM Framework etabliert, mit dem sie Risiken und Chancen für das Geschäft steuert. Im Rahmen dessen werden auch nichtfinanzielle Risiken betrachtet. Für das Thema Compliance sind eine separate Risikobewertung und ein separater Berichtsweg etabliert, die der Compliance Officer steuert.

Darauf aufbauend erfolgt eine vierteljährliche Risikoabfrage für Nachhaltigkeitsthemen, die als sehr wichtig in der Wesentlichkeitsanalyse eingestuft wurden. Die Risikobewertung nehmen die CR-Fachkoordinator:innen in Abstimmung mit dem oberen Management ihres Fachbereichs nach einheitlichen Kriterien und anhand einer mehrstufigen Skala analog zum Risikomanagement vor. Das Ergebnis der Risikobewertung wird quartalsweise vom CR-Board überprüft. Bei Bedarf erfolgt ein Reporting des Boards an das Risikomanagement und bei entsprechender Relevanz an den Vorstand.

In der Risikobewertung für das Geschäftsjahr 2020 haben wir keine wesentlichen Risiken für die Top-Themen unserer CR-Strategie ermittelt. Wesentliche Risiken sind solche, die sehr wahrscheinlich sind und schwerwiegende negative Auswirkungen haben.

Für das laufende Geschäftsjahr 2021 haben wir die Risikoanalyse überarbeitet, um die Auswirkungen unserer Geschäftstätigkeit auf Umwelt und Gesellschaft besser abschätzen zu können. Entscheidend dafür ist ein neues Risikoregister, mit dem das Risiko genauer identifiziert, festgelegte Zeithorizonte betrachtet sowie mögliche Auswirkungen und die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit besser erfasst werden können. Darüber hinaus haben wir das Nachhaltigkeits-Risikomanagement auf alle Themen der Strategie ausgeweitet, um Risiken frühzeitig zu erkennen.

  

Nachhaltigkeitsratings & -rankings

Die MTU wird hinsichtlich nicht-finanzieller Kennzahlen regelmäßig vom Kapitalmarkt und von unabhängigen Expert:innen bewertet. In folgenden Indizes und Rankings zu Nachhaltigkeitsthemen ist die MTU aktuell vertreten:

ISS ESG

graphic

Die MTU Aero Engines wird im Gesamtrating mit dem Prime Status (C+) bewertet.

www.oekom-research.com


CDP

graphic

Bei diesem weltweiten Carbon Accounting der jährlichen Klimabilanz haben wir 2020 den Score B erhalten.

www.cdp.net


MSCI ESG Research

Die MTU Aero Engines ist mit AA bewertet.

www.msci.com/esg-ratings

Ausblick

Wir haben damit begonnen, unsere konzernweite Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie weiter auszubauen. Dabei wollen wir uns stärker gruppenweite mittel- bis langfristige Ziele setzen, um Nachhaltigkeit weiter in unsere Prozesse und Entscheidungen zu integrieren. Darüber hinaus werden nichtfinanzielle Kennzahlen ab 2021 in die variable Vergütung des Vorstands einbezogen.


Services & Tools


Foto: www.airbus.com

Unternehmensführung
Back to Top
Nachhaltigkeitsprogramm 2025+
Feedback
X